We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #27 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb location, value for money”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked a triple room for the family during our stay in Osaka. There were 2 double beds and a single which could fit 2 adults and 2 kids (below 12) very comfortably. Great view of the city if you stay on the higher floors. Hotel is located right above the Namba JR station which is very convenient as we used this hotel as our base for our day trips to Kyoto and Nara. The OCAT is just next to the station, so is the fastest Nankai express to Kansai Airport. Dotonbori, Shinsaibashi, Namba Park are all within walking distance through Namba Walk which is a big underground shopping mall in itself.

There is an impressive chapel at the reception of the hotel which is on the 22nd floor. The hotel also houses an art museum. Bathroom was well equipped, including hair clips for ladies! Hotel even provides fresh pajamas every day during our stay there. The air purifier in the room is a nice touch. There is a full fledged supermarket downstairs near the station exit where you could stock up on just about everything even bentos and sushis. There is also a bakery at the JR station, and they have discounted breads after 8pm.

Would definitely consider staying in this hotel again if we do visit Osaka.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    835
    196
    44
    28
See reviews for
586
523
151
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Monterey Grasmere in Osaka. It's a lovely hotel, with the most comfortable beds & pillows that we found in all of Japan. Location could not be better, with JR Namba Station below the hotel & the subway nearby (for getting to anywhere in Osaka). Also, the limousine bus to the airport is next door. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes & bakeries nearby (very good ones in Namba Walk) & a huge supermarket with bakery under the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we return to Osaka!

Room Tip: We took the cheapest room we could get & still got a partial view of the city which was nice. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne & Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked a non-smoking double room but the smoke smell in our room was quite strong! Already unpacked our luggage so we didn't bother to ask for a change of room

You really can't complain about the location of this Hotel, just in the middle of every kind of public transport. We arrived at ShinOsaka Station under heavy rain and reached the Hotel reception without being outdoors...!!

As a plus there's a comprehensive supermarket right below the hotel.

Nice views of Osaka even if ours wasn't a "City-view room".
My only complain is the small wardrobe, I suggest at least to put some wall hangers in the hallway, I think it's not such an expensive solution!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AbeTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is located right above JR Namba station, and directly linked (Gates 30) to all transport network available at Namba (including the fastest Nankai express to Kansai airport). 5 minutes walking from the hotel is the dotombori shopping and dining area, making its location unbeatable.

Reception is on the 22nd floor and rooms are up to the 31st floor, but entrance is clearly seen from the street and l indications perfectly understandable from there. Reception area is wide, with several counters available, although I found checkin terribly slow and reception personnel not so keen to undertake tasks beyond regular processing of customers (I had to ask several times for a taxi before they called for one, and this happened twice). Besides this, everything was smooth in the hotel, which has several restaurants (Japanese and Western style) around reception (with a superb view from the western one) and massive wedding facilities (including a full size naturally lit chappel!).

Rooms (standard double) we're not too big but enough to have a comfortable stay with big bags around. Bed and pillows were super comfortable and very relaxing, and appropriate lightning was something that stood out. Otherwise standard modern Japanese amenities all around. Bathroom with full bath and shower was standard Japanese, with a full set of toiletries available. Decoration of the hotel is very modern, as well as furniture, and throughout the building there is a relaxing atmosphere due to soft music, nice colours and spacious common areas.

Overall, a very pleasent stay in a modern, well appointed and spacious enough hotel in a perfect location. The only downside was in my view reception staff, which despite not being rude in any way was below the standard perceived in many other hotels throughout the country. Nevertheless, 5 stars are well deserved.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buduku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Location is fantastic - easy bus ride to/from Kansai airport. Close to JR and subway line. Easy walk to Dontorbi for 24-hour Ramen noodles. Hotel room is spacious with good amenities. Great view of the city on high floor. Front desk speak good English but with a cold attitude.

Room Tip: Get the Universal Studio tickets from the hotel to avoid long line up at the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annual_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

All staff are packed with good attitude and service-minded. I lost my loving scarf in the morning, came back at night, staff at the front was very eager to help and I got it back! Lobby decorated in European theme which I found it very impressive. Although room space is quite limited but they make every furniture/facilities just perfect, you got everything you need and can fit 2 big luggage. Nice and clean atmosphere with air purifier in the room, bathroom is filled with all amenities and bathtub!Security checked by key card to enter each floor.
Location is so perfect with subway in 5 mins walk, supermarket and department store are next to it and only 10 mins walk to dotonburi. And you can catch the OCAT bus to and from the airport without any hassle. I would choose this hotel again while I'm in osaka.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel was perfect for us after a 4 hour plane ride with a late arrival into Kansai Airport. We took the airport bus direct to the last stop OCAT, which was connected to the hotel.

Our room with 2 beds (slightly larger than a twin size) was spacious with a round table with 2 armchairs as additional furniture in the room. There was space for our 2 mid-size bags and hand carry. It also had a closet with hangers and space for a bag at the foot of the closet.

Bathroom was great with a typical Japanese toilet (with the warmed seat, and bidet combo) and we loved the hotel's liquid soaps, shampoo and conditioner. The hotel also provided pyjamas in different sizes, hair clips, hair brushes, etc which were replenished daily.

The hotel has a supermarket and shopping arcade with loads of restaurant choices in the basement which leads to the Namba subway station. It is also a short walk street level or through the underground arcade to Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi.

Be careful though about losing your key card as the hotel will not issue another one and will charge you JPY1000 to get a replacement which we have never encountered in any other hotel.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice view from higher floors facing away from the train station. Do not be afraid to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 307 in Osaka
764 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,369 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#29 of 307 in Osaka
633 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 307 in Osaka
1,894 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#65 of 307 in Osaka
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing