We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, good value business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Nagano
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient, good value business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is literally 1 min from the Nagano train station and there is a sign from the station exit that reads "Metropolitan Nagano Hotel" - impossible to get lost finding it, even with jetlag!

We booked online from their official website, selecting the "Web reservation happy day" deal which is for room only; and found the prices very reasonable (much cheaper than their official rate, discounted rate for JR Pass holders, or even from other online sites).

I should also note, one definite plus for booking on their website is that they do not ask for a deposit, and there is no cancellation fees. We had to change our schedule in the last minute (literally, the night before our arrival) and found this flexibility invaluable.

The lobby is very grand and the reception was friendly, professional, and spoke good English. The room itself I would rate above average, on account of the excellent room rate. We only ended up staying one night, and booked a "double economy", so the room was quite small, but sufficient for our purposes.

The only point I can fault for the hotel is I found their bed a bit uncomfortable for two people as it is a foam mattress (ie. not spring), and a double not queen. This probably would not be a problem if you weren't sharing the bed, or went for the "deluxe" room which might have a bigger bed.

Overall a very pleasant experience, and I would go back if I was ever stopping over at Nagano again.

Room Tip: Prompted by other online reviewers, I requested a room away from the train tracks, and had no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvermoss28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    252
    51
    9
    1
See reviews for
126
139
91
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Comfortable rooms, nothing outstanding, and well located beside train station in centre of city. Good Japanese restaurant in the hotel too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hakuba-mura, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We chose Nagano to come for a weekend away, and our stay at the Metro was a good choice. The location is great, there was no need to drive anywhere, we could walk out and go shopping, sightseeing or for a meal. Parking facility is under the hotel and reasonably priced. The staff are helpful in finding what you are wanting to see or do.
We booked on-line for a very good rate. The room was clean and bigger than most Japanese hotel rooms. All in all a very relaxing weekend. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsdenhakuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

One of the great things about this hotel is it is literally outside the railway station – probably to be expected as it is a JR hotel. They supposedly give discounts to Japan Rail pass holders, although we had booked in advance on their website for a very good rate so there was no additional discount.

The Executive level room that we booked was worth the price – newly redecorated and pretty large for a Japanese hotel. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and it had a good bathroom. Oh, and the view is pretty good too – you get a nice view out to the mountains during the day. It’s more business hotel than anything else, but perfectly fine for a leisure trip too.

We were only in Nagano very briefly so didn’t get to check out all of the facilities at the hotel, although the cocktail bar at the top of the hotel looked like fun.

If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful meal when staying here then I recommend the local branch of Osaka Ohsho – just above the McDonalds in the food hall opposite the hotel - great dumplings and fantastically friendly staff.

If staying in Nagano, I would come back here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peejay_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

What can I say, everything was great: location directly at the station, nice big entrance hall, elegant atmosphere, a room larger than usual in Japan and with a nice view, a bathroom with a "real" tub and great service. I booked through the internet and got a great deal, so it was really value for money!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talania80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
none
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Very pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were. Completely convenient to the train station, too. The beds were very comfortable with two pillows each of different firmness

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noscreenname105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle,WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We had planned to stay at a tiny apartment belonging to our former au pair and her husband, but we decided at the last minute that everyone might be more comfortable if we just got a hotel near Nagano station. As soon as we walked out of the station, we could see the high-rise hotel to the left across the parking area. We appreciated that immediate visibility a lot. The area around the station has a number of shops and places to eat. We were happy to get to the hotel and turn on the air conditioning to chill for a few minutes before meeting our group for "izakaya" dinner. Our room faced the rail tracks but I did not notice any noise. The room was spacious and the bathroom was nice. I wish that we had stayed longer in Nagano because the area was so interesting and the summer weather is cooler than it is in many areas during July.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SESeattlemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagano hotels
Hotel JAL City Nagano
#2 of 77 in Nagano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Chisun Grand Nagano
#4 of 77 in Nagano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Nagano Station
Hotel Sunroute Nagano
Hotel Sunroute Nagano
#3 of 77 in Nagano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagano Station
Hotel Sunroute Nagano Higashiguchi
HOTEL Mielparque Nagano
#18 of 77 in Nagano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Nagano Station
Kokusai 21 Hotel
Kokusai 21 Hotel
#8 of 77 in Nagano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Nagano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Nagano

Property: Hotel Metropolitan Nagano
Address: 1346 Minami-ishido-cho, Nagano 380-0824, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Nagano > Nagano Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nagano
#6 Best Value Hotel in Nagano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metropolitan Nagano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Nagano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Nagano
Nagano Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing