We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must when in Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Osaka
Ranked #3 of 300 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
vimarn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Must when in Osaka”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Osaka was our final destination of our 12-day-trip to Japan; we arrived at Umeda station by train from Kyoto and took a taxi to the St. Regis, which was only about a 10-minutes ride. It would also have been very easy to take the subway as the hotel is only 2 stops away at Honmachi station and taking exit number 7 leads you directly to their premises. We arrived around 11 am, our room was not yet ready, so we just left our luggage there and took the subway to Osaka acquarium. It was around 4 pm when we returned and checked-in, we were accompanied to the room and received detailed information on how everything works (they also have butler service).

The lobby is reached by elevator as the hotel occupies the upper half of the building; it is beautifully designed with high ceilings, the bar and the Italian restaurant are adjacent and of equal tasteful design. From the lobby or the bar you have direct access to the Japanese style roof garden, where guests can enjoy drinks or even eat if wheather and climate permit or smoke (the hotel is smoke-free). On the lobby level it feels like being in a small castle.

The room we had was quiet, spacious with huge windows and spectacular views over the city of Osaka. Curtains can be opened or closed by pushing a button, the bed was just heavenly. The bathroom had two sinks, a shower and bath cabin and a separate toilet cabin. In Japan it seems to be a matter of course that toilet seats are heated, so we got already used to it, but at the St. Regis the toilets are even more sophisticated, i.e. don't bother to flush as it is all automatically taken care of as soon as you stand up (I have never seen anything like this and was completed fascinated by that simple but effective device!). There is ample space to store your cloths and luggage. They provide turn down service in the evening which I always find a pleasant treat. A Nespresso coffeee machine is also available in the room.

Breakfast is served in the Italian restaurant; the room is not huge so you may have to wait a short while if too many guests arrive at the same time. The buffet is overwhelming, small and elegant items, each artfully presented! Hot dishes can also be ordered from the open kitchen (egg benedict was delicious). It was simply a perfect start for the day.

As dinner time in Japan ends rather early we visited the bar every evening before going to bed. Atmosphere was wonderful, with a pianist and a female singer, who made pleasant breaks from time to time. We thought it was a bit pricey with a glass of red wine costing Yen 2,300++, and as we normally consume more than one glass of wine, a bill of Yen 10,000 for the two of us was the rule. One day we went for afternoon tea with splits of champagne; it was good but we felt that food they served was not really fresh, a repeat session was therefore not on our agenda.

We booked our flight to Tokyo-Narita airport departing from Itami aiport, as it is much closer than Kansai aiport. Unfortunately during that week we were in Osaka, the highway to Itami airport was closed in both directions for reconstruction. Our flight left at 8 am, so taking a taxi was not an option as we had to get on that flight, returning to Switzerland from Tokyo at 11 am. Hotel staff was very helpful in advising us how to reach Itami airport on time, i.e. at 6 am we took the subway to Umeda station and from there the monorail to Itami. Traveling time was about 40 minutes, but a bit uncomfortable with heavy luggage (lots of stairs), As the location of the St. Regis is indeed very convenient, with the subway station just beneath, taking public transportation to Itami airport may be something you may want to consider with light luggage, it's very reliable and probably less time consuming than by taxi (specially during rush hours).

Unfortunately we only stayed three nights and very much regretted to have to leave. On our next trip to Osaka we will book the St. Regis again, but for an entire week! Everything is so elaborate with a lot of attention to details; we had a most delightful experience with the St. Regis.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vimarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Vimarn,

Thank you so much for the wonderful post and beautifully written description you wrote on Tripadvisor following your last here at the St. Regis Osaka. It is much appreciated.
I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and the team and I do look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

In the meantime I’d like to extend to you and your family our very best wishes for the Holiday season.

Kindest regards.

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    248
    67
    29
    15
See reviews for
335
497
117
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This Hotel NEVER disappoints us. The location, the property itself and the staff are just incredible. From the Senior Receptionist to the head Chef, all areas are unbelievably wonderful. Kobe beef, room cleanliness and rapid attention are just a few items that constantly place this property over the top with professional service. This is a level 6 property for the St Regis group. It shows. You will NOT be disappointed here.

Room Tip: We do not know of a bad room at this property. Each visit we make here always has an exceptionally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeufelHundenguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Perry w,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your nice comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

It is much appreciated and will inspire us to continue to excel in our service delivery. I have taken the liberty to convey your kind compliments to the hotel team.

Once again, I thank you very much for your kind words and looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the St. Regis Osaka.

May I also take this opportunity to extend to you and your family our very best wishes for the Holiday season.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Close proximity to city centre, the hotel is about 10 minutes drive from Namba Station. Exceptional service provided right upon arrival. Welcome drinks were delivered to the room moments after we checked in and our butler even kindly provided us with a city map for our reference.

Our room was located on the 22nd floor which had awesome view of the city. Room was well equipped and i love the in room Nespresso machine. Turn down service was a nice touch and I truly appreciate it. Every amenity in the room is meticulously prepared and the room was very cozy. Bedside light panels were very convenient too. Personally, I'm quite particular about the pillows but this time round, I had a good sleep throughout my 2 nights stay at the hotel.

This is by far best hotel I've ever stayed in. Would definitely return for future stays. Sleek, modern, luxury hotel with bespoke service. As expected, this is indeed the Best Address in Osaka.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningManLolol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.RegisOsaka, お客様担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
I am honored to read your kindly and detailed comments. It is always pleasure to hear positive comments about our service, which makes us proud of our team members. Having good sleep is essential to have fresh start in the morning, especially during travel. The St. Regis Osaka is offering our original pillow and bed to provide our guest high-quality rest.
Our team members and I will be aiming to provide bespoke service to all of our guests to reach beyond expectation.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Once again, thank you very much for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

2 nights for a week end in Osaka. Very close place to the main shopping area. The hotel is ay high level, warm welcome, and efficient service. Beautiful room, every detail is refined.
Outstanding breakfast with delicious viennoiseries and french croissant.
The concierge might be more efficient and able to share better addresses for diner outside the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.RegisOsaka, お客様担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Stephanie D

I am pleased to hear that you had a great weekend in Osaka and hope you enjoyed Osaka vibe which is slightly different from Tokyo.

Thank you very much for your time and feedback, especially regarding the concierge. Your voice is always important to us. I am terribly sorry that our service didn't match your expectation. Your comment will be shared within team members for further improvement, and we will be able to show improvement at your next visit.
Again, thank you very much for your stay with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

As we checked into the St Regis we were abruptly informed that the hotel was fully booked and only had a smoking room available. Fortunately, we had an email verifying that we had reserved non-smoking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skind0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Skind0c,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at The St. Regis Osaka.

Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused upon check-in. We investigated and found out that there was some miscommunication internally which led to the mistake. I do hope otherwise that you had an enjoyable stay and that this incident will not deter you from visiting us again.

I also take this opportunity to extend to you and your family our very best wishes for the Holiday season.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in - in fact, I would be hard pressed to name better one (only comparable one is Kampinski in Vienna). The rooms are fantastic, the decor is gorgeous, the staff is very friendly and it is in a very good location in Osaka.

My only complaint is it does not have a spa, which is candidly shocking - a hotel this nice needs a place to get a massage and relax. Other than that minor quibble, it is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamLoewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.RegisOsaka, お客様担当マネージャー at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear AdamLoewy

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
It is greatly appreciated that you spent time to share your St. Regis experience with us.
We are honored to have compliments for our facilities and team members. I hope you felt festive feeling during your stay .

Our team members and I are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed as a couple in December 2013. This is a relatively new hotel in Osaka (think only opened for around a year), and is probably the newest among international franchises excluding the Intercontinental. Location is very convenient. It is located directly above the Honmachi subway station via exit 7 and about 10 minutes by cab from the Namba OCAT station. The easiest way to reach the hotel short of taking a cab (which is a little pricey) we found was to take the airport bus from KIX to Namba OCAT (<1hr) and switch to a cab (<10mins). You could also switch to subway at OCAT if you don't have a whole lot of luggage (2 stations)

Rooms are high tech and luxurious as one would expect from St. Regis. We stayed in a standard room on the upper floors. Reasonable size with a small walk-in closet. Bathroom is generously sized featuring a bathtub. The cupboard also features a Nespresso coffee machine for those who need their morning fix.

The hotel has a "butler" service in addition to the lobby-level concierge, which is a specific individual who is assigned to assist with restaurant reservations, recommendations, and theoretically all your touristy needs. We got the hotel's help to book a number of restaurants during our stay. Service was in full - they tracked and reminded us on reservations and provided printouts of basic restaurant contact information. We did not try the hotel's dining facilities so cannot comment much there. For breakfast, there was a Choco Cro across the street, not to mention a multitude of small cafes in the street shopping malls nearby.

The hotel is conveniently located in Honmachi. It basically sits at the very end of a stretch of street malls that start out of Nanba. Theoretically you could walk to the center of Nanba in about 25 minutes or so in a straight line via those street malls. While some might prefer being closer to the action (i.e. Umeda), St. Regis puts you in a quieter and more comfortable setting within reasonable reach of the Umeda station and the Dotonbori area (2-3 subway stations depending where you're trying to reach). Also of note, Osaka castle is about 2 subway stations away plus a bit of walking.

All in all, this was a quality hotel conveniently located and offering full suite of hotel services we needed. For those seeking to be in Umeda proper, you might look to Intercontinental, but we found the St Regis to be in a neighborhood perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notoriouslyFat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Bearfish,,

Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor your comment following your last stay at the St. Regis Osaka.

Your feedback is much appreciated as well as the recommendation you are kindly providing to others travelers. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall. The team and I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#9 of 300 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 300 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Osaka

Property: The St. Regis Osaka
Address: 3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0053, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#1 Family Hotel in Osaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#2 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing