We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest Room we had in Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs
Ranked #46 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Papamoa Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smallest Room we had in Japan”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We dont have fond memories of this hotel unfortunately. Whilst Japanese hotel rooms are small, this was BYFAR the smallest we had throughout our Japan trip. We booked a 'Double room with Sofa Bed' thinking if it can fit a sofa bed, it must have a bit more room. Turns out the "sofa bed" is just a single bunk above the double bed. The window is obscure so you cant see out and it only opens about 100mm. The room was so claustrophobic (sp?) we dreaded going back to the hotel. The area is OK, very quiet though and approx a 5 minute walk from Awaza station.
On the positive, friendly staff although very limited english and no wifi in the room, just the Lobby. I think you can find better for the price you pay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuanMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    207
    60
    10
    3
See reviews for
42
77
106
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kochi, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

PLEASE NOTE: My review is based on comparison with similar *business style* hotels, not places like Shinjuku Hilton etc. Clearly there will be a difference in quality, purely based on price.

I am currently living in Japan and have stayed at quite a few business hotels and Super Hotel Osaka Hot Springs has been one of the better ones.

Access: I can't speak for subway/train access as my friend and I were carrying large luggage so decided it was easier to taxi it. From Osaka Herbis bus station (next to Osaka train station), the cab fare was under 1000yen ($10) in early 2013. Well worth it. The hotel is also relatively near subway lines to Osaka Castle and other stations.

Staff: I can't speak highly enough of the staff. I have enough Japanese to get by but several staff could speak excellent English or enough that we could understand each other with no problems. My glasses frames broke again during my stay and staff helped me locate a nearby glasses store, rang them for details and printed out maps for me. The optician fixed the glasses for 100en ($1). I love Japan.

Facilities: Standard business hotel (ie small), but everything was new and clean. The room was also slightly bigger than other business hotels I have stayed in Osaka and Kyoto . . . enough room to store bags, hang clothes etc. You might want to pay for an extra pillow though. There are also two cheap laundry rooms, a must if you are travelling (or had stinky snowboarding clothes like us).

Clearly the best feature is the hot spring baths. I cannot stress how awesome these are after a day of walking around. If you have not used Japanese hot spring baths or feel embarrassed about getting naked with other people, get over it! You are missing one of the best things in Japan. Standard baths, jet baths and my favourite, the massive pipe that just dumps hot water on your head and back. The are two baths with slight different features and they switch daily between male/female so if you are only staying one night, you might not get the "pipe dump" :D

The hotel is also (relatively) near America-Mura, or Ame-mura, a funky shopping/eating district. Don't be put off by the name. While there are tourists there, it is predominantly Japanese and is definitely a hangout for young people, so a great place to check out for fashion/music/food etc.

I also recommend Burgerlion burgers just around the corner from the hotel (as of March 2013). Take a left at the 7-11 and it is a couple of hundred metres down the street. Burgers the size of speed-bumps!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleSupercool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burfjord, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Not all hot springs in major cities are of high quality. But this is. I liked the water and the bathrooms very much. Do not hurry the onsen-experience in any way. You are supposed to scrub, soap and rinse several times until entering the actual hot spring bath, and also to enter, relax and enter bath again some times. I strongly recommend first-timers in Japanese public bath to start in Osaka, as people there seems to be not-guite-as-formal as some other parts
of Japan. Maybe advice and a pleasant converstion with the locals are more likely to take place in an Osaka Onsen than other cities. About how to get there: The Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs is so very suited for travelling to and from by bus, because the bus-stop is .right vis-a-vis the hotel and the trainstation is not that close. The bus nr 88 is very easy to find outside Osaka Station, it drives the shortest way to the hotel, and as mentioned, it stops outside the hotel. You must cross the streetoutside the hotel, then you are at the bus-stop. The bus-trip between your hotel to Osaka Station takes 10 minutes, 7 stops, and it cost 200 yen. This hotel looks and feels more expensive than it is, and if you like modern luxury rather than old-fashioned Ryokans and dormatories, you will thrive here!

Room Tip: I had a smokers room, which was nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Super Osaka Natural Hot Springs hotel was a little hard to find from the train station even following the directions of the previous poster, but once we got here we were much satisfied with the facilities. They have a lot of single bed rooms where an Asian couple would probably be able to squeeze into but probably not a large Caucasian. The location is a little bit off from the main areas but accessibility by train network is fine and it helps keep accommodation costs down.

Wifi is only available on the 6th floors or lower and the lobby, but when you can get it, it is blazingly fast.

All in all, I am honestly very satisfied with the hotel facilities but it would be good if they could speak a little more fluent English as the staff who assisted us were a bit lost at more complex sentences. However, being that they deal with a lot of locals, I felt that the effort and enthusiasm they put in was worth 200%. Great stay, would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hongqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago, and was a great decision! I was so surprised how cheap the hotel was, especially for Japan. It's in a great location - maybe a 10 minute walk from the subway.
- The staff were so helpful and friendly. They printed us off several maps and drawings.
- Yes the rooms were tiny, but we expected it. The were clean and the beds were comfy - can't complain!
- Female guests receive a free gift pack with face masks, and special shampoo!
- the restaurant in the hotel was amazing! The lady was SO nice, giving us extra pieces of sashimi and free beers!
- Kyoto is only about a 50 min train from here. Just as the staff how to get there!

- only negative: couldn't get wifi in the room - had to go down to the lobby do use it..

When I come back to visit again, I know where I'll be staying :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jroy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This hotel is great value! There is a free onsen downstairs in the basement for all hotel visitors to use. There is also free wifi in the rooms - we stayed on the 6th floor and had both free wifi and wired internet. Female customers get a free gift pack which consists of various face masks and a loofa. We stayed in semi-double room. As a couple this room was very tight, but we managed to fit our luggage in comfortably.

In terms of service reception were very friendly and in true Japanese style greeted each customer as they passed through the lobby. Before we left we needed some help getting to Osaka International airport and the reception was so helpful - she went off and printed the times and maps for us, even though all we wanted to know was what train line to take.

Location wise it's in a very quiet area - located near an underpass. From Awaza station if you exit at exit 9 there are no lifts, so you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs. From awaza station (exit 9) turn right and continue to walk until you see a 7 eleven. Once you see the 7 eleven turn right and you will see a french restaurant. Next to the french restaurant is the hotel. The hotel sign is yellow with black japanese writing on it. We got slightly confused because the hotel sign was not in english.

If you are looking for a lot of night life I would not recommend staying here because you need to take 2 trains to get to the dotonbori area form this hotel. But If you want a place to relax this is perfect. This hotel is also very close to Osaka castle which was convenient. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If staying for a long period of time (as a couple) select either a twin or a double. A semi-double i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This hotel, if booked through your usual hotel online websites, is cheaper than the standard business hotels in the city area. due most probably to the fact that it's not imn the city itself, but it's really only 2-3 stops by subway. But what they do have in exchange is a great relaxing onsen in the basement with real mineral water. this is what you will probably not be able to find in the city (except for one hotel in the city which has it, but it's exorbitantly expensive)

This is a very unique hotel in the sense that it is typically catered to the local businessmen, but the facilities are generally more impressive that your usual business hotel. On top of the normal double rooms,. their twin room is known as the super room, where through some ingenius design, they manage to stack a single bed on top of a double bed. on top of that, they have a microwave oven in the room! this makes it absolutely convenient to buy your dinner from the 7-11 downstairs and heat it up for supper later.

Their tap water and bath water in the entire hotel uses a special kind of ion water that is not only good for drinking, it's supposedly good for your skin too.

As for amenities, they have a trouser flattener on every floor (i didn't try it though..) and vending machines on about 3 different floors. they also have a good selection of pillows that you can pick and choose yourself at the lobby, on top of the standard pillows available in the rooms.

their onsen is not very big, but definitely cosy enough for a great way to end the day! i found myself going there to shower every night, cos the place is very nice and warm, so much better than bathing in the hotel room.

Distance to the nearest subway is the only issue here. it's about 5-7 mins walk from the hotel to the station. it\s near if the weather's good and you're not carrying any luggage or bags. It's far if it's freezing cold and the wind's strong, and you're carrying lots of shopping bags. that's our experience anyway..

However there is no shortage of food joints along the route between hotel-subway. there's this really really nice okonomiyaki joint that i must mention, because it's not only cheap and good, it's really quite cosy and moreover, they serve asahi draft beer, which is my favourite beer! their food is delicious, and can compete with the ones in the city!

all in all, a great place to park yourself for a shopping holiday in Osaka!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Super Hotel Osaka Tennoji
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel KeihanTemmabashi
Hotel KeihanTemmabashi
#56 of 307 in Osaka
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Arietta Hotel Osaka
Arietta Hotel Osaka
#27 of 307 in Osaka
412 reviews
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Osaka Baytower
Hotel Osaka Baytower
#35 of 307 in Osaka
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs

Property: Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs
Address: 3-6-35 Edobori, Nishi-ku, Osaka 550-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
#30 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 445
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Priceline, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super Hotel City Osaka & Natural Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Hotel City Osaka And Natural Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing