We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Japanese business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Osaka Umeda Higashi
Ranked #129 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Oslo
Level Contributor
132 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average Japanese business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Average (small) business hotel room. We were on an overnight trip with a base elsewhere and had little luggage so room was allright for our purpose. Had we had our suitcases with us we would have had trouble with space. No use to arrive early - you get your room no earlier than stated on your booking. If you have to kill time they have a PC with free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PINELights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    52
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
16
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I travel to Osaka quite a bit and stayed in a number of hotels, I've come to like the toyoko-inn chain of hotels. They are all over Japan and have a number of hotels in the Osaka area. The room and service are standard from hotel to hotel. There is a complementary breakfast buffet, nothing fancy, mainly starches. They offer free wireless internet and a cable if you need to hard wire.

The room is a typical business hotel, but 2 people can maneuver in it. There is storage space for your bag undetneath the bed. There is a mini refrigerator and a safe in the room. The bathroom has an american style toilet.

I book online and am a member of their loyalty club. This helps cut doen on the cost. They also have special campaigns to help lower the cost also. For 4 nights, single room, I paid 212.00usd (53/nt) Please be prepared to pay when you check in.

The reason why I chose this hotel on this trip was the one I usually stay at was full. Looking at the property, I discovered it is near to one of my favorite shopping areas. One thing about Toyoko-inns, at least in the osaka area, you need to research where the hotel is. They are not in the popular areas. They are on the fringe of these areas. They do provide maps and directions on their site and if you follow them, you shouldnt have a propblem. I would be comfortable with any hotel that is 3 minutes from the train/subway station. Also another tip is google Earth did a good job in mapping out at least the osaka area so you can get a street view of the different properties.

So I did the above ahead of time. And the directions were accurate. They are near the Tanimachi and sakaisuji subway lines at the minami morimachi subway station.

One of the cool things is its about 3 blocks from one of the longest covered shopping arcades in Japan. I like this arcade because it is moreblue collar and not trendy like the stores in the Namba/Shinsaibashi area.

Again, for the money I think this hotel is a good bargain. It is one of the top to hotels to stay when in osaka!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miedzyrzecz, Poland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel was in a bad location hidden away on a back street blocked by a flyover. It's pretty hard to find the hotel the first time (To find the hotel, take the metro to Minami Morimachi (K13 on the Sakaisuji line), take Exit 1 at the end of the platform, and take the second right under the flyover, the hotel is about 200 metres down the road).

The rooms are fairly average and seemed to be marketed towards business travelers. The room was small, but had a bath, kettle, TV and WiFi in the rooms. It wasn't possible to sleep with the window open because of the noise from the flyover, but there is air conditioning in the room if needed.

There are plenty of places to eat nearby. There is a large supermarket and then an extremely long Japanese-styled covered pedestrian street crowded with restaurants and other shops.

The staff were a mixed-bag. I found them unfriendly and at one point they wouldn't give us the key to our room after we came back to the hotel to charge the camera, because they said they were cleaning the rooms. Unlike the other hotels we stayed in in Japan, the staff here didn't seem happy and the hotel had a rather sad and run down atmosphere.

The breakfast was excellent although very crowded between 7am-8am. They had a variety of Japanese food which was tasty and one of the only highlights of the hotel. There was also free water, a microwave and computers for use in the lobby. Also, a nice addition was a launderette available which was cheap and easy to use.

I probably wouldn't use this hotel again, the location wasn't too great for getting to Shin-Osaka station for the Skinkansen trains. But mainly, I found the hotel quite depressing and really didn't like the time spent there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel served its purpose for our 2 night stay. It is a good 10 minute walk from Osaka station. The rooms were clean and as usual for Tokyo small. One point to note is that there is a flyover level with the lower floors at the front. We had a room on the higher floors so it did not bother us but the noise may affect you if you were at lower levels. So you may want to ask for a room at the back or at higher levels at front. Breakfast was fine and plenty of drinks machines around reception.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowMaccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent the second week of our trip here in Osaka, we wanted a base to explore other places after Tokyo. This hotel is easy for getting to Kyoto, Hiroshima, Himeji, Nara etc. For the price I think this hotel was great, the rooms are small - but everything fits as long as you put your cases under the bed. We really enjoyed the breakfast which was very Japanese. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance of this hotel and it is near the JR station.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the front overlooking the expressway - but there wasn't really any noise to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beverley_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The stay was very good in terms of services by the staff or the room condition. Size of the room was just nice for us, clean and cozy with heater during cold nights. Bed was comfy after long walks, and room was well equipped. They do have all the toiletries provided and ladies will get a pack of goodies too! Request for check-in and out is smooth and fast, and we can keep our baggage there after check-out for free.

Breakfast is included in the lobby. Not much variety but it was simple and tasty. You may also get your drinking water filled up instead of buying bottled water. Excellent money saving during travel.

Although hotel is near to subway, it was not as convenient compare to hubs like Namba or Shinsaibashi. And the JR near the hotel did not go directly to anywhere connected to the loop line. The subway nearest to the hotel is subway Minamimorimachi (exit 1). There is a Lawson (convenient store-24h), Mos Burger (closes at 10pm) and Kohyo Supermarket near by in case you need food at night hours.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annie80_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

In terms of the facilities, cleanliness and amenities of the hotel, it is rather decent. If I have to nitpick, I would say the hybrid yukata was too tight for me. But, that's really no big deal for me. What really upset me was the staff who handle my checkin. She was rude, unwilling to help and even down right spiteful. It is too long to explain the whole situation. Essential, the frustration was caused by language barrier. However, the way the staff handle this barrier is very poorly. At times, she would just walk away without saying a word and won't come back to help unless you ask what is going on.

I would have rated this hotel poor but it is just 1 staff out of 7 or 8 front desk staffs I have seen there. The other staffs are actually very nice. So, I have to be fair.

I do think the reservation system for Toyoko Inn needs some improvement.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenyywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel IL Grande Umeda
Hotel IL Grande Umeda
#142 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
R & B Hotel Umedahigashi
R & B Hotel Umedahigashi
#200 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
#71 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Dormy Inn Umeda Higashi
Dormy Inn Umeda Higashi
#78 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel
Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel
#66 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Kansai
Hotel Kansai
#266 of 298 in Osaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Osaka Umeda Higashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Osaka Umeda Higashi

Property: Toyoko Inn Osaka Umeda Higashi
Address: 5-3-25 Nishitenma, Kitaku, Osaka 530-0047, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Osaka Umeda Higashi 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toyoko Inn Osaka Umeda Higashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Osaka Umeda Higashi Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing