We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saving the best for our last night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our last night in Osaka. Most convenient to take the nankai train to KIK (Yen920). Just take the escalator down 2 floors and you are already at the station. Rain or shine - you'll make your airport train on time. Get the train schedule from the Nankai station info counter a day before.. Rooms are simply marvelous with the best views of Osaka glittering skyline at night. Room is the largest we have seen in japan. Even the twin bed (2 beds in a room) seems larger than semi-double bed in other hotels. Gym access is free but not the swimming pool (which was crowded that afternoon). We had the best night rest/sleep in this hotel. Walk to large 24hour Max Value supermarket for sundries, etc (Coordinates: 34°39'51"N 135°29'42"E). Kuromon Market is also a walking distance.
This stay is the icing on the cake of our Japan Holiday- saving the best for our last night in Osaka.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likasfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing a positive review on Trip Advisor. Along with the hotel location, we are very pleased to learn that the room size was satisfactory to you and you had the best resting experience at our hotel. Since guests' comfort is very important to us, we will keep making our best efforts to provide further pleasant stay to our valuable guests. We are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 3,371 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were of family of six staying in two rooms for three nights. The location is convenient, right on top of the station and very close to dotombori which is a great place to stroll, shop, people watch, and eat. There was a K cup type coffee maker in the room and a separate kettle for hot water. Besides the traditional slippers, they even provide pajamas for hotel use! And umbrellas!

The bathroom was nice but I did not like the teeny tiny toiletry bottles, nor the half shower door.

The staff was very helpful. When we checked out, one asked us where we were headed next and gave us info about our destination without us asking!

I would most definitely stay here again. I can't say that about any other hotel or inn we stayed in during this trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank threekidmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to learn that you found our team members very helpful and they were able to assist you impressively.
On the other hand, please feel assured that your impression regarding the bathroom configuration has been immediately shared with the concerned management for future reference.
Once again we greatly appreciate your positive highlights and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here for one night on my way home around China and Japan. The location is absolutely fantastic as you have a direct escalator that takes you down to the platforms to board the train to Kansai Airport.

The quality of the room is absolutely top notch and I couldnt fault the high standards of room service offered.

They had a special offer that combined breakfast and internet that was good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank mrploddy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation. We are genuinely thrilled to hear that you think our hotel is a fabulous place to stay and we are glad to read that along with the hotel location, both our guest rooms and services were satisfactory to you.
Your fantastic review is highly appreciated as it helps us to recognize guests' impression and greatly motivates us to continuously strive for guests' satisfaction. We sincerely look forward to serving you again in the near future to provide you with another fantastic staying experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Family of 4 staying for 2 nights at end of our tour in Japan. Hotel is excellent quality. Breakfast had huge variety with a fantastic view of Osaka. Guest services were fantastic. They personally escorted us to the train for the airport (directly below the hotel) so we would not miss it. We arrived at the front desk with 15mins to do check out and get the train. We only needed 7 mins. Would definitely go back. Equally helpful on check in giving us maps & directions without asking on how to get to Universal Studios. It was pricey but for a change I think it was worth the money with this hotel. Note we didn't use any of the facilities other than the Breakfast Lounge so cannot comment on the pool, gym, other restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed our guest service and our breakfast offerings along with our hotel location. Your positive highlights are greatly appreciated and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Speedy housekeeping services, excellent locations, good services, nice and clean room, good view, good location , right on top of train station and close to shopping center , prime location at Osaka .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mei Lin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation. We are honored to read that many things we offer from service to facilities are favorable and satisfactory to you! We greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback and are very much looking forward to the next opportunity to provide you with another memorable staying experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It was the second time we chose swissotel to stay! It is a very convenient hotel and most importantly the staff there all speak good English and with good manner! Just a five to eight minutes walk, you can enjoy shopping and eating in the most busiest place .

You got no choice , but Swisstoel to stay if you are in Osaka ! Trust me!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing once again to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka! We are very glad to receive such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor and sincerely hope our assistance during your stay was able to make your stay memorable and wonderful. Please rest assured that we will keep making our best efforts for enhancement of guests' experience to provide our valuable guests with pleasant staying experience.
We are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just went back to Osaka again for my holiday but this time with our little baby girl.
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is simply well located where you are well connected to the airport, major shopping areas and sightseeing venues by the train/subway network.
The staff at the hotel is simply fantastic as they have went beyond to ensure that my wife and baby girl is well taken care of. Little details like turndown service for my baby girl cot, extra towels without asking and great quality breakfast at the club lounge are just some of the reasons why Swissotel is my only choice when I visit Osaka every now and then for my holidays.
Do not be worried if you cannot speak Japanese because most of the staff can handle basic English and will assist you in anyway that they can.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but of course staying at the club floor beings you more benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home once again and posting your kind review on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your support and highly value your patronage. It was our pleasure to welcome you back with your new born family this time! In addition, we are very happy to learn that our assistance throughout your stay was satisfactory and sincerely hope you had a relaxing and pleasant vacation stay at our hotel. Guests' satisfaction is always our top priority and we are very much looking forward to serving you and your family once again in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 342 in Osaka
1,996 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 342 in Osaka
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#19 of 342 in Osaka
2,102 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 342 in Osaka
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: £153 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Rakuten, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing