We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Actually a small apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
osaka castel  guest apartment osaka castel  guest apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
osaka castel  guest apartment
osaka castel  guest apartment
osaka castel  guest apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
travellig...
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Actually a small apartment”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It feels a bit like you've walked into someone's home and they'll be back soon, wondering why you're in their beds! Not really a guesthouse or inn but actually an apartment on the 12th floor of an apartment block. Easy walking distance to the station, Osaka Castle, the museum and the cherry blossoms with lots of little supermarkets and places to eat nearby.
Make sure you have your mobile phone charged when you get out of the subway as you need to ring Takamoto san so that he can come and get you. He points out places to eat along the way but ask for more details if you want to go to Kura Sushi on the subway! We wandered around for a while until asking a local. Not easy to spot.
Beds are comfy and the shower nice and hot. Balcony filled with Takamoto san's washing. Wifi okay but unstable. One hot plate for cooking. All very clean.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sirddawg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Osaka.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I visited Osaka in May of last year(2013) with one of my friends. I know I'm a little late in writing this review because of my hectic life, but I had to.

This place was perfect to all our needs. 2 beds, a washing machine, wifi, sink, stove, fridge, soaking tub/shower, tv, air conditioning, and a amazing cityscape view.

Takamoto-san is a wealth of information of the area. He will show you places to eat and shop on the walk to the apartment. He even brought us pastries the one day, which was much appreciated.

It is one of the best places to stay regardless of a budget even though it's very affordable.

Once again Takamoto-san, I would like to thank you for making my trip to Osaka one of the most memorable trips I have taken in my life. I hope to come and visit once again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Raymond R
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and service!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the stay! The apartment is close to the city center which is accessible via subway which is a 5 minute walk away: Tanimachi-4chome, exit 3. It was spacious for the 4 of us equipped with wifi and lots of information provided by pamphlets and Takamoto-san himself. He picked us up from the subway exit and walked us to his apartment. He has been nothing but accommodating and welcoming...truly a great host! Everything is nearby from inexpensive restaurants, Osaka Castle, shopping, etc. Truly as spectacular experience and trip that will be well cherished. Hope to visit again soon!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accessibility to center and key points of interests
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimjazz
Vigo, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location to explore Osaka”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We booked our staying in Osaka GuestHouse the night before going there.

The guest house is very good located near to Namba Station and the dotonbori. Remember to call before going there, as there is not such thing as a reception desk.

The room has two twin beds, a TV and a fridge. It is not big, but it is enough for sleeping, The WI-FI works prefectly.

It was a pleasure to know Takamoto-san. He speak real good english, and he recommended us lots of places to go in Osaka. Due to his recommendations we enjoyed Osaka a lot. He also gave us a small gift in the morning we left so we can have brakfast before getting into our next train.

Thank you for everything Tamakoto-san!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The attention of Takamoto-san was very good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy L
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Osaka Guest House”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My family (6 adults) stayed in Osaka Castle Guest House.

All guests would appreciate help provided by Mr Takamoto. He speaks good English. Mr Takamoto has 2 apartments at Osaka Castle Guest House, my husband and I stayed in a studio apartment on 11/F, I would recommended this studio apartment to couples. My other 4 family members stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment on 12/F. It's like having our own apartment at Osaka. Got a homey atmosphere and free wi-fi... but beware of the noise as the apartment is opposited a fire station and a hospital is near by!

The location was quite convenient; it was about 5 minutes walk from Tanimachi 4 Chome (T23) which was a hub subway station for the Tanimachi and Honmachi lines which provide quick access to both Umeda and Namba. The building is about 10 minutes walk from Osaka Castle and Osaka History Museum. I would recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to Osaka.

Tip: Use exit 1A from Tanimachi 4 Chome if carry large suitcases!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value and location
Liked least: the noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen F
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place and Location!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It's like having our own apartment at Osaka. Got a homey atmosphere, place is quite spacey and free wi-fi...

Comfy rooms and accessible to subways, malls, night market and food trips! And also affordable place to stay.

Takamoto-san has been accommodating to all our queries before the trip, he also arranged to pick-up as at namba station upon arrival 1st day at osaka, gave good tips on where to eat and showed us how to understand that subway trains...

Will definitely come back to stay in this place and recommend to friends as well...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$25
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing