We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #29 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

nice location for JR (universal studio), Ikea(^^),
not bad for subway lines, osaka city tour.
a little study needed to find way from namba station.
wonderful view from morning buffet restrant.
clean and comfort room. small but not so small as Japanese hotel. (room)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mildness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good environment & inconvenience location of the hotel.
Prices are acceptable.
Would like to select next time.
It is near supermarket & JR station.
I like this hotel.
The staff are nice but not have so much smile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charyuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel has a very good location as it is conveniently located in (or just beside) the subway/OCAT/JR. However, our room was dirty when we arrived (peanuts were on the floor) and the toilet didn't smell like it was cleaned. We complained the next day and the peanuts were gone, but the toilet still didn't smell good. Breakfast was okay although the line in the buffet table was long when the hotel guests ate all at the same time. The hotel made up for it through their nice and polite staff. Our flight home was still around 9pm and checkout time was at 11am. They let us leave our luggages in the hotel while we did our last minute shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanjean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel located at strategy place and convenient to move around using public transport. They is a good market located down stair, easy to get food and few minutes walk to Namba walk where you can easily get food and do some shopping too


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TETAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

location is very good. room condition is not bad...
especially discount store on the ground floor, it is very comfortable.
nice view in room and security is good.
bathroom is very nice.. large, clean~








  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Let us start with the positives.

Excellent location in the Namba area. Convenient access with JR/Subway lines and all the tourist attractions.

On arrival, the male receptionist checked us in was just not happy. He did not smile at once and did not make any conversation. Passports please, credit card please this is how much you have to pay. Here are your room keys bye. Where are the lifts? No explanation of any services / facilities offered at the hotel or any customer service provided.

We requested for a travel adaptor and asked them to bring up to the room. This was impossible we had to go to reception to get an adaptor. For a two or three star budget motel/hotel I can understand but not a four star hotel. They had some lame excuse about having to sign a piece of paper for the adaptor. HELLO ? Bring the paper up to the room with the adaptor and Ill sign it, you have my credit card details already. We usually saw 4-5 staff members on the desk doing nothing but talking to each other but okay each to their own.

I had to make an urgent international phone call for work and asked how much it would cost. The lady had absolutely no idea. And finally she said it would cost 20 yen per minute. When I got the bill it was around 2600 yen for a five minute call. Go figure even if it was 200 yen a minute it still was not right.

Concierge was never around so we could not get any help with questions we had. Everytime we walked pass the lobby the concierge desk was unattended and we stayed for 4 days.

We found the room to be very small, with two large suitcases it was impossible to walk around we did not have housekeeping for 3 days as it was just too crowded and they would not have ben able to make the bed.

The room had a nice view of Osaka, north facing view which meant LOTS OF SUN and heat, guess what the Air con did not work very well. We had it set for 19-20 degrees and after a full days of operation the thermostat room temperature showed 25 degrees...

On check out we had another unhappy person check us out early in the morning. No smiles, no questions on how your stay was just pay your phone bill and go. I asked them how to catch the bus back to KIX airport and he just shrugged and left??

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rleyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I really liked this hotel. I stayed for 2 nights. The room was large and comfortable. Wifi was free and the location was great. Right next to the OCAT station for transfer to the airport, which you can access through the escalator right next to the hotel entrance.

The breakfast was great and the views from the breakfast area were really nice as well.

Service was fine - checkout and checkin were easy and fast. The restaurants in the hotel were underwhelming but there are undreds of restaurants within easy walking distance.

And if you are really keen, you can get married in their church on the 8th floor. One of the more surreal moments of my recent trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colourwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 342 in Osaka
1,996 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 342 in Osaka
827 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 342 in Osaka
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#27 of 342 in Osaka
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £92 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing