We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Yodoyabashi-eki Minami
Ranked #132 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

1.Central location in quiet side street off the main street.
2.Very clean,adequately sized room, fresh linen and pyjamas!
2.Free wifi, close to subway,cafes,restaurants,and shopping.
3. Very affordablly priced.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Toyoko Inn is quite popular hotel chain in Japan, and is actually really busy. The rooms are really small, but clean, and have everything you need - clean bathroom with toiletries, small desk, AC, tv, and WiFi (free of charge!). Japanese style breakfast is also included. In general this was very interesting experience and it made us felt ourselves Japanese for some time :-).
This hotel was walking distance from subway station and shopping mall, about 30 min walking from Osaka castle, and there was small supermarket (7/11) just across the road.
Hotel has laundromats, which was really great since we were traveling with child.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ainur_kaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

First time here, the location is very hard to find. It take me about 30 minutes and also get lost. But thank god, I have assistance from a friendly Osaka people. She even direct me to the real location and even help me with check-in process. There are big language barrier here. All of them cannot speak English at all. A bit very sad coz Toyoko-Inn has the biggest chain all over Japan. I remember when I want to ask for iron, they don't understand and said something back to me in Japanese which I only know some basics only. What a funny and distressful moment i cannot forget. I recommend that the staff should be know some basic English even the hotel is located outskirt of the city.

But the room very neat, clean and everything are perfectly in order. The breakfast, internet and WiFi is the best choice for your budget trip. The nearest subway is Midosuji Line which the best choice for my trip. The Yodoyabashi stn is very near to Umeda and easy access to Namba. So I have no problem in transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dunk_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was glad to have chosen to stay at Toyoko Inn in Yodoyabashi-eki Minami. We knew to adjust our expectations given the ~¥7,000/night price and since we had stayed at two Toyoko Inns back in Tokyo a couple of days ago. Nonetheless, we were still amazed by how much we got for how little we paid.

Clearly it is nowhere near your usual 4-star or better hotels but it's kinda like a budget flight where you get exactly what you pay for. We also saved quite a bit by signing up for the Toyoko Inn Club Card at our first Toyoko Inn in Korakuen, Tokyo. Do consider this especially if you are going to stay a few nights in Toyoko Inns.

We had all the basics required, including a comfortable bed, well-placed power sockets, small kettle, adequate toilet, tasty breakfast and computers available for use in the lobby.

Yodoyabashi itself seemed like a pretty boring (quiet) place even though it was near Umeda. We didnt mind it at all. In fact we liked it since we took the Hankyu Railways from Kyoto (cheaper than JR and Shinkansen) and the train arrived at Umeda which was one stop away from Yodoyabashi. Hence we were quite happy that we didnt have to spend too much time on the crowded subway trains with our enormous backpacks and luggages.

One small drawback was the Wi-Fi which did not work on the floor we stayed on, i.e. 4th floor. We were a little bummed initially but got over it since it meant we spent less time on our smartphones and more time talking to each other. Gotta go easy on the internet since we were on vacation!

I had a little trouble locating the exact location of this Toyoko Inn cause I did not make a correct turn. Nonetheless the walk to the hotel was still within 5-7min!

In all, I would greatly recommend this hotel to those on a budget. You really can do a lot worse than Toyoko Inn.

Room Tip: Consider signing up as a Toyoko Inn Club Card since it offers 5-10% discount on room rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank richiemccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

First of all, Trip Advisor may want to change the hotel name for its actually Toyoko Inn Yodoyabashi-eki Minami.

I did not expect much as this hotel came packaged with my budget flight. True enough, as the reviewer before me wrote "set in a faceless street of Osaka". But coming to its defense, you must remember that this is a budget business hotel located in a business district.

That aside, check in was smooth and staff very accommodating, especially considering I don't speak a word of Japanese. Rooms weren't as big as Ritz Carlton down the road I suspect, but hey, remember what you paid? This is Japan! Hair dryer, a pot to boil water, a safe, LCD tv, pant presser, pajamas, a heater that works well, a writing desk with 2 chairs, in-room massage, good water pressure and good all round lighting. Hmmm, what more can you ask for? It was adequately equipped, prompt daily room service, had free fast internet and surely served its purpose as a resting place.

Only gripe I can possibly have with this place is that breakfast on all 5 days were 90% the same. Cafeteria is also way too close to the lobby giving a total lack of privacy while eating.

A bit about the surroundings. Directly opposite (like 10 seconds walk) is a 24hrs convenient store. So that's a plus. Subway entrance to the red Midosuji line is just 5 minutes away. The nearest one being Exit 8 on the Yodoyabashi Station. One station up and you'll be in Umeda / Osaka Station which is the main station to transit to practically any part of the Kansai region.

Restaurants are aplenty within the vicinity of the hotel. If you wanted entertainment, you can walk south towards Hommachi, Shinsaibashi and Namba where hundreds if not thousands of shopping streets, a huge variety of yummy restaurants and night life awaits you. Alternatively, if walking is not your thing, take a subway down those stations in that order. Cost - 200 Yen.

I had a blast of a time with my wife. The hotel was not bad. I got what I paid for.

Room Tip: Depends on your definition of a good room. My tip would be this - keep your expectations low and roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasonGAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Set in a faceless street in the dullest part of Osaka, this is a place that only students could put up with. Tiny cell-like rooms that you wouldn't want to spend 5 minutes in awake, 70's decor (and not in a good way) with a cream coloured integral plastic box bathroom with public convenience pump soaps completes the disappointment. It has a lethal step which you forget about in the middle of the night, stub your toe on and crash into the tiny bath. They had more room in Das Boot. When you open your suitcase, it's bigger than the bed, but there is no room for it on the floor and no wardrobe. I swapped the awful 4th floor room with a view of a wall through the wired windows for the same sized one on the 8th floor with a partial view of the street if you stood on the bed. The 2 plus points are: free high speed internet (plug in, only - no wi-fi in Japanese hotels) and unnervingly accurate bumwashing toilet. All floors above the 8th are smoking floors - One can only imagine how depressing that experience would be. Staff speak no English whatsoever... Only worth mentioning in that when asked whether the tap water was drinkable, they had no idea what I was talking about - and the mini-bar is an empty fridge. You need to buy your water over the road in the 7-11 before you go to bed. Avoid unless desperate.

Room Tip: Make sure you get some kind of view to stop you feeling incarcerated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 900cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank wlwwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
APA Villa Hotel Yodoyabashi
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Osaka Yodoyabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
HOTEL UNIZO Osaka Yodoyabashi
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
RIHGA Nakanoshima Inn
RIHGA Nakanoshima Inn
#62 of 333 in Osaka
454 reviews
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Route Inn Osaka Honmachi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Yodoyabashi-eki Minami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Yodoyabashi-eki Minami

Address: 3-4-6 Hiranomachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0046, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £47 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Yodoyabashi-eki Minami 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toyoko Inn Yodoyabashi-eki Minami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing