We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service attitude” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #29 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Your hotel staff service manner is very bad. They are so cool when speak to hotel guests. They dont perform their professional, hospitable, helpful & welcome to hotel guests. This is my 2nd time to stay withure your hotel, hwr, the hotel service is worst than last year, i am totally disappointed with that. I will consider whether make reservation again in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monterey_Group, Hotel Monterey Group Headquarters at Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Lee I,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review.
We apologise for our belated reply.
Please accept our deepest apologies for the bad service that you underwent at our property.
Such an attitude is impermissible and should not happen to any of our guests.

We have addressed the issue to our operation team, and instructed that they reinstate and maintain a high standard of service and hospitality.
We hope you will be so generous as to consider giving us another chance to serve you hospitably and professionally at your next visit.
Once gain, thank you for your patronage.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    789
    185
    42
    27
See reviews for
549
501
149
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great hotel located right in the Namba area. Easy access from Kansai Airport via the Limosine Bus. 1 hour and dropped at OCAT which is right next door to hotel. You can access the hotel via the JR Namba station (just past the station through the doors). Reception staff were friendly, we don't speak much Japanese but the hotel staff had very good English so no issues. We purchased both our aquarium and Universal tickets at reception to save time. Room was a good size for Japanese hotel and had al the amenities. We paid for a city view room and had a great view over Osaka city. Supermarket in basement is well stocked and open till midnight. Have all ready made meals if you don't feel like eating out and plenty of choice. If you have a JR Pass, the reservation office at JR Namba are really helpful in making seat reservations (as we used the Shinkensen for some trips and they made all the bookings for us and told us which stations to change at etc).We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a nice city view, you can pay a little extra. I did this by emailing the hotel direct an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

highly recommended to my friend....very convenient and and friendly customer service and helpful. just located nect to the OCAT station and 5 minutes walking distance to Namba Station and Dontobori....



  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
460 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is incredibly convenient to the places you're likely to hit while in Osaka. However, the rooms are somewhat old and the amenities could have been better. The bathroom feels cheap. Overall, somewhat of a letdown after seeing the exterior and hotel lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

It's all about the location. Right beside the bus station from the airport, small grocery at the basement, lots of small restaurants in the basement walk, a few meters away from the train station and a few minutes walk to Shinsaibashi and Dontonburi areas.

Other pluses include: rooms are a bit larger than the other hotels, small chapel in the lobby which makes Sunday mass very convenient, and wifi access everywhere.

Would I stay again? I definitely would.

Would I recommend to friends visiting Osaka? Already have.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel from Nov 8-14. The hotel is located just right on top of JR-Namba station. It is conveniently located a few blocks away from the Dotonbori-Shinsaibashi area, Kuromon Market, and Den-den town. The reception staff will give you a walking tour map with a train lines map right behind it. If you find the aforementioned areas too far though, there is a supermarket right underneath the hotel, and also the OCAT shopping mall. If you want more choices, Namba Walk is just a few minutes away as well.

If you intend to explore the rest of the Kansai area, this hotel is a great home base. It is about an hour away from both Nara and Kyoto. Nara can be reached directly through the JR Yamatoji Line. If you're going to Kyoto you may need to transfer a bit, but this shouldn't take too long.

The staff is helpful but as always, they have a hard time communicating in English. It is much easier to understand directions if you ask in Japanese. If you have an address or certain location you want to go to, you may be better off writing it down or getting a brochure or something, pointing it to one of the staff and perhaps asking them to draw the directions.

Our room was a bit small, but big enough I guess to fit three beds. I had a good night's sleep, and you can ask for extra pillows if you need them. Pajamas area also provided. There is no gym nor spa, but perhaps the walk around shopping and sightseeing would be enough exercise? ;) If you did not get the buffet breakfast package with your room (we didn't), you can always just go to Namba Walk or the convenience stores nearby for breakfast.

I'm giving this hotel four stars just because it is a bit small relative to the other hotel we stayed in Tokyo, even though the price on that one was just only a bit higher than Grasmere. I think I expected more. But this is good enough anyway. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nurikoryen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel Monterey Grasmere, Osaka is conveniently located a few steps away from the subway. If you're commuting to kansai international airport, it's a few minutes away from the namba station which will pass through tennoji station where the trains going to the airport are. It has a huge grocery situated at the basement. Spacious rooms and the staffs can provide you with directions to go around, all you have to do is inquire. My only concern is that the lighting of the entire hotel is a tad dark, gives a bit of an eerie feeling. But then perhaps it's just me. :)

Other than that, I'll definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carrothead_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#28 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#23 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Dotonbori Hotel
Dotonbori Hotel
#15 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing