We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis in busy Osaka”
Review of Carpe Diem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carpe Diem
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Lovely quite location, beautiful garden. The place is not far from many restaurants, shops and Osaka castle. You do need to take transports to go Osaka's main attractions (Dotombori, America mura...). We stayed in the HUGE tea room for 3 days. Our hosts were both friendly, helpful and welcoming. Having stayed in other minshukus, we found the place was a little bit overpriced but otherwise very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fabien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lovely stay, the ryokan is located within walking distance from Morinomiya & Midoribashi subway line and it's located in the middle of residential area. We stayed there for 1 night - which is tea room facing the pond and the garden. The room are really big, however, the shower room are a bit small. Towels, shower, shampoos are provided. What I liked most is waking up to the calm and serene atmosphere, even it can be pretty cold at night.

Upon check in, Misa & Franck are really nice and inviting. They recommended a nearby udon shop where locals frequent, and we find it really yummy and delicious. Upon check out, Misa's son is really helpful, driving us to the nearest subway station.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This ryoken is located within walking distance from a train station and in the middle of a residential area. The ryoken itself it pretty, with the traditional sliding doors and wooden flooring that you need to remove your shoes to walk on. Towels and shower foam was provided, but as with ryokens, will not be changed during your stay. The rooms itself were large, but the toilets were tiny. The bathroom was literally located in a closet and the heating did not reach it, which made bath time less appealing. The smallness of the bath stall also meant that unless you were comfortable with putting on your clothes in front of your room mate, you would have to be very careful not to drop them on the floor when you balance them on the sink. Wifi was free, but patchy and slow. It's a nice place to stay still, but the small kinks marred the experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank PrisVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in March 2013. My spouse and I were hesitant as we never stayed at a place like this before but Im glad we did. Misa was really nice and inviting. When we first checked in it was late at night and we were hungry, so Misa suggested an udon shop nearby but we had no clue how to get there. Misa generously drove us to the restuarant and even offered to pick us up but I felt that was really going too out of her way for us so we just figured it out how to get back, but her generosity was very much appreciated. What I loved most was waking up to the calm and serene setting. Also what I loved was that we were far from tourst areas and were living among locals. I loved strolling through the neighborhood everyday just taking in the culture and everyday life in Osaka. We stayed in the tea room which was great and the most private. It was cold especially at night but with the doors closed and the heat going we were fine. Again a pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, it's not even a question of if but a question of when.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackBoriken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I have nothing more to add.

However, I am obliged to submit at least 200 characters so...

Lovely garden, lovely Misa, lovely kitchen, lovely location, lovely bar (Ellie's) and lovely supermarket with amazing looking stuff nearby.......just lovely.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and loved it!! The owner is so lovely, great English and willing to help with whatever we needed, including acces to a great kitchen. The room was perfect and the traditional Japenesse garden it opened out to was AMAZING! It's short to the JR line and Osaka Castle Park in a nice quite neighbourhood. If you're staying in Osaka, stay here and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband has a flare for finding French hotels/guesthouses around the world, and this is no exception. This is a small guesthouse (or chambre d'hote) owned by a French/Japanese family

We had one night in Osaka before flying back home. We arrived in the afternoon and had planned to go downtown, but since this little guesthouse was so nice we decided to skip Osaka and just stay in. There are 2 rooms (the big one can be transformed into two rooms). We had originally booked the tea room, but since we were the only ones staying here this night we got upgraded to the huge room (two big bedrooms with 2 futons in each and space for more, two toilets, two bathrooms). This is really old Japanese style with a small Japanese garden in the middle. Our 4-year old had a blast running around at the small bridges and jumping from stone to stone.

There is a big kitchen that you can use if you want to eat in or cook. We were recommended to go to pick up some sushi at the local sushi restaurant, and they were very good. The owners also offered to order food to be delivered at the guesthouse, but it was really only a few hundred meters to walk. There is also a very good udon restaurant just next to it and a supermarket if you want to buy breakfast.

There is a playground (maybe not the best, but there is one) 100 m from the guesthouse which can be very nice to have if you have little ones who are tired of temples and walking and need to run a bit.

It is a bit of a walk to the train station. It might be 10 min if you walk briskly but with all the luggage and a 4-year old in a tow it's more like 20 min. Luckily the son of the family stayed at the house and offered us a ride to the train station at 5.30 in the morning. Such a life saver!

Room Tip: The tea room is very cosy and big enough for a small family. Where we stayed was enormous for us and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 333 in Osaka
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel New Otani Osaka
#15 of 333 in Osaka
1,235 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 333 in Osaka
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem

Address: 3-2-14 Nakahama, Osaka 536-0024, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Osaka
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carpe Diem (ima wo ikiyo, Seize the days) is located at the heart of the city, but still manages to stay as a calm and relaxing place. While in Osaka, Carpe Diem offers you a Japanese-style residence that has maintained the rich history of older homes. We also offer activities and classes including Japanese calligraphy, Kimono wearing-"Kitsuke", Soba buckwheat noodle making, Mizuhiki-knot workshop, Japanese home-cooking and Tea ceremony. Inquire us for more details. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing