We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but good for those who want to try staying at capsule hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi
Ranked #35 of 296 Speciality lodging in Osaka
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I arrived in Osaka at night, so by the time I went there, the shops nearby have already closed (except the karaokes, convenient stores and pubs). That makes my first impression of the neighborhood a little bit.... frightening. You need to pay attention to find this hotel, because it is not that appearing, compare to other buildings next to it.

The rooms, the restroom, everything is located on the lower ground. Certainly, the atmosphere is not something you may encounter in other type of accommodation. It is more like a "Do-it-by-yourself" service. Also, it is very silent. I didn't hear any interaction between other guests, maybe because most of them stay individually.

I guess we need to pay for a locker, because I ended up putting my luggage inside the capsules. Be careful when you make a reservation, because some of them don't provide the electrical outlet.

In terms of location, I would say that this place is very convenient. Fast food, coffee shops, karaoke, clothing, convenient stores, you name it. The famous "Glico-man" and the "Dotonbori-crab" is just one or two blocks away from the hotel as well.

I must warn you that this hotel is a bit old; the interior, the furniture, everything reminds me of the feeling back in the early 90s. So, nothing fancy you can see from this hotel. Yet, if you want an experience of staying in a capsule hotel, this could be your option. Affordable, near to subway and train station, as well as the tourist spot. You can feel the busy pace of Japanese people, simply by watching the guests. Also, you can experience the night life around the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deadesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you are travelling alone, I definitely recommend this place. It was my first capsule hotel ever and I thought it was amazing for what you paid.

You leave your shoes at the lockers at the front, and check-in was extremely easy even though I could not speak a word of Japanese. There is a small locker area inside where you can place your belongings like your backpack and jacket and clothes.

You can pick a capsule with either a TV or plugin. I opted for the plugin as I never lounged around in the capsule much and had many electronics to charge. Ask for the lower capsule if you don't want to climb up and down to the upper one all the time. One tip though, the capsules are not soundproof and you use a blind to close off your capsule so the sound will carry. If you are sensitive to noise, bring yourself a pair of earplugs. I brought a sleeping eye-mask and earplugs and slept very well every night.

The entire place was clean. The shower/bathing area is definitely not luxurious but it was clean and I had no complaints. There's even a sauna.

There is a common area with very comfortable chairs where you can watch TV and they have wifi access. The only small complaint I had was that people were allowed to smoke in this area. Seeing that this is Asia though, it was nothing out of the ordinary for me and not a surprise. Just a warning for anyone who might be sensitive to smoke/scents.

The location of this place is pretty close to Namba station, about a 5-10 minute walk. There are lots of places to eat around here too, so travel was very convenient.

All in all, I can't see what people have to complain about. For about $20CAD per night, this was definitely a great accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maweaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Traveling on budget? Don't be intimidated with this capsule hotel! We checked out of our big hotel for a night of experience here at Asahi Plaza. Contrary to what most of the people think, staying in a capsule hotel was comfortable and an enjoyable experience.

You enter the hotel and have to leave the shoes in the shoe lockers. After check in, the staff will give you keys to the locker room where you can store your small bags. Floors for men and women are separated for privacy. There's a common toilet each floor.

In the lower floors are common areas where people can stay to watch TV, use the internet, eat, drink and smoke. And at the basement is the toilet with sauna and jacuzzi. They provide you with free towel and robe/shorts during your stay.

The actual cubicle was just right, even if I stand 5'11 in height. The width was also not too small, enough to move around. Inside the capsule is a TV (which you can opt not to use and instead use a socket for charging). There's a light switch, a mirror, and alarm switch as well.

The hotel's located is very convenient as it's near shopping areas and food places.

Room Tip: Tell the frontdesk staff whether you like TV or socket. Choose the capsule below so you don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank giganticgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Capsule hotels are what they say on the tin- practical and cost effective. It was fun to do for one night. The bed barely had a mattress so staying for linger would have been a struggle, but the novelty was well worth it! As a woman I had a quiet floor as less women tend to stay in them, my partner on the other hand had a very disturbed nights sleep as the men on his floor were snoring loudly throughout the night! The spa was clean and had a hot tub and a sauna. Apparently the men's has three hot tubs and a jacuzzi spa as well! The common area is full of smoke and men reading comics. If I were a solo backpacker I'd really recommend it for affordability and cleanliness compared to dormitories. For other non-backpackers I'd recommend it for the experience for one night only! The location is great- right in the buzz of the city!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank England547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights for affordable accommodation near the main train stations.

The capsule itself was fine, very quiet and comfortable. So my impression of this capsule hotel is not based on the fact that it was a capsule and (naturally) didn't have all the comforts of less budget-oriented accommodation.

But even if you're travelling on a budget, I would recommend looking for low-end small hotels (the Chisun chain, for example) or a different capsule, because this hotel was the least pleasant I've never encountered in three Japan trips and among perhaps twenty hotels I've stayed in so far.

We had not been told when booking that only certain capsules have power outlets, which is a problem when you're travelling with a mobile phone, but staff were willing to work with us and switched us from a TV-only capsule to a power-socket-only capsule on our second night. I will also say that the staff were very good about letting you get to your luggage when you needed to.

There was no changing room. You were not supposed to change in the capsule, but the alternative was the locker room or the toilet.

The women's section is entirely underground, and the whole complex was hot and humid, which made being there in street clothes all but unbearable. However, the pyjamas (pants and shirt) provided by the hotel were all of one size and pretty much unwearable for anyone either tall or even a little bit rounder than your average Japanese person.

The common areas, where it would actually be possible to sit and chat (and use the internet), were so smoky that anyone with asthma or similar could not stay there for longer than five minutes.

Despite having booked two nights in a row, we had to clear out the capsule at 12 (in theory; at 11:30 male staff started going around the female area making lots of noise and pulling out bedding) every day.

The women's onsen is tiny; it's basically a shallow bathtub. There are five showers for all the female guests together. By ten in the morning, the onsen/shower area was dirtier than I'd ever seen in any Japanese hotel.

I disagree with other reviewers that this is a 'Japanese experience', because any Japanese hotel I've ever experienced was cleaner, more organised, and more pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I would recommend this for a night for tourists in Japan. It is simple, affordable accommodation, definitely not luxurious but for those with a penchant for new experiences or an enquiring mind, check this out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClemenceandGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were a little sceptical about staying in a Capsule hotel having heard mixed reviews. This was one of the few hotels that was female friendly, although men and women sleep on separate floors. For £15 per person, we thought it was amazing! Upon arrival, we had to take our shoes off and locker them away. If you have a large suitcase like I did, you have to keep it behind reception for about 50p as you will get fined for keeping it in your capsule. My boyfriend went off to his male only floor and I went down to the basement where the female living area was. My capsule was on the bottom which was better than the top I thought, I opted for a tv in my capsule although you had the choice of tv or plug socket. I received a pillow and blanket, plus a clock which could be set to have an alarm and some shelves plus a light switch that could be dimmed accordingly and a little fan above my head. I went to my locker to find a disposable sponge, some pyjamas, a towel and flannel. The floor itself was very warm, and at night I was also quite hot which is where the fan came in handy. Before bed, my boyfriend and I met up in the communal area where you can read/smoke/watch TV/have a snack. I didn't sleep too well as I was constantly waking up hot but it was a fun experience and I had plenty of room in my capsule. I flicked on the tv for a bit and was amused to see Japanese porn on two of the channels! It was so embarrassing as the volume was on full blast and everyone around me could hear these moans and groans coming from my capsule haha! The showers/sauna/bath is communal so if you are not comfortable with showering naked with other women then maybe bear this in mind. However I found it liberating and you are provided with free shampoo, conditioner, body wash, facial toner, facial moisturiser, soap, disposable razors, toothbrushes, hairdryers...pretty much everything you could need! The idea is that some people stay here after a night out then get up and leave without having to take any belongings with them. Excellent stay and I recommend to anyone especially those on a budget.

Room Tip: Choose a bottom capsule so not you aren't risking your life if you need to get up at 3am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
マコト イ, 広報担当マネージャー at Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for staying. Also make staying. We are waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shell Nell Namba
#19 of 296 in Osaka
43 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Grand Sauna Shinsaibashi
Grand Sauna Shinsaibashi
#24 of 296 in Osaka
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Y's Cabin Osaka Namba
#64 of 296 in Osaka
10 reviews
B&S Eco-Cube Shinsaibashi
#143 of 296 in Osaka
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi

Address: 2-12-22 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 296 Speciality lodging in Osaka
Price Range: £17 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi 2*
Number of rooms: 441
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Capsule Hotel Asahi Praza Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing