We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet, economical and central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Ranked #83 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sweet, economical and central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Make sure to get a double twin room, for $30 more than the single, and you won't be sorry. The room size is important. This is not the 4 Seasons by any means, but if you are on a budget it is very clean, has all you need and the service is extremely courteous and efficient. There are little fridges in the rooms and a very good local market at the end of the street about 2 blocks away where you can shop like the locals. The location is chock-a-block with restaurants and shops, many of them excellent, and is about 2 blocks from the massive covered shopping street Shinsai bashi suji which goes on for miles and is packed with shops, and another block to Mido Suji which is a very classy wide boulevard with fancy department stores and a high rise Apple Store.
The hotel offers a Japanese style breakfast which is nothing fancy but just fine. We came from the Peninsula Hotel in Tokyo, where we splurged, and while you could fit the entire singleroom at the Comfort Hotel within the walk-in closet at the amazing Peninsula, this place costs a tiny fraction of that and you get more of a flavor of what it is really like to live here. Very happy we came and would come again. Oh and one more thing, there is a nice sushi restaurant downstairs which is also quite reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billeeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    136
    60
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
43
56
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

This is in a great location. As a female travelling alone, this was perfect! not far from the tube, restaurants, shops etc. I highly recommend this purely on location. Rooms are small but function very well.

I stayed here on both visit's to Osaka.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WizzingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

This hotel is a typical 3-star business hotel and located close to Namba station - about 15-20 min walking distance (with luggage; the hotel mentions 10 min which is defintely underestimated) and 5 min from Shinsaibashi underground station. The athmospere is a bit "motel-like". There are lot (!) of restaurants & shops in this area.

Our room was tiny (normal size for Japan) but the interior was quite new. Free WLAN is provided. (Simple) breakfast is included too.

I rate this hotel with 4 points especially for a quite "modern" athmosphere, a good value for money and it's location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuckerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

On a trip through Japan my husband and I stayed here our very first night in the land of the rising sun. It's *fairly* easy to find, and in a great location just off the Shinsaibashi arcades, near shopping and restaurants. The staff was nice and had good English, and there was a free breakfast included.

Okay, the bathroom was a lot like one on an airplane (with a shower thrown in), and the bedroom is like a very shabby dorm room, but it's cheap and in a nice location. It worked well for us to stay here briefly before moving on (to the Cross Hotel). Don't expect much, and then this will just be a cheap place to crash amidst exploring. Osaka itself was great! We saw sumo, the aquarium, Osaka-Jo, and had some seriously yummy food.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate_portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days/2 nights. Our hotel room was small, like most Japanese hotel rooms, however there was more than enough room for 2 big suitcases etc. The room was very clean and the staff were quite friendly.

The hotel is located very close to shops, pubs and lots of eateries. It's only a very short walk to Americo Muro.

The only issue we had was that we had problems with our air conditioning in the room and no one could help us try and figure out how to work the room controls.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

This hotel was perfect for our trip. The staff were lovely and so helpful. We were travelling with a 1 year old and they really catered to our needs. There is a washer/dryer in the hotel which was very convenient and location wise it is perfect. I have no problem recommending the hotel. The beds were very generous for a twin room. My sister advised that the double beds were the same size as a single in the twin room. The noise levels were the only issue as you can hear a pin drop in the next room.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

We stayed in a semi-double room at the comfort hotel Shinsaibashi in November 2008 and it was by far our favourite hotel of the trip. You could not get a better location for the hotel- just 2 minutes walk to Shinsaibashi, one endless strip of shopping, entertainment and dining. The room was clean with capsule bathroom and spacious enough for 2 people to stay comfortably, including a desk and chair along one wall, LCD tv and small bar fridge. Although small, the capsule bathroom was clean and had a modern japanese toilet. The whole hotel is impeccably clean and room service came every day. Hotel staff spoke some english and were friendly, helpful and polite. On our last day they even held our luggage after check-out. Our only complaint was that the hotel was centrally heated for winter and the air-conditioning could not be turned onto cooler air during one unusually warm night, so we had to open the window and had a few mosquitoes fly in :(

Breakfast at the comfort hotel was varied with an assortment of japanese and western foods. These included onigiri (cold japanese rice balls), fruit salad packs, yoghurt, assorted pastries and croisssants, orange juice, tea and coffee.

Some reviewers expressed difficulty in finding the hotel although we didn't experience any trouble. From JR umeda station, catch the midosuji (red) "M" subway line from M16 (the subway line interconnects with the main JR station) to M19. From the Shinsaibashi subway station (red M line), take the exit up a ramp with Daimaru department store on your right (i think it was exit 6), turn right and walk down the main shopping strip for 2 blocks. At the traffic lights, take a left-hand turn and continue walking straight for 3 blocks (past 3 intersecting streets). You will pass a convenience store on your right as you walk down. If you pass a convenience store on your left you have walked a little too far. Comfort hotel is on the corner with the third intersecting street with a small sign on the curb. If you get lost, the address is "1-15 Higashishinsaibashi, Chuo-ku". Write this down and point to the address and ask "sumimasen- kono jyusho wa doko des ka?"(excuse me, where is this address?) Or say, "sumimasen, comfort hoteru shinsaibashi wa doko des ka?" (where is the comfort hotel shinsaibashi?). Leaving Osaka, we chose to just walk the kilometre or so with our suitcases to the JR station so that we didn't have to wheel our luggage up and down stairs. As the shopping strip is flat this posed no problems and was easier as we then knew our way around shinsaibashi.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nishitetsu Inn Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#27 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Ibis Styles Osaka
Ibis Styles Osaka
#62 of 296 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi

Property: Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Address: 1-15-15 Higashi-Shinsaibashi Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0083, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing