We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location,Gd service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #27 of 321 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Monterey Grasmere for 4N,had a twin room which is spacious and very clean.The view is great too!As for the location we loved the convenience of having direct access fr Namba Station fr the hotel basement and its just 5min fr OCAT where we took airport bus.The Foods supermarket connected to the basemt was very convenient too.We had enjoyed the stay and the early bird room rates made it very worth the value.We had definitely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SungKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel has excellent location because it is close to so many subway and train lines, and also to many shops and restaurants. We stayed here for 5 nights, and made day trips to Kyoto and Nara.

The room was small, but it was new and comfortable. With free wifi in the room.

We chose this hotel mainly because we arrived late in the evening, and would like to get to a hotel with the least hassle. The hotel website described 3 ways to get from Kansai airport to the hotel - airport limousine bus, JR line, and Nankai line. The number 11 bus is the most direct and you end up at OCAT right next to the hotel. ticket is 1000 yen on way or 1800 return.

We arrived at Kansai airport on AirAsia from Kuala Lumpur. Plane landed at 9.30pm. Last bus was at 10.25pm. We made it with time to spare, but we were seated row 12 on the flight and were in front of 200 people at the immigration line. So if you were seated way back, there is a chance you may not be able to catch the last bus.

The first bus out of OCAT Osaka to the airport is at 5.40am. We caught the 6.10am bus and got to Kansai Airport with plenty of time for our 9.40am flight.

We made a day trip to Kyoto. Use Hyperdia.com to find the best and cheapest way to travel by train. We leave Osaka after 9am to avoid the rush hour. Going to UMEDA sta, then switch to JR train at Osaka Sta to Kyoto. Total cost 770 yen one way to get to Kyoto.

We also made a day trip to Nara. Used the Kintetsu line that went directly to Kintetsunara station in Nara. Cost of 540 yen one way. Nara is compact, so you can walk or rent a bicycle to see the sights.

Namba Walk (the underground shopping area) near the hotel has many places to eat with reasonable prices. And shops too.

Highly recommend this hotel for all these reasons.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kc-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Firstly I should say that we only stayed here because we got 50% off the normal rate,which I think is quite common if you book in advance.
Pros
- An amazing view from the 31st floor. The rooms are all on floors 23-31 so this is pretty much guaranteed.
- Location. 1 min walk from JR Namba station and 5 mins to a fantastic eating area to the east of Namba metro station.
- Comfortable big double bed which was probably king size by western standards.
Cons
- Our room stank of cigarette smoke. When we asked to change rooms we were told it may be possible on our final night (of 4).
- A lack of personal service. Maybe this is more to do with it being a large business hotel as we chose smaller hotels and ryokans in our other destinations. The service wasn't bad, just impersonal.

Overall a great hotel at 9000 yen per night. Amazing and location, just make sure to request a non-smoking room if that's what you want.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andr3w6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Good value for this hotel. Next to JR stop and subway, shops and restaurants. Large room and bathroom. Nice view. Friendly reception.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Pui To C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A family of three with a 11-year old made our way to Osaka from 30th May to 2nd June.

We arrived KIX in the morning and took a limousine bus from stand number 11 at Kansai to OCAT which cost Y1000 one way and Y1800 for return. The journey took around 50 min. We arrived on the 2nd floor of OCAT and took an escalator to the ground floor, found the northern exit and there, on the right, is Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka.

Enter the hotel building, take a lift up to level 22 to the hotel lobby. We left our luggage with the concierge as the check in time is only after 3pm. Japanese are rigid and everything goes by the book.

Rooms are on the 23rd to 31st floor and we got one on the 30th. We didn't get a room with good view and did not make a fuss on that. Room amenities are the usual basic stuff and space is just good for one to move around. I would rather have good location than big rooms.

Kuromon Ichiba is a wet market that is around 15 minutes walk at the eastern direction of the hotel. Here you can get high quality seafood, wagyu & fruits. A worthwhile place to visit apart from the departmental stores.

Life supermarket is just next to the hotel, on the basement level. Opening hours are 9.30am - 12 midnight. At the food section, they will gradually discount the day's cooked food, sashimi & sushi, with mark down of 20% - 40% after dark, not sure what time they start, but when I was there at 8pm, some has already been discounted and grabbed.

Plan one trip in the day to cover Kuromon Market, Den Den Town, Nipponbashi, Sennichimae and Namba City and another one in the evening to cover Dotonburi, Shinsaibashi, Ebishubashi and America-Mura.

For breakfast, you can either grab some food from the Life Supermarket the day before or get into McDonalds at basement level of OCAT.

To get out of this area, the JR Namba station is just at the basement level of OCAT. One stop away and you are on the Osaka loop.

Recommended food are takoyaki from street vendors, okonomiyaki from Chibo at Dotonburi, yakiniku from Yakiniku Rokko at Shinsaibashi.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MyAttitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Positioned directly above JR Namba (note there are 2 Namba stations) and the OCAT stop this is easy to find and makes transfers to and from the airport a breeze with a choice of rail or bus from OCAT. The hotel reception is on 22nd floor (along with an exact replica of an English church!) our room had a stunning view and given the height I imagine this applies to all rooms. We booked a standard double but were upgraded to a corner twin which was huge, loved it.
Easy walk to Dotonbori and the shopping arcades, a supermarket is in the mall attached to the hotel.
We asked for a late check out, standard is 11am and every hour after that is 1000 yen, we got a great rate so for us it was worthwhile paying for the convenience before a long flight home.Generally in Japan we found very little flexibility with check in and check out times and the Monterey was no different.
Overall can't fault the hotel and loved seeing the constant stream of weddings at the church.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

First time in Osaka, we travelled from Tokyo by Shinkansen. We didnt realise that main transport in Osaka is Subway- Not JR. Arrived at Shin-Osaka Station we have to transfered to a different Platform to go to Osaka Station. and then at Osaka Station we then had to transfer to a different platform to go to inner city line. But that didnt stop here, in order to get to Namba JR station, we have to stop AGAIN and swap trains at Imamiya station. 4 times changing trains is not very convenience if you're travelling with luggages and two kids specially if you're in a foreign country that doesnt use English. We were so glad when we FINALLY, reached JR Namba station, to find that under our hotel is a hugeeee supermarket where you can find everything. But still we were not very pleased with the amount of time spent to get to our hotel and how it was a hassle of swapping platform.
Although the hotel style European style and looks old, the hotel is still brand new. we checked in easy and fast. They put us all in the same floor.(we had 3 rooms- 2 got two rooms with no view and 1 room with Shinsibashi n dotonburi view) no complain there. The room is quite compact, but not small. the bed was comfy but not the pillow. We requested for extras pillow and they delivered that to us.
What I love about the hotel is they room has air purifier so I know that I can have clear air during my stay and this is the first hotel I stayed that has this so its a plus. They have wifi but their TV is not wifi ready nor has web browser. The quality of wifi is also a so so compared to my last stay at Century southern tower hotel in Tokyo. Toiletries is ok, could've been better. amenities was good as other hotel in Japan.
Dotonburi and Shinsibashi is around 15 min walk. If you have JR pass, I would recommend you use subway just to save time and hassle. From Namba subway station has a direct line to go to Shin Osaka without having to go through what we went through, Plus, if Osaka your first destination, you can catch the OCAT airport limo that will take you directly to the hotel from Kansai Airport. Do i like my stay here? yea. Do I wish I stayed somewhere else? Not really, coz we have the JR pass and we want to make the most of it. I cant really blame Osaka Transport System. Overall, its a good choice for Osaka. A little advice: Dont loose your room card key. as they will charge you for it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non smoking floor and also a room with a VIEW.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ummnabeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 321 in Osaka
792 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 321 in Osaka
1,398 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#25 of 321 in Osaka
653 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 321 in Osaka
1,933 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 321 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £96 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing