We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is almost as at home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #8 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hanau
1 review
“This is almost as at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is the most amazing Hotel I have ever been (I am traveling a lot). The staff is perfectly friendly and acting professional, the qualtiy of everything (room, food, ...) is jsut unbelievable. This Hotel is ticking such as a Swiss watch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation and posting kind feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to read that you had an amazing staying experience because of our services and products. As guest satisfaction is always our top priority, we will continue to strive for further enhancement of guests comfort. We greatly appreciate your positive note and truly look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    1,019
    199
    73
    43
See reviews for
1,277
809
164
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Concierge service and room conditions excellent. Concierge went the extra miles to secure popular eating places for us. However, facilities (swimming pool, gym, sauna) were a tad too expensive though. These facilities should be provided free for hotel guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing positive review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that our concierge team was able to provide you with excellent assistance and left you with a good impression. In addition, we are glad to know that our room you stayed was able to meet your expectation as well.

We have taken note of your highlight regarding our facility charges. Please kindly be advised that we have various room categories; Swiss Executive and Suite rooms include complementary access to the facilities (swimming pool, gym and sauna) in the room rate. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next stay and we will make sure to recommend you a room type that fits your needs and preferences. Thank you very much once again for your valuable comment and we are hoping to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed 1 night in Swissotel Nankai. It is located just above Namba Station, which means you have no hassle of walking and searching for your hotel when you arrive at Namba Station from the airport.

In addition, the subway station is just within short walking distance from the basement level of Namba City. Great shopping options within walking distance from the hotel: Namba City just below the hotel; Ebisubashi and Shinsaibashi Sheltered shopping streets, and Dotonbori.

The hotel staff provides top quality service and are also friendly. Kudos to the bell captains: They provide great service with a friendly smile.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest, we greatly appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the services from our friendly team members. In addition, we hope that our convenient location helped you have a pleasant staying experience. Once again, your kind comment is very much appreciated and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel for five days during our visit to Japan. We picked this location because it is very convenient to all train lines in the Osaka area. We visited family on the Nankai line and took the subway lines to everywhere else connecting to the JR lines. We were able to easily get to Osaka Castle for the Osaka Marathon when I ran and to Intex Osaka for the expo. We also visited USJ and commuted easily to Kansai and Itami airports. The rooms are spacious and more than accommodated my family (two small children and my husband) and I. I met with clients in the lobby and enjoyed the short distances we walked to get to everything we could possibly need. We were very fortunate to have picked the perfect hotel. Stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanoshegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that our convenient location and the room you stayed provided you with a satisfactory staying experience. Thank you very much for your compliment and seeing our hotel as the perfect hotel. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back once again for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located above Namba station which gives you direct access to many subway lines. It is also right down the street from major attractions such as Dotombori. The rooms were nice and clean. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend to visitors.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Houstontraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing positive review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and you found our team members extremely helpful and friendly. Since guest satisfaction is always our priority, we are glad to read that you would recommend our hotel to visitors. Thank you very much once again for your kind comment and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Located 50m from the Nankai railway station, we traveled from Osaka Int'l airport with 4 luggage bags & 3 kids with ease. Takashimaya shopping center is connected next to the hotel. The subway & JR lines are located at basement & 5th floor connection from the hotel. Lots of food places right across the street from the hotel & walking distance to shopping district Dontomburi. The room was super spacious for a Japanese hotel property. Our kids took the 32nd floor Executive Club rooms which came with free breakfast on the 33rd floor Executive Club lounge. Breakfast had both western & japanese servings. The bathroom was large. Free internet & wifi available in room. If you like specials, head down to Takashimaya's basement after 7pm for 30% discount bargains on japanese food & confectionery. If you need a burger fix, McDonalds is just 50m from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fwlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting kind feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that the room type and what were offered in the room you stayed were able to meet your expectation. Thank you very much for your positive highlight and we look forward to serving you once again in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Swissotel Nankai Osaka. We could not fault the experience whatsoever. If you're looking for an amazing hotel that's right in the heart of all the incredible action that Osaka offers, don't go past staying here, in Namba.
The service on offer at the hotel was first rate and english was widely spoken (unlike a lot of Osaka). It is very easy to arrive at the Swissotel Nankai Osaka, if travelling from Kansai Airport. Spend a little bit extra and get the Rapit service which takes approximately 40 minutes direct. There is no need to change trains. You will arrive at Namba station and only walk 2 minutes until you find the hotel entrance on your left as you exit the station. Namba itself has close proximity to incredible eating and shopping spots and only a few minutes walk to all the exciting action in Dotombori. We would not hesitate to stay at the Swissotel Nankai Osaka again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellymac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation and posting very positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy to learn that our services and the convenient location provide you with an amazing staying experience. As guest satisfaction is always our top priority, we will continuously make efforts to further increase our guests comfort. We greatly appreciate your kind comment and sincerely hope to welcome you back for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#27 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#24 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing