We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel at the train station..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Metropolitan Nagano
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Hotel at the train station..”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed two nights here for my trip to Yamanouchi for the snow monkeys.
I always preferred to stay in hotels close to the train station for convenience. It usually saved lots of time and made my trips easier.

This JR chain hotel was just a few steps from the station of Nagano, old fashion but well maintained. The building has nothing special but a comfortable setting, a laid back, no rush atmosphere. Room rate was very reasonable and affordable.

Our room (standard double) was bright and spacious. There was not much to see from the window except roofs of buildings and part of the mountain...
Interior decor was those in the 90’s or older, but very well kept. Both guest room and bathroom were very clean and well equipped with all needed amenities. Everything was neat and carefully organized.

We didn’t eat in the hotel. There were restaurants and izakaya(s) across the street. As izakaya lovers we found good spots at the lower level of the shopping plaza very close to the hotel..

There was a small gift shop at the main floor of the hotel, selling western style of gift/souvenir, cooking/kitchen utensils, cookies, table wine etc.
Hotel staff and service? Great.
A nice place that made our stay in Nagano enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    267
    53
    8
    1
See reviews for
130
147
93
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I usually stay away from hotels right next to the train station as usually it's a seedy neighborhood or you get all the train noise, but I was pleasantly surprised when we stayed at the Metropolitan. We had an amazing view overlooking the train tracks, and you could see the bullet trains "shinkansen" on the platform, but only once did I ever notice any train noise at all, and I'm usually the first to notice, so the soundproofing was very good.
The Met is basically just a business hotel, or unless you've got an early morning train and you want to step on the platform in under 5 minutes from your room. But, some friends booked us there,and the rooms were very nice and well-appointed, beds comfy, clean, etc. Wi-fi was only in the lobby tho, so was a bummer had to go sit down there. Buffet breakfast had a large variety of Asian dishes plus a few Western ones. Dinner in the restaurant was very nice with sashimi platter and yummy sesame ice cream. If you do have time to sightsee, you can just walk up the main street towards the temple, and you'll find all kinds of shops.

Room Tip: All about the same. Even those overlooking the train station were pretty quiet, but might ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaS424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed for two nights and was on a higher floor, with an good and interesting view across the city to the mountains and also of the construction taking place at the railway station (which didn't cause any noise issues). The hotel is very convenient to the station and for buses, and also has a taxi stand near the entrance. It is a grand old place with beautiful floral displays in the lobby near the cafe. There is also a restaurant and adjoining pastry shop in that area. The room was a reasonable size and good value for money. The lighting was a little dim and I would have appreciated more power points to charge my multiple devices. It was great though to have a good piece of artwork, a framed sketch of fruit, on the wall which compared well to the computer-produced rubbish most hotels put on their walls. Internet worked well, and I found for me the most watchable Japanese language programs on TV (game shows and detective/crime shows and some soap opera as they're easier to follow when you don't speak much Japanese!). I did notice there were pay-for adult entertainment etc there too as mentioned by another reviewer - easy to get to by accident I guess. Staff were courteous and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Metropolitan Hotel in Nagano is for business only. I stayed there with my 11 year daughter and I’m sure she was the only one under 40 in the place.

Pros: Great location
Clean
Good buffet breakfast
Cable internet in room, but no Wi-Fi

Cons: Japanese porn on the TV when I switched it on
No Wi-Fi in room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Powinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A comfortable and affordable hotel just 2 minutes walk from Nagano train station, Room is qiute good, wider than most hotels in Japan.Breakfast is excellent, lots of choices with good quality dishes. Staff are nice and helpful.We arrived there about 9 p.m., there were many shops around the hotel stiil opened with a tasty japanese restaurant nearby. Wifi is available in the Lobby only, if it can be used in the guest room, this hotel will be perfect.

Room Tip: Have no idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank พรศรี ป
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel.
The rooms were small but excellently fitted out with all amenities.
The hotel is in a great location.
The breakfast was excellent
Staff were very friendly. The bar on the top floor has a nice view of the city at night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MASLtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic location, next to the station. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and bars, but also has a nice restaurant in the lobby. Along with some other good restaurants. The rooms were adequate and comfortable, only problem was outside noise from some works taking place at the station, but it was only slight. Staff were very helpful, but not all understand English.
If you are exploring the area this hotel is idea and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letskeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagano hotels
Hotel JAL City Nagano
#2 of 77 in Nagano
491 reviews
Nagano Station
Hotel Sunroute Nagano
Hotel Sunroute Nagano
#5 of 77 in Nagano
159 reviews
Chisun Grand Nagano
#4 of 77 in Nagano
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HOTEL Mielparque Nagano
#26 of 77 in Nagano
71 reviews
Nagano Station
Hotel Sunroute Nagano Higashiguchi
Nagano Station
Kokusai 21 Hotel
Kokusai 21 Hotel
#8 of 77 in Nagano
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolitan Nagano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolitan Nagano

Property: Hotel Metropolitan Nagano
Address: 1346 Minami-ishido-cho, Nagano 380-0824, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Nagano > Nagano Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nagano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metropolitan Nagano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolitan Nagano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Nagano
Nagano Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing