We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Japanese.”
Review of Yaekatsu

Yaekatsu
Ranked #66 of 38,957 Restaurants in Osaka
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We really liked it. The restaurant is a bit smoky but fine. Price are reasonable.
Ordering the set is certainly the best bet.
The card offer, vegetables, seafood or meat. So everyone can find what ones like.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank AlexVVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Pretty much self explained. Fried food on a stick in an old alley way at its best. Friendly staff with english menu. Limited english but still felt welcomed.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank ALbyy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended for any one looking for some fried goodness, it doesn't get any better than this.

They serve literally everything fried. From veggies, meats and seafood.

Great experience and would definitely recommend for anyone in the Osaka area.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Seems like there will always be a queue at Yaekatsu but the queue moves quite fast so we didn't really had to wait long (maybe 15-20 mins). Do note that it is all counter seating so it will challenging for parents bringing little ones.

Well for the food, I can only say it's our new found comfort food. Although it was deep friend, it is NOT oily at all! Even for my wife who absolutely hates fried food love them. My suggestion is to tried out everything on the menu especially them small green pepper. Please note that you should only dip your skewers into the sauce only ONCE!

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IvanLimTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

You now, in travel, at work, or for any other reason, if the are in Osaka, there is Osaka specialty that I have to eat you. It is the "串かつ Kushi-katsu(Skewers)".

"串かつ Kushi-katsu(Skewers)" refers to meat andvegetables on bamboo skewers, is the fast food of Osaka specialty was fried in oil and put it in the bread crumbs. In the "新世界 Shinsekai (New World)" area, there are very many "串かつ Kushi-katsu" restaurants.

Kushi-katsu(Skewer cutlet) restaurant that you want to suggest I contact a Japanese among them is "八重勝 Yaekatsu".

"八重勝 Yaekatsu" is located in the place where it went a little in the back from the main street. There is a street, which is commonly called "Jean Jean Yoko-cho".

Because "八重勝 Yaekatsu" is very popular in Japanese, are lined with always people outside. But, because the "Kushi-katsu(skewers)" is coming out soon, you come earlier than I thought even your order.

To "八重勝 Yaekatsu" also I have also such as Chinese menu menu, which is written in English. So, it can also be ordered without problems in foreign tourists.

Which is also delicious, but especially the two popular menu. It is the "串かつ Kushi-katsu","どて焼き Doteyaki". Both, at 300 yen three, is a classic menu that many Japanese to order. You also Eat Osaka specialties in this delicious restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank Nakasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Yaekatsu also viewed

 

Been to Yaekatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.