We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka(Osaka)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$312
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,551)
Filter reviews
3,551 results
Traveller rating
2,011
1,167
235
84
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,011
1,167
235
84
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswiss advantage roomtrain stationkansai airporttakashimaya department storeexcellent locationpillow menuconvenient locationnamba parksnespresso machinejunior suitetop flooreasy accessthe executive loungewalking distancethe hotel staffhotel is locatedkuromon market
Filter
Updating list...
1,742 - 1,747 of 3,551 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Good service, very efficient, and very short waits. I have no complaints. Got a room upgrade when we arrived, and I only found out because we wanted to change the room, not because of any fault on the hotel's end, but because of my partner's needs. Air Conditioning however, was occasionally too warm and there was no visible way to change the temperature setting that actually affected the temperature. Great location.

Definitely slightly disappointing that use of spa facilities required payment, even though those facilities that were traditionally not for pay. Also the hotel is currently undergoing renovation, and at the time, the restaurant at the top of the hotel was closed, which was quite disappointing. All in all, given the price and location I cannot complain. However, I did expect a little more, even if it was merely a traditional business hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teaearlgreyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review and choosing Swissôtel Nankai for your home away from home in Osaka. We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay but feel very sorry, that we were not able to provide you with the full facilities during your stay due to urgent renovation work. As we have many guests who like to book a room without using all our facilities, we offer certain budget products for these special needs. It is very unfortunate, that you did not realize during the booking process, that you have booked one of our budget product and we certainly will look into ways to further improve the way of showing this more clearly to our guests when they booking our hotel. Hopefully you will have the opportunity return to Osaka and then will stay with Swissôtel Nankai again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I traveled with my colleague for team building, we choose Swisshotel not only for its good brand, also for its good location. It is very easy to take any subway or JR train, near the shopping area. Its really worth the price!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Ting Ting M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka for your team building with your colleagues. We are very happy to hear, that you had a pleasant stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka in the not too distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here with our family of 2 children. The place is very centrally located at the Namba station. From thereon you can very easily move around town. Nearby you are in the middle of a lively district with great restaurants, both in the mall as well as in the surrounding neighborhood. Staff is very kind and helpful. Rooms are comfortable with good views. Only minor point was the over rigid pool hours for children. Children can only swim between 09h00 - 11h00 and 15h00 - 17h00, which is not really helpful when you are with children. Particularly not when considering you still have to pay a substantial entry fee, which was quite uncommon for us as Europeans. We have seen such restrictive measures for children more often Japan though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while staying in Osaka with your family. We are very happy to hear that you find our hotel a great home base for discovering Osaka which certainly it is with all the major trains and subways just stopping right beneath our hotel. We are sorry to hear that the hours for children to use the pool were not suitable for you and apologize for the inconvenience for these restrictions. As the pool is shared with a private members club, we certainly will look into this issue with our partners in order to find a more flexible solution. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return back to Japan and will stay with Swissôtel Nankai Osaka again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent a week in Osaka and stayed at the Swissotel. We had flown in from Seoul and took the train from the Osaka airport right to the hotel, which is built directly above the Nankai train station....very convenient and easy. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are also very nice although a bit on the small side. The location is really good and is close to the Subway and Japan Railway Namba station.
The restaurant prices in the hotel are quite expensive and it would be very costly to eat there all the time. However there are many reasonably priced restaurants in the area, including McDonalds.
My wife and I did have lovely 6 course meal in the hotel's Empress Room restaurant.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be nice
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66scottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka during your visit in the land of the rising sun. We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us as well that you did enjoy your 6 course menu in our Chinese Empress Room Restaurant. Hopefully you will be able to visit Osaka again and we would love to see you stay with Swissôtel Nankai as well in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic since it is near Namba station. This means that we can go anywhere conveniently. Also, at the deck of the hotel is the Italian Resterant and bar with a spectacular view. However, the size of the toom is not that impressive.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisit1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and we are very pleased to read, that you have enjoyed the location of Swissôtel Nankai while staying in Osaka as well the our top floor Italian Restaurant and Bar with the spectacular view over the city. We apologize, that the room size was not suitable for you and if you have the opportunity to retuning to Osaka and like to stay with Swissôtel Nankai again, we recommend checking out our home page for our different room types which offer various sizes to meet every traveler’s expectation. Hopefully you can return to Japan and Osaka again in the future and will as well stay with Swissôtel Nankai again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews