We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #28 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
서울
1 review
“good location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

location is very good. room condition is not bad...
especially discount store on the ground floor, it is very comfortable.
nice view in room and security is good.
bathroom is very nice.. large, clean~








  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    826
    196
    44
    28
See reviews for
575
522
151
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Let us start with the positives.

Excellent location in the Namba area. Convenient access with JR/Subway lines and all the tourist attractions.

On arrival, the male receptionist checked us in was just not happy. He did not smile at once and did not make any conversation. Passports please, credit card please this is how much you have to pay. Here are your room keys bye. Where are the lifts? No explanation of any services / facilities offered at the hotel or any customer service provided.

We requested for a travel adaptor and asked them to bring up to the room. This was impossible we had to go to reception to get an adaptor. For a two or three star budget motel/hotel I can understand but not a four star hotel. They had some lame excuse about having to sign a piece of paper for the adaptor. HELLO ? Bring the paper up to the room with the adaptor and Ill sign it, you have my credit card details already. We usually saw 4-5 staff members on the desk doing nothing but talking to each other but okay each to their own.

I had to make an urgent international phone call for work and asked how much it would cost. The lady had absolutely no idea. And finally she said it would cost 20 yen per minute. When I got the bill it was around 2600 yen for a five minute call. Go figure even if it was 200 yen a minute it still was not right.

Concierge was never around so we could not get any help with questions we had. Everytime we walked pass the lobby the concierge desk was unattended and we stayed for 4 days.

We found the room to be very small, with two large suitcases it was impossible to walk around we did not have housekeeping for 3 days as it was just too crowded and they would not have ben able to make the bed.

The room had a nice view of Osaka, north facing view which meant LOTS OF SUN and heat, guess what the Air con did not work very well. We had it set for 19-20 degrees and after a full days of operation the thermostat room temperature showed 25 degrees...

On check out we had another unhappy person check us out early in the morning. No smiles, no questions on how your stay was just pay your phone bill and go. I asked them how to catch the bus back to KIX airport and he just shrugged and left??

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rleyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I really liked this hotel. I stayed for 2 nights. The room was large and comfortable. Wifi was free and the location was great. Right next to the OCAT station for transfer to the airport, which you can access through the escalator right next to the hotel entrance.

The breakfast was great and the views from the breakfast area were really nice as well.

Service was fine - checkout and checkin were easy and fast. The restaurants in the hotel were underwhelming but there are undreds of restaurants within easy walking distance.

And if you are really keen, you can get married in their church on the 8th floor. One of the more surreal moments of my recent trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colourwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have to admit i almost like everything about Japan.This hotel is most covenient located at OCAT station (subway and airport bus station) when you arrive from the 45 minute ride from Kansai,you walk 100 meters to the hotel,very very convenient when u are traveling with a heavy suitcase.The room 2738 was a bit small,tiny bathroom, only Japanese channels on the TV or you have to buy a card.Very safe hotel,access to each floor by room key only.Restaurants with fantastic views though i would recommend walking to Nanda Walk,underground passage full of shops and restaurants.Next door to the hotel there is also a huge supermarket,where you can buy groceries,and all sorts of drinks,toiletries etc.Very near Dotonbori area,about 5 minutes walking.Hotel staff incredibly nice and ready to help...the only small problem is they have no gym in this hotel...i will certainly recommend this hotel if you are traveling alone or with children

Room Tip: Any room is good,windows completely soundproof
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The room is big and comfortable. The view is awesome! With a supermarket closed at 24:00 just down the building, it's very convenient for travellers who arrived late. We enjoyed our stay, and will consider coming back again next time.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpwydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. I'm impressed by the effort from the Director of Rooms for the welcoming email before our stay and a follow up email for feedback after we checked out.

The hotel is well located near the Namba JR line and is close to the Namba shopping area with lots of dining options. There is an underground connection to the subway and JR station and access to a food market if you like to stock up on drinks and snacks.

Room is not massive but adequate. Good views from the room.

Breakfast was good but there is no variability in options for the 3 breakfasts we had. In fact, during one of the busiest day the omelette counter was removed. Hotel is popular with locals and your groups, so it can get a little busy/messy especially with some tour groups.

Overall a pleasant stay. Will choose to stay there again if I visit Osaka again in future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

While visiting Osaka, we stayed at Monterey Grasmere, a nice cosy hotel in center town, walking distance from the shopping and restaurants area. And very close to the metro, bus and train stations. Rooms are small, but comfortable, you have all the necessary accessories in the room. It is a little confusing when you get to the hotel that you have to take the elevator to the 22 floor to get to the lobby. We had a very nice panorama from our room. And wifi is free and working well. The staff was helpful in basic English, providing all the necessary information you need. Good value for the money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CristinaH414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
757 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,351 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#31 of 307 in Osaka
625 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 307 in Osaka
1,880 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#56 of 307 in Osaka
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing