We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Kinki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kinki
Ranked #69 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel Kinki is located in a very convenient area, although a bit hard to find the first time around. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and our room, although small, was clean and comfortable. Prices are very reasonable as well. We had read reviews before our stay and were concerned about noise, but didn't find the hotel noisy and were able to sleep well every night. Recommended for those who want good value in an expensive city!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

It's like rare gem. Hard to find at first - but once you've seen it, it's very rewarding. We arrived late at night, got lost and disoriented, only to find out it's so near from where we started. My tip: make Tsutaya (as shown in the map) your starting point and walk towards Family Mart at Doyama-cho. Watch out for a small alley right beside Family Mart, and there you'll see Hotel Kinki's signage (lighted at night).

I love the the location of the hotel. It's just a 10-min walk to Osaka Station. Shopping malls are nearby and there are lots of food choices right outside the hotel. At night, you may be surprised (or shocked) to see attractive, well-dressed men and women just standing on the street. Don't get intimidated, they're harmless. I think they're club/bar promoters - the area is a known nightlife district.

The hotel is small but very comfortable. The room layout is unique because the toilet is separate from the bath. The bathroom itself is spacious - not like most Japanese hotel T&B. The staff are very helpful and speak good English.

I definitely recommend this hotel. Finding it may be challenge, but the overall experience is good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happydabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. Good & friendly staff. Nearby to convenient stores & restaurants. Unfortunately, was quite disturbed by the night life there. Karaoke singing can be heard throughout the night. The singing was clear & loud. Hotel location is very hard to locate coz it's located in the backlane. If you are looking for a peaceful hotel to rest after a day long journey, don't opt for this hotel. But if you love the city night life, it's a perfect place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank princessjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It boggled my mind a little how great this hotel was for the price. A nice (and small, obviously) room with a bathroom, fridge and even a couple of yukata thrown in for only 7000 yen a night. What the hell?! We stayed in hostels for more than that during our travels. The staff are also really friendly, the location is fantastic - right in the middle of a wild part of Umeda (even though our room blocked out all street noise) and close to Osaka station, free coffee, and clothes washing facilities for a small fee. Amazing. Loved this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights western style twin sharing non smoking room and 1 night western style special twin room non smoking. I could not book 4 consecutive nights for western style twin sharing room due to fully booked on last night. Hence, I need to change room on my final night stay in this hotel.

Pro about this hotel:
1. Strategic location. Accessible via JR and subway lines from Osaka station. Convenient if you take train from Kyoto straight to Osaka Station via JR line without a need to change other line to go to hotel.
2. Convenient store is just next store. Very easy for me to buy drink and food and it is open 24 hours.
3. Reception is open 24 hours and there are staff manning the counter all the time.
4. Free computer use in the lobby.
5. Free wifi use in the room.
6. There is thermos use to make hot drink with free supply of coffee, Japanese tea.
7. Attached bathroom and toilet with the reasonable room price in Osaka.:
8. You can use the hotel umbrella to go out during raining.
9. Staff are friendly and speak good English.

Con about this hotel.
1. Noisy at night when sleeping as there are karaoke pubs nearby this hotel.
2. I could not get the 4 consecutive night discount although we stay 4 nights in the hotel but different room type.
3. A bit difficult to find this hotel first time when you reach there but lately you will know the best short cut once you are familiar with this location. Look for Hep Five large red ferris wheel as your guide to go to this hotel.

Given so many pro points against the con points, definitely it is worth to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book the room 90 days ahead or at least 60 days ahead to get a good discount from the hotel website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcusAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Great option near Osaka's main train station. I was travelling with two friends and we were passing through for one night only and they featured triple rooms, so it was a perfect solution for us. The hotel is a little hard to find (so follow their directions carefully) and room was a little dark, but for one night this didn't matter to us. It was clean, correct and offered good service. Staff spoke English.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mikeowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed there with my friends for holiday in May 2013. Although it was promoted as business hotel, they accepted travelers and treated well. The location was superb, in a shopping arcade just short walk to Osaka Station, though a little bit hard to found for first timers. We tried the Japanese style room and it was good, the futon was soft, small TV, and the room amenities were as complete as you'll find in bigger hotels. The minus is the bathroom is rather small, even for Asian standard. But with room prices so low, it's a good bargain. Another niche to add, they sell Yukata for gift at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padmawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
#57 of 351 in Osaka
246 reviews
Hotel Il Monte
#122 of 351 in Osaka
186 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nishitetsu Inn Shinsaibashi
Osaka Station / Umeda
Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel
Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel
#61 of 351 in Osaka
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kinki

Address: 17-8 Kita-ku Doyamacho, Osaka 530-0027, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: £57 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kinki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located at the central area named Umeda of Osaka. About 7-10 min walk from JR Osaka Station and Umeda Subway Station. We offer free internet access in every room. If you do not bring your PC with you, there is a public computer available in the lobby. The most important thing is we have confidence to supply you a warm place for stay during your nice trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Kinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinki Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing