We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Ranked #51 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Vancouver
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived late evening and left early the next morning, so can't really comment on the amenities, restaurant, etc.,but it was satisfactory for our purposes. It's conveniently located...once you find it; within a block of the main JR railroad station, but the trick is to finding the short way to the hotel. We came out the main entrance and had to keep asking people as we slowly walked several blocks in its general direction. After we reached it, we found that by walking through a mall adjacent to the elevated (on a fill) tracks we were only one block from a side entrance to the station (south entrance). Hotel was quiet, staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admybf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    385
    169
    25
    5
See reviews for
138
159
110
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel is rather old and room furnishings have seen better days. Front desk staff were friendly but they could only give us a single room card even though there were 2 of us checking-in into the room. The first room given to us had an overpowering food odour obviously from food eaten in (or cooked) in the room by its' previous guests, and we requested a room change.

Wifi is available in the room and in the hotel lobby.

The only advantage of this hotel is its location close to the Osaka main railway and subway stations.

We only booked this hotel for a brief overnight stay as rooms from the other hotels we selected were not available on the date we requested. Pricing for this hotel is very high given what was on offer. The rooms need a redesign to keep up with the times.

Overall we would rate this hotel slightly below average for its' class.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrekker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect in terms of distance. But due to office area I could not find out any convenience stores after 11pm or so.
Wi-Fi is available at whole area.
Room is small like other standard biz hotels in Japan and have no clock on the board of the bed. And have no electrical consent ther it was quite hard to check time in the middle of the night. Other than that I a satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSapporo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel is located very close to the Osaka station and is a straight 300 metre walk from the Marunouchi North exit. Its proximity to the station guarantees an array of convenience stores and eating joints to choose from while it also remains the centre of shopping and retail. Located in a relatively upscale area, Hearton Hotel is probably one of the cheapest hotels around.

Unfortunately, it struggles to live up to even its cheap rates. The rooms are old and walls and furniture look jaded. There is a peculiar smell in the hallways and rooms. The entire place looks like it could do good with some dusting. The rooms are small, but normal compared to japanese standards. The hotel staff seemed to be a bit unfriendly and wouldn't even help us with directions. We were given two rooms on the 18th floor but both rooms faced the wall of a building two metres away, thereby offering us absolutely no view of the beautiful city. Add this to the inconvenience of always having to keep the curtains drawn from curious neighbours next door, the feeling of claustrophobia from the size of the rooms is heightened. We asked for a room change but were painfully ignored by the staff again and again.

Nevertheless, the rooms are cleaned everyday and fresh toiletries are provided. The place seemed to a popular choice for a number of international as well as japanese travelers and I would recommend it as a cheap hotel near a great location. Don't expect more than an average bed for your head and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adhya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We chose this hotel as we mostly prefer to stay next to major transport hub, saving trouble of requiring further transport, wasting further time etc.

This hotel is priced competitively at almost 10k yen per night.

We`chose the JR train from Kansai airport, reaching umeda or Osaka main station. Do note that Osaka is the MAIN transport hub, one will find more than 4 different train operators plus 4 to 5 different shoppong centes interlinked. ie it so to get confuse at the beginning!! :)

How to get there: ( We have 2 big luggages and small carry on)
Once you exit from the JR Osaka staiton, look for " Sakurabashi" gate. Head straight to that. You will reach at traffic light beneath the train track. Opposite , you will find " Umesan Kouji " , its rows of 17 eateries where we dined almost all of them apart from those pub food.

Go through the Umesan Kouji reachgn the other end. You will find the barber shop on the left. Cross the diagonal street, Hearton hotel is right infront of you!! the tall building facing train track.

We booked 3 nights in small double and later after Kytoto back with 2 nights in twin room.
TAKE TWIN ROOM ANYTIME, its much bigger for twin room. the 1st 3 nights, my wife suffered a bit as not used to the small bed, basically its 2 small pillow side by side. We have to close tthe room door in order to have space to open our luggages.

If you prefer quiet room like us, Ask for higher floor, away from train tack ( use can still hear very light sound of train passing) so facing the college buidlings instead and also away from th lift. Each floor, you will find vending machine for drinks and free ice.

As expected room is small in Japan for budget conscious, they however provdie full amenities eg shaver, toothbrush, comb etc.. and shampoo and shower liquid is all Shishedo brand.

When going back to Kansai airport, i stringly advice to us the bus limo from Herbis Osaka, just behind and across the street. Very good when you have too many luggages which is heavy heavy to tag along. yen 1500 per pax straight to airport with 2 stops to pick u further passengers.

Cheapest mineral water near hotel - Look for a small supermarket on your left, opposte the pub or almost near to the traffic light across to Osaka station. yen 139 for 2 litres. Hearton hotel yen 120 for 500ml, you make the choice.

Room Tip: higher floor, facing the college instead of train tracks which tend to be noisy and away from lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeithW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights because of the convenience of being in Osaka. I wanted to go to Kyoto and Kobe during my stay and Osaka is right smack in the middle. Hearton is right next to Osaka station - which made it quite an easy choice. There are other hotels nearby but i find them quite expensive.

It's actually easy to get to the hotel once you know the way, as there is a path almost right in-front of the hotel that leads directly to Osaka station. It's not obvious though if you're coming from the station.

I guess for first timers you'd have to ask for a little bit of direction - but from the station it's a straight walk to the hotel entrance. You don't even have to go to the underground connectors (which i did, thankfully they had hotel directions from there).

From the hotel going to the station, the way becomes all too obvious.

The hotel itself is quite nice with rooms that are clean and well equipped. The room size is typically small as with other hotel rooms in Japan. The bathroom on the other hand is spacious and is well stocked.

Don't worry about noise coming from the nearby trains - they've got good soundproofing but to be sure, request for rooms at higher floors.

Their staff are very friendly and polite. And i think most of them can speak English just fine. I reached Osaka at almost 12 midnight. Thankfully they have staff at the reception 24-hours a day, so it was no trouble at all.

In the next mornings i took breakfast at the cafe on their first floor. They served a nice set of both Western and Japanese selections.

They also had vending machines and free ice dispensers at the floor i was in. This is especially helpful as there weren't any nearby convenience stores that remain open late through the night. The nearest one i found still open around 1 AM was a Family Mart, which isn't exactly near. Actually, there aren't much nearby except for the station and other hotels. The night-life, local restaurants and shopping areas (discounting the malls which tend to be westernized) are actually on the other side of the trains' railway (or several blocks away).

However, because of it's convenience of sitting right next to the JR station - it's quite accessible to the nearby cities particularly Kyoto (and for my sake, Kobe).

btw, the JR Station itself is quite big and active with an attached mall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickeymicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Spent a night in this hotel. It was nice and clean but had not much to do around it besides maybe to shop in the train station. The hotel is very close to the train station and I was concerned about the noise from the trains coming and going but eventually it was not an issue.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arielinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
#40 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#42 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Vista Premio Dojima
Hotel Vista Premio Dojima
#110 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
#90 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda

Property: Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Address: 3-3-55 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearton Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing