We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives you biggest support to have fun in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn
Ranked #7 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Price is reasonable and location is also good for sightseeing. Stuffs are very kind and they all know about not only Kyoto but Kansai Area.
We have been there for 3 nights and 4 of us completely satisfied to this "Budget Inn".
Everything inside the room like hair drier, refrigerator, air conditioner, electric jug and shower worked perfectly.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you are visiting Kyoto and looking for an affordable place to stay, try this one. Especially, if you are a group of 3 people or larger. I booked a family room. Much cheaper than booking two small rooms else where, plus the location is great! A short walk from JR Kyoto station. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarotarokyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My brother-in-law and nephew were visiting Japan for the first time and we were meeting them in Kyoto for a weekend. I set up reservations at the Budget Inn's sister hotel, Capsule Ryokan, but managed to mess up the dates. A employee at Capsule Ryokan (unfortunately, I cannot remember his name) was understanding and helpful and got us set up in a room at Budget Inn. It's right around the corner, so it was very convenient to make the switch and all of our usual favorite places in the are were still within easy walking distance. The room was actually less expensive than the 2 smaller rooms we were planning to have at Capsule Ryokan, so everything was set.

The room itself was a nice large tatami room with 4 futons available for sleeping. It had a small sink area as well as the standard shower / bath room and toilet room. Everything was clean and neat and we had no problems. The AC / Heater worked quite nicely and everyone was able to sleep comfortably for the two nights of our stay.

The location of Budget Inn (and Capsule Ryokan as well) is great, especially if you're utilizing the JR Pass as our visiting family members were. It's within a few blocks walk of Kyoto Station, so even though they were lugging fully packed backpacks and snowboards, they were able to easily make it to the hotel. This also made for easy access to restaurants, busses and trains at the station. There is a bakery around the corner from the hotel which has AMAZING breakfast-type foods...cinnamon rolls and melon pan being 2 of the favorites from our group.

I've stayed at Capsule Ryokan twice and now Budget Inn once and I will continue utilizing the services these two hotels provide whenever I have the opportunity to visit Kyoto. I couldn't ask for more when traveling on a budget. The only downside we noticed (as another reviewer has also mentioned) to the Budget Inn location is that the rear of the building faces a hospital or clinic. When they received deliveries, it was a little noisy in our 2nd floor room. If you are a light sleeper, either request a higher floor or be sure to bring ear plugs. It wasn't bad, but it was noticeable.

Room Tip: Higher floors (as with almost all hotels) will have less street noise. If you're a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwbollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in January and was fearing a tiny room with rock hard tatami mattresses. Instead our very clean room had plenty of space and a neat little kitchen and bathroom, the mats were really comfortable and the facilities were great - a communal kitchen, laundry, wifi, luggage storage and very friendly and helpful staff with excellent English. I notice one reviewer was woken by the noise from trucks, but we weren't, I found it surprisingly quiet.
This is great value and you can't beat the location- it's a short flat walk to Kyoto station and the major bus terminal, which can get you anywhere in Kyoto on an all-day ticket. The map on their website with directions from the station is also very clear. It's worth popping into the Tourist Info at the station on your way to pick up a tourist map of Kyoto which includes the bus network.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia71Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Traveling with 1 kid and 1 teenager, there were many things we had to consider when booking an accommodation besides the usual cost, cleanliness, proximity to amenities etc. This place is a gem and really met all our needs.

We stayed 5 nights in the family ryokan with its own attached bath and toilet. We also used the inn's laundry facilities(self service) and mini kitchen to warm up food and help ourselves to free coffee/tea. Wifi is good and strong. No issues with noise pollution though we have been warned of thin walls.

we were in the annex building, the main desk isn't manned and so if you need help or have enquiries(which was far and few in between as they have prepped a folder filled with all the info you need), you will need to hop over to the main building which is just a short 3 mins walk away.

Otherwise - highly recommended for families or friends traveling in large group.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank hunnybunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The owners backpacked extensively themselves and it shows in small things. From a paper guide with  information you will actually use, to free umbrellas to lend when raining to wifi with multiple acces points to great English speaking staff that gives you a little map of the area with local eateries and a thank you present at checkout. Not to mention the good value tatami rooms that are cleaned daily. This inn has it all nailed down to perfection!
The only remark I have is one that the staff can't do much about but is important to know. The rooms lie on a quiet street but the (un) loading of trucks from the clinic/hospital opposite will wake you up late at night (12pm) and early in the morning from 5am. we stayed on the first floor maybe it's less noisy on higher floors. Use earplugs and you'll be fine.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank graskaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel really wants you to enjoy the best of what Kyoto has to offer. The guide book inside the room compiled all the necessary information for tourists such as opening hours of temples, dining options, Kyoto side trips and etc. It was easy to communicate with the front desk staff because he could speak in English and was very friendly. The hotel is not that far from Kyoto Station and you could walk for 10 minutes to get there. There are a few nearby bus stops too. The free kimono experience was definitely worth doing if you've never tried one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 376 in Kyoto
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
FUJITAYA BnB
FUJITAYA BnB
#1 of 152 in Kyoto
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn

Address: 295 Aburanokoji-cho, Aburanokoji, Shichijo-sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8231, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range: £53 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We proudly offer clean Japanese-style en-suite rooms for the price of youth hostel dormitories in Kyoto and we offer cheaper dormitories too. However, please do not expect luxury. We do not offer meals, daily-maid, etc. If you need more than the basics, we cannot meet your needs. On the other hand, we provide best value for money; such as great location, Japanese lounge, free kimono-try, wifi and information book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten and TripOnline SA so you can book your Backpacker's Ryokan Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Ryokan Budget Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing