We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Couldn't have stay in a better hotel in Osaka. Swissotel offers all we need, style, service, atmosphere, location. The hotel is very convenient, sit right above the Nankai station, easy access to shops and main walking streets. We did not try the breakfast as the area are so close to street full of restaurants! overall its a 10/10 for this hotel and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sakon_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and writing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to read that our hotel offered you everything you need and that you had a perfect stay with us.
As guests' satisfaction is our top priority, please rest assured that we will definitely keep striving for guests' comfort continuously to enhance guests' experience at our hotel.
Thank you very much for your kind note once again and we indeed look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,265)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Nankai Osaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,332 of 3,265 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Amazing! Great location and outstanding service
Would def stay there again. Waking distance to all food and shopping. Connected to train station to Kansai airport and also connected to other subways and takashimaya

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and posting a great review on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to read that you think our service is outstanding and that our hotel location is convenient for your trip.
In order to provide our valuable guests with pleasant staying experience, we will definitely continue on making our best efforts for our guests' satisfaction.
Your kind note is greatly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to serving you again in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to everything fun in Osaka. Plenty of places to eat & drink around hotel, great shopping, easy hotel access. Room clean and comfortable, but we were on holiday so only in room for rest. Note for travelers, the train station under hotel is not a JR station (rail pass), the closest JR station is a 10 minute (easy) walk.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank temple_of_gloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and writing a positive review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to learn that our hotel location helped you to enjoy your time in Osaka conveniently and that our room was up to your expectation.
Please rest assured that we will keep striving for guests' comfort continuously to enhance guests' experience at our hotel.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our room was dusty and really in need of a good cleaning. At the hot water kettle cupboard, when the overhead light is turned on, dust can be seen floating about. On the day of check in, there was dust on the kettle and the counter top. A layer of dust was also visible on the small coffee table by the window.

Take whatever the staffs tell you with a pinch of salt. At check in, when we were brought to our room, I tested the lights. Two of the lights were not working and the bell boy told us that they were emergency lights and only lit up when there is an emergency. Strangely, on the 2nd day, these 'emergency lights' were working fine and remained working the rest of our stay. The hotel gives me the impression that they are trying to cut down on the electricity bills as several light bulbs were obviously removed from the ceiling and hence, the room wasn't brightly lighted. The inside of the kettle was dirty and we had to give it a big wash. Housekeeping, you should thank us for doing your job!

Two bottles of mineral water are provided per day but you have to call Housekeeping to ask for it. I don't understand why they wouldn't just put two bottles of water everyday and save everyone the trouble. To get extra tips for bring up the water? Maybe. Otherwise, I couldn't fathom the purpose of making the staff do the extra work.

On check out, there was one queue and it serves both check in and check out. It was confusing as staffs who were welcoming guests were not aware of the check out queue and so there was queue cutting. I was told by one male staff that American Express does not operate 24 hours and since it was Saturday, there was no way that he could call the office to verify my credit card transaction. Finally, another female staff told me that yes, American Express does operate 24/7.

Accessing the hotel from Namba Station is not as direct as you need to take the lift from the plaza, then the escalator to reach the hotel lobby.

Now, even though the hotel is located at Namba station, it is Umeda station that is the more convenient station as there are more railways/subways. You almost need to change at Umeda to go to most places except of course the famous Dotombori street and the Kurumon Market as these places are about 10-15 minutes' walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PALMS4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nanka your home away from home during your stay in Osaka.

We have taken note of your highlight regarding the cleanliness in the room you stayed and would like to sincerely apologize to you for any discomfort caused. Your experience is definitely not what we wish to extend to our guests nor is expected from a hotel of our caliber. I have personally reinstructed our Executive Housekeeper to make sure all our guestrooms and room products are thoroughly cleaned and checked before welcoming our valuable guests. Additionally, we feel very sorry about inconvenience upon your inquiry. We will certainly reinforce the staff training in order to avoid the reoccurrence of this matter.
Please feel free to contact us for your next stay. We would like to make our best efforts to provide you with a better staying experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great location, inside Namba station and 10 mins to Dotonburi (heart of Osaka). Comfortable room. Enormous bed. Good views. Price is higher than the average hotel but worth it. Only grip was the internet is expensive (but you can get free wifi at the info centre in Namba station).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ashe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and posting a kind review on Trip Advisor.
We are very glad to learn that you think our room and bed are spacious and comfortable. As for our internet service, please kindly be advised that we offer various room categories and all our Swiss Advantage, Executive and Suite rooms have internet included in the room rate. Accordingly our guests can enjoy the complimentary Wireless Access in the entire hotel. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next stay and we will make sure to recommend you a room type that fits your needs and preferences. Once again, thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Maybe due to my prepaid lower room rate, I was assigned to a room with elevator noise. It was horrible! Though my room was eventually changed to a better one, NO ONE apologized for all the inconvenience caused. Response to my complaint was also slow. Took almost an hour from my complaint till I was assigned a new room. Otherwise, room, locations and facilities were up to par.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank kwp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home.

We would like to sincerely apologize to you for any inconvenience caused regarding the elevator noise. As guest's comfort is very important to us, we feel very sorry that we were not able to immediately rectify the situation due to the hotel full occupancy. Please rest assured that your feedback has been immediately shared with the appropriate members of our management and we will certainly keep on making our best efforts for guests' satisfaction.

Once again, please accept our apology and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent care combined with superior infrastructures. A "must" for me in occasion of future visits to Osaka. Strongly reccommended for business trip as well as vacations. Executive club floor is awsome!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and posting an excellent review on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us and that you would like to recommend our hotel for both business and leisure occasions.
In order to provide our valuable guests with pleasant and enjoyable staying experience all the time, please rest assured that we will continuously make our best efforts.
We greatly appreciate your kind feedback and indeed look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 322 in Osaka
1,401 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 322 in Osaka
1,933 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 322 in Osaka
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: £137 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing