We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Ranked #25 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We absolutely loved this hotel. Though there was a little trouble finding it at first and a call to the hotel was no help at all (staff member spoke little english and gave incorrect directions in Japanese), once we got to our rooms, all the initial angst we had disappeared. The beds were big and comfortable, the rooms were clean, there was free internet and it was surprisingly spacious. The only annoyance may have been the window in which you could see into the bathroom from the bed!

Location wise, the hotel is situated is tucked away in the more riske area of town, but in no way did we ever feel unsafe. Its very close to the Shinsaibashi shopping strip, a family mart and around the corner from the Donkey Hotei discount store (open 24 hours!). Nightlife in Osaka surrounds this hotel and the streets around the area are packed by midnight on weekend night. However, despite all the hussle bussle on the streets, the rooms were very very quiet and you could not hear a thing.

We found a good rate for this hotel which made it even better. We ended up extending our stay in Osaka and staff were more than happy to accommodate this, and gave us a similar rate to what we initially paid for our extended night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natnee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

great help as per previous reviews to find this hotel the location is fantastic, and the hotel is very new, amazing how quiet the rooms are for beeing in the middle of osaka but the breakfast is very limited would expect a little better for japanese style but overall I would recommend this hotel anytime to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaney82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I had a great time staying in this hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of Osaka and there are many restaurants and bars around. The room itself is clean and comfortable (it is of course small just like any other Japanese hotels). One staff at the lobby was not too helpful when I asked him if he had a converter but overall the service is pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Checked the reviews before choosing this hotel and glad I picked this one. Very decent and new hotel. We had 2 double rooms next to each other. Even the smallest double room is big enough and the room is well equipped and comfortable. The hotel is just step away from the centre of shopping and eating. It hides in a narrow road behind the Dotonbori River but it's not easy to find at the first time.
According to the hotel directory, when you get off from Namba train station, exit b20 is the nearest exit but this exit has no elevator to the ground. Our group has an elderly and four heavy luggages, I therefore followed the tips from previous reviews. Get off the train and turn right, follow the direction of these 2 department store, Takashimaya and 0101. If you don't want to drag heavy luggages to stairs, look for exit b14B instead of b20. Exit b14B has an elevator to ground, and all these exits are just one minute apart. You won't miss this exit because it is also the entrance connect to a commercial building. The exit is decorated with red and yellow lights tunnel with loud music.
Stepped out from the elevator, turn right and walk straight ahead for 2 minutes, you will pass the no seats noodle shop "Golden Dragon". Turn right you will see the big crab and cross the bridge over the Dotonbori River, then you turn right again and look up to search for grey colour modern looking building. It's on your left hand side.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kassi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Stayed in this hotel last april 2010. The location was great. Took the train from the airport and upon arriving at the nankai namba station, it took awhile for us to locate the hotel. I hope the hotel will provide a more detailed map. Anyway, if you do get lost, you can always ask for direction. Just make sure you have the map to the hotel on hand.

Buffet breakfast was so-so, they served the same food the whole time we were in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvndrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We got very lost trying to find the hotel..hotel directions were useless. We were a little concerned with all the funny bars on the way but really liked the hotel .Very clean and modern and a good choice for exploring other parts of city and beyond.

Hotel restaurant was good and bonus of free internet in reception.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The hotel is nice, quiet and spacious. However, the room is tiny! It has all your basic amenities - TV, nice bed linens, comfy mattress, bidet toliet. Wi-fi access seemed a hit/miss as sometimes we had it and other times we didn't. Linens in bathroom were thin but worked. We had a view of the bowling pin, parallel to the river on the 11th floor. Great location for exploring the dontonburi area for all it's great food and shopping! Everything is within walking distance. We were pleased and will probably return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunkist101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 342 in Osaka
1,458 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 342 in Osaka
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#27 of 342 in Osaka
675 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
ibis Styles Osaka
ibis Styles Osaka
#48 of 342 in Osaka
563 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Osaka Namba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Osaka Namba

Address: 5-15 Soemoncho, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0084, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £92 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Osaka Namba 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Rakuten, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Osaka Namba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing