We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Osaka
Ranked #15 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have upgraded to castle view suite, the room is great and the view is wonderful. Besides, service is good, staff is very helpful. Only one thing is the room humility is too dry, if air con can make air less dry will be perfect. Overall is very good, I will choose this hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    431
    110
    30
    13
See reviews for
328
240
129
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This has been constantly my hotel when I go on a biz trip due to location to my office.
Overall feeling is pleasant and all staff are polite and courteous.
One odd observation - this is the only hotel where I see female porters. I wondered how man (as stronger gender) allows woman to carry their heavy bags...
Another observation. This is one hotel where they seemed to switch off air con during cold season. I checked in 23 Mar and I commented that room was warm. I was told to off air con and open the window! This is ok even though my room was near the nearby station and it could be quite noisy.
Location is good... Close to Osaka castle as well as train stations.
Hotel reception and surrounding open areas are spacious ...
Room is clean.
Free Wifi is added plus.
Overall, very good!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HildaLim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a non smoking room but when we arrived there were none left. However, upon saying that this was not acceptable ( we had booked a long time in advance) we were immediately upgraded to a junior suite. It was AMAZING! Roomy, comfortable and with a great view of the castle. We loved the location being so near to the park, castle and metro. Only 10 minutes to Umeda and Osaka station yet really peaceful surroundings for strolling. Helpful and friendly staff, good facilities- including pools, in room wifi and a great cake shop. (Note, non smoking rooms are rare in Japan as is free wifi.) We would love to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AsiaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 March 2014

everything was superlative,kindness,profesionality,warmth. castle facing you will make you believe you a are a real prince, and believe me you are treated likewise.nearby loop train station makes it easier to travel around osaka. don't miss it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for the 1st time on business - previously used the Hilton near Shin Osaka. Nice place with spacious rooms (great view - i overlooked the Osaka castle park). If you like to take some exercise the castle grounds are great - also interesting to explore whilst getting some fresh air. I found the restaurants expensive so ate outside - interesting Indian restaurant (Jay) around 8 mins walk away that served decent food at reasonable prices for when you are sushi'd out, otherwise not a huge choice of restaurants. Would have liked to use the gym but there is a significant cost for doing so.

Breakfast was ok - nothing special - note that New Otani Club members get a significant discount so worth signing up.

Reasonable price of around 160USD per room per night via their website. Overall I recommend this place as I prefer to be out of town centres with some chance for fresh air on the dootstep.

Room Tip: Overlooking the castle grounds - sometimes special promo deals available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked the hotel as somewhere cheap and close to a subway station. When we walked in I almost had a feeling of being under dressed, not that the staff seemed to notice. The room was large and not just by Japanese standards, I have stayed in much smaller rooms elsewhere.
The staff were extremely friendly, attentive and helpful and even booked a restaurant for its in Tokyo which was our next stop.
The bathroom was functional with a shower over the bath tub.
Great bed.
Good views from the room overlooking osaka castle were nice.
The only minor criticism of this hotel is the price of food and drinks, there are plenty of options within a 2 minute walk, however we would like to have had a reasonably priced option in the hotel.
I will be looking to stay here again when next in Osaka.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel last May. We got a coach from Osaka airport directly to the hotel (I think it cost around £10). The hotel is very smart, and the staff very helpful- I forgot to post some postcards and left them with them and they posted them for me. We stayed in a suit overlooking the castle, and it was luxury. It is only a few minutes walk from the train station and the castle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#52 of 298 in Osaka
1,337 reviews
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#7 of 298 in Osaka
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
1,293 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Osaka

Property: Hotel New Otani Osaka
Address: 1-4-1 Chuo-ku Shiromi, Osaka 540-8578, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Osaka
#10 Family Hotel in Osaka
#10 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#15 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Otani Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New Otani Osaka is facing the verdant expanse of Osaka Castle and Park, yet offers an easy access to the city center as well as major visitors sites in Kyoto, Nara and Himeji. Its naturally lit four-storey Atrium Lobby immediately lets the guests know their stay will be a special one. Impeccable service and stylish comfort assure top quality accommodation as well as a personal satisfaction for every guest. From your room, enjoy a "Royal View" of Osaka Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Otani Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Osaka
Osaka New Otani Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing