We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very excellent location to stay in Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Ranked #4 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Indonesia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A very excellent location to stay in Osaka”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is the place you should stay when you visit Osaka. The location is very close to Namba station. Very easy to find place to eat, shop and else. We stay three nights and we're happy with the choice because the rate is very reasonable and it has all the amenities even the kitchenette and washing machine and dryer. Breakfast is very simple but ok. The staff is very helpful and I am so thankful because we left the passports at the safety box and they were happy to send them to my next hotel in Tokyo. I will recommend this place to everyone visiting Osaka.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    258
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
384
283
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We loved our stay at the Fraser Residence. The room was large by Japanese standards with a big bed and plenty of space for luggage. It had a little kitchen when you first entered with kettle, microwave, cooker hobs and all the pans, plates, etc. There was also a very swish looking washing machine (you can buy soap powder at reception). Breakfast is served downstairs in the Tapas Restaurant and was very nice too. The only downside was trying to negotiate the evil labrynth of Namba station but I can't level that at the Fraser Residence ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Fraser Residence Nankai truly deserves 5 stars for its location, service and room size.
Location - Its location near Nankai Namba station makes travelling from Kansai Intl airport convenient. My wife and I experienced the peak hour train at 7pm and concluded that we made the right choice. Imagine travelling with 3-4 luggages and having to catch the plane at 11am, this implies we need to move off at 8+am (peak hour period). In addition, it is also near Den Den town and Dotonbori (10 to 15 mins leisure walk)

Service - My wife fell ill during our trip and their staff (Ms Yuko) tried her best to find us a doctor who could speak English. This proved to be a challenge on a Thursday afternoon (14th June) as most English speaking doctors had already left the clinics. Nevertheless, she tried and managed to get us one at 2:30pm.

Room size - It is known to have small and cramp rooms. Yet, the 1 bed room we got was fairly large and we had a good view of Namba Parks and Nankai station.

I will certainly return to this serviced apartment en route to Kyoto in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here for a week and weren't disappointed. The location is fantastic for visitors, right next to Namba railway station. If you get the train from the airport (as we did) then you simply go out through the ticket gate in the station and take the exit on the left. Then you just cross a road and you're there, very simple.
Check-in and out were quick and simple. They even let me bumble through it in my Japanese, which was probably more fun for me than them!
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, and it was just as it appeared on the website. The kitchen and bathroom aren't huge but they work well and were well equipped. The prerequisite electronic toilet was present and correct, as was the snazzy washing machine. This had a built in dryer too, which worked really well for us and allowed us to do washing and get it dry on the last day before we moved on to another city.
There were good instruction guides describing how to use the cable TV and air con, which is often overlooked in Japanese hotels and can cause problems as it's often hard to read the text on the remotes.
One thing worth noting about this hotel is that it's in a pretty busy area and next to an elevated road-way, and we were a little worried that it might be noisy, especially as we were staying on the 4th floor which wasn't particularly high. But this concern turned out to be unfounded as the sound insulation was superb, we never heard any noise from outside, which was awesome.
Other things worth noting, over the road there is a Ramen restaurant called Ippudo. This is a ramen chain with stores in various towns, but has a good reputation and gives a properly authentic ramen experience, with shared seating on large benches. Definitely recommended.
Also since there's a kitchen in the apartment we made use of both the local convenience stores and a supermarket to buy food for dinner. The convenience stores are just to the right as you leave the hotel and offer various ready-made meals which aren't bad (they'll even heat them for you and give you cutlery too, why aren't all convenience stores like this?).
The supermarket is a MaxValue and is about a 10 minute walk away, but well worth a visit if you're feeling adventurous. Again turn right out of the hotel and keep going until there's a foot bridge over a main road. Cross this and continue straight, taking the 4th road on the right to find the supermarket.
The only downside to this hotel which we could think of has already been mentioned on here, which is the breakfast. Yeah, it's pretty average to be honest, and we only tried it once and then bought more interesting stuff elsewhere. Other than that this place was very good, would definitely stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geoffrey_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Booked a room for a night here and it was a great decision. There are lots of shops nearby and also a big shopping centre just next to it and also the Nankai station with the airport express. The check-in was smooth although they did not have a room available yet. However when we came back our luggage was already in the room. The room is just great with everything you need (even your own washing machine) and everything was modern and new. The bathroom might have been a tad small but it was absolutely fine. Also there is free WiFi which is just great as I found this not to be common during my stays in hotels in Japan. If you get a reasonable price I would definitely recommend this hotel and would even pay a premium due to the great location and room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great location, so close to Namba station and the main shopping/ nightlife district. Staff are very friendly and speak english. Rooms are clean and very comfortable - not too small. Free wifi in rooms! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AU-traveller-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,351 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka

Property: Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Address: 1-17-11 Nambanaka, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#11 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first International Serviced Residence in Osaka. Ideally located for business ana leisure, just 2 minites from the airport train staion. Ideal for long term stay as well as short term, from 1 night. Fully equipped with Washing/Dryer machine, Kitchennette, and connected free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Rakuten, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing