We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gill D
Oxford, United Kingdom

Stylish hotel in nice location

Review of The Screen
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2024via mobile
We liked this very stylish hotel. Bed was large and comfortable. Nice sofa and tv. Jacuzzi bath was nice but the bathroom was small and a bit of a health hazard as the open shower tray was below the level of the floor. The breakfast was excellent. We would definitely recommend eating in the restaurant. Fusion French/Japanese food. The best meal we had in Japan. Worthy of Michelin star!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£205
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £231
  • KLOOK
    £157
  • Hotels.com
    £213
0.6 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£44
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £51
  • Agoda.com
    £36
  • Hotels.com
    £51
0.4 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
£161
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £101
  • KLOOK
    £84
  • Expedia.com
    £181
2.2 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
Pool
£81
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £85
  • Priceline
    £63
  • Vio.com
    £67
1.9 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£62
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £55
  • Agoda.com
    £44
  • Priceline
    £48
2.4 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£104
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £86
  • Priceline
    £115
2.4 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£147
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £103
  • Agoda.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
    £163
1.0 miles from The Screen
Restaurant
Room service
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
£108
  • Hotels.com
    £110
  • Vio.com
    £102
  • Expedia.com
    £101
2.0 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£70
  • japanican.com
    £74
  • Skyscanner.com
    £58
  • Priceline
    £64
2.3 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
Free parking
新特別室RIKYU 庭
£61
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £67
  • Vio.com
    £58
  • Hotels.com
    £58
4.0 miles from The Screen
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
134
87
33
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
87
33
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2023 via mobile

Located next to the Imperial Palace gardens this small boutique hotel is well connected to metro and city buses.
Rooms are stylish, spacious and well equipped. Except they could provide more coat hangers and coat rack and a place to leave shoes and coats by the room door would be nice.
But these are small quibbles, this is a perfectly located and charming place to stay.The staff are helpful.
The restaurant is outstanding and worth a visit on its own. The chef produces an imaginative fusion of French and Japanese food as a five course set meal. Worth the journey.

We will likely be back.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DiggoryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023

Just returned from a short stay in Kyoto at the fabulous Screen Hotel. Wonderful hotel with staff who are so polite and attentive with more than adequate "English" The food for breakfast and evening meal was excellent. Ideally situated to visit the fabulous Imperial palace and getting taxis to and from the Screen was absolutely no problem whatsoever.
The rooms were simply incredible as was the design and decor of the whole hotel.
Our "nightcaps" on the roof terrace of The Screen will be a cherished memory for many years to come - thank you so much "Screen"

Room tip: Truly a wonderful Japanese experience
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Morris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2023

The only positive point about this hotel is the size of the room. I have never seen a walk-in closet in a hotel room nevertheless in Japan. This hotel is in middle of nowhere. There is nothing close to it. None of the locals have even heard of it. They are very regimented and breakfast is only at 8. None of the staff speak English. The coffee machine doesn’t work. Stay away from this place unless you like to spend money on taxi fare or spend time on metro which by the way is very far from hotel

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Omid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2023

A nice boutique hotel in a good location. We didn't like the fact that you had to specify the breakfast time- there were never more than 6 other people at breakfast and we were on holiday!. We switched to room 402 as another one overlooked a row of air-conditioning units and was a bit noisy. Staff were very accommodating and the roof terrace was nice

Room tip: The roof terrace is nice and staff will bring drinks up from the bar. Very well appointed rooms.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jcharlesn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2023

We enjoyed our stay at the Screen. The rooms are quite big, as there is a bedroom area and a living space with a big screen. We order dinner and breakfast to the room and they were delicious! We got new slippers every day as well as clean pjs. The hotel isn't too far from the cool area in Kyoto, though a cab is needed. On the negative side, the room is a tad dark, the bathroom doesn't have a shower fan so it takes a while for the mirror to clear up, the restaurant was almost empty but they wouldn't let us sit on a coach to enjoy drinks (we took a cab, though, and went to Bar K6, which was awesome.. state of art drinks!), and the staff, though super nice, didn't have good English. I think it's a very decent option and you get value for the price.

Room tip: Don't expect a knowledgeable bar tender and language might be a challenge if you need a lot of help.
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CatalinaBusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews