We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #8 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel on the 23rd floor.

Best bit was the room itself which was modern, spacious and clean. The location is also brilliant!

Currently a 9/10!

To be a 10, I think the breakfast could be improved by offering more variety,perhaps more hot dishes, not necessarily of the typical breakfast type. Many hotels these days have noodle, curry, hot vegetable dishes in their breakfast buffet. It also took quite a bit of time to be seated.

Also, I think they could be a bit more generous with towels in the room. We had one each, but if you take a shower in the evening before you go out and want to take a shower when you get back, your towel is still very damp. Lastly, it would have been nice to have a greater selection of teabags (maybe offer some chamomile or caffeine free ones).

Although, I have mentioned these points, I do just want to say that this hotel is top notch, and I would stay here again if we ever come back to Osaka.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaipeiVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation and posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that the room you stayed and our convenient location provided you with an almost perfect stay. Also, we have taken notes of your highlights regarding room products and breakfast offerings. Your feedback was immediately shared with our management for future reference. Thank you very much once again and we are hoping you will have a chance to visit Osaka soon again so we can welcome you back for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    1,019
    199
    73
    43
See reviews for
1,277
809
164
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The doors opened and ...wow! in the foyer were the guest washroom and the large cloakroom. The executive suite is a pleasant welcome to my trip here. It came with ample lighting in each and every part of the suite. The suite offers the large unobstructed view of the southeastern part of the city from the 2 large windows in the living and dining rooms on the 34th floor. These two rooms were happily wedded to each other letting you relax watching TV or having food bought from the Takashimaya department store directly underneath the hotel. Having a get-together with buddies in the early evening and enjoying the view is an absolute delight.

The bedroom had 2 double beds giving us the best sleep, and with a large bathroom and vanity area on the side. The separate shower stall (from the jacuzzi) was the one I used and the complimentary amenities were standard. the cloakroom next to the vanity stored the clothes and had a safe deposit box fitting my MacBookAir, which is so cool. On quieter nights I could work on my Mac while taking a break watching TV on an adjustable platform - the same in the bedroom! If I should pick on the suite, I would say more channels could be available (more Japanese channels) compared with those in other hotels. The breakfast in the Executive Lounge was a welcome mix of western and Japanese cuisines.

SImply put, pay more for the extra comfort...it's like returning home.

Room Tip: the executive suite ...if you need extra space for meeting friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Percy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and sharing with us your kind feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that our hotel facilities and the room you stayed provided you with a pleasant staying experience. Also, we appreciate your highlight regarding our TV channel selections and please feel assured that it has been shared with our management for our future reference. Once again, your kind comment is very much appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hongkong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

It is the first time for me and my husband stay in Swissotel Nankai. In addition to the convenient location , we are deeply impressed by the great and detailed service provided by the associate there. I was under the impression that the team is very well trained, now I did experience it. Mr Seita is particularly friendly, he not only answers all our questions patiently, he even can anticipate our needs on wifi connection and the shopping trip we are going to make. I highly recommend the hotel to those who expect top notch service and looking for someone who can speak fluent English in Japan!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlywai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing positive review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you found our services, especially ones from Concierge team, were impressive and recommendable. Since guest satisfaction is always our priority, we are very pleased to read you had a pleasant staying experience. Thank you very much once again for your heartwarming comment toward us and we are indeed looking forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located at one of the major transport interconnection point. It takes only several minutes walk to the most prosperous shopping area. Customer services is quite impressive. In general, this hotel is value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest, we greatly appreciate your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka. We are very pleased to read that our services and the convenient location provided you with a satisfactory staying experience. We will continuously make efforts to increase guests' satisfaction and we are sincerely looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though it was only for six days. The excellent service began before we left Perth. I had emailed to confirm our booking and to ask for directions to the hotel. The concierge was very prompt in reply and also gave us clear instructions on how to take the train from the airport. The hotel is located above the train station as well as being above the Takashimaya shopping centre. We were very impressed with all their staff, particularly the concierge and the staff on the Executive Club ( I think her name is Nakao?). The room was very clean, big and had excellent amenities - the Nespresso machine was an added bonus! It was worth spending a bit extra for the executive level as the extra attention was very welcomed!

Room Tip: Executive club is worth the extra cost - buffet breakfast, afternoon tea, drinks and evening nibbles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat1566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for posting such a heartwarming review on Trip Advisor and choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation. We are very happy to hear that you found our services and products excellent. Your kind comment is a certainly great source of motivation for our team members. Our guests' satisfaction is very important to us and we will continuously make efforts to provide fantastic staying experience. Thank you very much once again and we truly look forward to welcoming you back for another "excellent" stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

What an experience! The hotel staff met us (group) at the underground station and guided us to the hotel which has the lobby in the 7th floor of the station building. Beautiful rooms with every comfort. Perfect service and the breakfast at the Sky Bar in the 36th floor was an experience on its own. Not only the breathtaking view of Osaka but also the buffet where on our last day in Japan we found european style bread for a change. Pity Japan is so far, we would like to come there again and stay at the Swissotel. Thank you for this experience

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear guest, we greatly appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka. We are very glad to read that you were satisfied with our services and the room you stayed. In addition, we are happy to hear that you had an excellent breakfast experience in the sky of Osaka. Your kind comment is very much appreciated and we hope that you will have a chance to visit Osaka again so we can welcome you to provide another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just above the Nanba station is the Swissotel. It's a large building that you can see from far away and you won't miss it. It is working distance from famous restaurant/shopping area called Dotonbori. The room was very luxurious with a great view

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aoh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai during your stay in Osaka and posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that the room you stayed and the view from there provided you with a good staying experience. Your kind comment is very much appreciated and we are truly looking forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#28 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#23 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and TravelUp so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing