We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel especially for city and Kix airport access” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #8 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel especially for city and Kix airport access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Very good overall quality, service is excellent and rooms are good. Namba Parks and City Mall are adjacent, so great for shops, restaurants etc. Subways are below hotel in Nakai Namba station, which also has a direct express train to Osaka Kansai (Kix) airport and the hotel staff will take your luggage down, help you buy the ticket and load your luggage onto the rain as part of he service.
The price is best booked in advance on their website, as otherwise can be a bit high however overall best for Osaka Namba area.

Room Tip: Access from Shin-Osaka best to take the Red Line subway to Namba station, get off and walk all the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcbaz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and writing such a positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant staying experience due to our services and luggage assistance. In order to maintain and increase guests' satisfaction, we will make sure to keep striving for further improvement. Your kind comment is greatly appreciated and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    1,019
    199
    73
    43
See reviews for
1,277
809
164
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had a great experience at Swissotel. Great view of the city while dining on the top floor. Food is ok. Accessible to shinsaibashi and sennichimae shopping district and subway station. No free facilities and wifi though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank berlking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant time at Tavola 36, in the sky of Osaka.
As for our internet services, please kindly be advised that we offer room categories that guests can enjoy the complimentary Wireless Access in the entire hotel. All our Swiss Advantage, Executive and Suite rooms have internet included in the room rate. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next stay and we will make sure to recommend you a room type including a complimentary Wi-Fi high speed internet access. Thank you very much once again for your valuable comment and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Good location as it is located just above Nankai station. Good connectivity for travellers especially family with young children. Easy transfer from Kansai Airport by the Nankail rail, subway stations are all within walking distance underground. Room is clean and comfortable. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Upon check out, he staff accompanied us to purchase the return train ticket to Kansai airport, helped to send our luggage down to the train platform. it was definitely a hotel with good service and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

We are very pleased to read that you found our team members very friendly and helpful. Our goal is to provide excellent customer service and a welcoming environment at all times for our guests. We are therefore glad to know that our efforts were positively recognized in your review. We will continue on striving for guest satisfaction and truly look forward to serving you again in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Club floor service excellent
Concierge excellent eg Ms Mori even booked USO tickets for us using the local language web
Location superb be it from airport or day trips to Nara, Kyoto etc
Testament to my experience is that many fellow country men staying here also

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for posting your fantastic review and choosing Swissôtel Nankai during your stay in Osaka. Along with the convenient location for many activities, we are very happy to learn that our services from concierge and Executive Club Lounge were able to make your stay excellent. Your kind comment is very much appreciated and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Swisshotel Nankai Osaka
We stayed here for 5 nights in November. This is a large 36 storey 548 room 5* star hotel above Nankai Namba station. We took the Shinkansen from Tokyo arriving at Shin-Osaka station. From there you can take the Midosuji subway line to Namba station (¥270 - go out exit 4-a bit of a hike if you are carrying large suitcases) or alternatively you can take a 30 minute taxi ride (about ¥3000). Take the lift to reception on the 6th floor. Rooms are from 14F~34F.
We stayed in a Swiss executive room - nonsmoking floor (32~34F) with access to the executive lounge on 33F. Check in was quick & simple. Because of its elevation and the fact it's not surrounded by other high rise buildings, I would guess most rooms have a nice city view.
There is a very small walk space outside the rooms which appears to be an emergency exit - which is accessed by a lever below the window (one of the strangest things I have seen in a hotel room).
The room is a good size about 32 m2 with a view of the the city. Our room had twin beds (king singles from my guess) and a selection of pillows. The room had a single armchair & a small table. Well equipped desk with an adapter. Wi fi was free. The TV was a 32" Sharp flatscreen (CNN, BBC etc). Daily newspaper (Japan Times).
Iron and ironing board available. Good news - Nepresso machine.
The marble bathroom was also well equipped. Heated Toto toilet bidet. Shower over the bath (hand held and a rain shower). Pureva toiletries. Free mineral water.
The other room types are Premier Rooms (22-34m2), Swiss Advantage Rooms (22-34m2), Japanese Executive Rooms (26m2) as well as the Swiss Executive (32-45m2) and the suites.
Please note - Wi fi is not free for the Premier Rooms but is for the other types.
The Purovel Spa & Sports (gym and pool / sauna / jacuzzi are on the 11th floor and are complimentary for executive floors but I don't think spa therapy is free Impressive gym with steppers, bikes, cross trainers, 5 treadmills, weights and weight machines plus an aerobic studio. The indoor pool was about 25 metres and had 3 lanes. Perfect for gym junkies.
The executive club lounge (recently renovated) is open 7-10am for breakfast on 33F - food include bacon, sausages, you can also order eggs cooked the way you like (just ask the hostess). As well as the usual juices, salads, breads and pastries. Asian choices include miso soup, congee, white rice and a small selection of Japanese foods. Push button coffee maker. Also evening snacks & alcoholic beverages from 5.30~7.30pm and the lounge closes at 9pm.Other benefits of being in an executive room are complimentary local calls, 1 hour use of business centre meeting room and also late checkout to 2pm (subject to availability).
There are 6 hotel restaurants at the hotel, none of which we went to as there are so many food outlets in the surrounding area. There is a Takashimaya Department Store and a OIOI nearby. Check out the amazing Xmas lights at another shopping mall - Namba Parks.

Pros: convenient 5* hotel above Namba station & surrounding areas
Cons: decor a bit dated but nice views and great gym and pool.
Would I stay here again: Yes
We visited: 1) Osaka Castle: Subway Midosuji (red) line to Hommachi then transfer to Subway Chuo line to Morinomiya. 2) Dotonburi 3) Osaka Aquarium: Subway Midosuji line to Hommachi then transfer to Subway Chuo line to Osakako 4) Umeda Sky Building: Subway Midosuji line to Umeda.

Room Tip: Go for the Swiss Executive Rooms for high floors and great breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and sharing your experiences through your valuable and detailed feedback. We are very happy to read and see how much you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. In order to maintain and increase guests' satisfaction, we will make sure to keep striving for further improvement. We truly appreciate your kind comments and look forward to serving you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

very good location for shopping and eatery , friendly staff and big room size ( we stayed at Advantage room) . Hotel is just above the Namba Nankai Station where you can take the direct train service from Kansai Airport to Namba. A short 5 mins walk to Namba subway for connection to Kyoto , Nagoya , Universal Studios etc. Do check with the friendly receptionist for subway direction , they will guide you accordingly. Overall , we are very pleased with our stay at this hotel , and i will recommend this to anyone wish to travel to Osaka.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Tai Wei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and writing your feedback kindly on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to learn that you found our team members friendly and that you like the room you stayed. Thank you very much for loving our hotel and all your positive comments. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is the most amazing Hotel I have ever been (I am traveling a lot). The staff is perfectly friendly and acting professional, the qualtiy of everything (room, food, ...) is jsut unbelievable. This Hotel is ticking such as a Swiss watch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation and posting kind feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to read that you had an amazing staying experience because of our services and products. As guest satisfaction is always our top priority, we will continue to strive for further enhancement of guests comfort. We greatly appreciate your positive note and truly look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#28 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#23 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, TravelUp, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK) and Ctrip TA so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing