We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious and well-designed room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
1 review
“spacious and well-designed room”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent location, above the Nankai Railway Station. Staff were proficient in English and professional. The room was newly renovated with good facilities and good city view. The washroom was amazingly large, composed of a bathroom and a make-up corner. The wifi is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Suet Kam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing an excellent feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed honored to receive such kind compliments toward our services as well as facilities. Please rest assured that we will continuously keep our best efforts for further guests' satisfaction. We sincerely look forward to serving you for another exceptional stay next time you visit Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,787
    1,061
    209
    74
    48
See reviews for
1,339
849
168
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for week the location is simply great it on top of shopping mall and nankai namba station next to namba city and namba parks and 1 min walk from many shopping streets, a lot of restaurants were close by but not to my taste . The staff is great help and friendly they will help in anyway possible always smiling. Instrations are printed in papers and hand to you after they fully explain which line and station to use to get where you want with map. And renovated room are pretty and new love the view from my 31 floor room it was good size compare to Tokyo it large clean and tidy the room service where the best. If i had chance to visit osaka again they going to be my first choice tip book the room from hotel website better

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mariam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing an excellent feedback on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to learn that our services and the room you stayed were satisfactory to you. As we are striving for total guests' satisfaction in both service and facilities, we are pleased to read that our efforts were positively reflected on your staying experience. Your kind feedback is greatly appreciated and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back once again for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The location is superb! From the airport you can reach the hotel easily by train and the train station is linked to the hotel. The shops and restaurant is within walking distant. You can just walk to namba walk, namba parks, takashimaya, marui, big camera and doutonburi.
Moreover, the service is awesome! I always have a great stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mentita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing a positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We highly value your patronage and are very glad to read that you have a great impression on our services. Along with this convenient hotel location, we will continuously make our best efforts to enhance guests' experience in many ways. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back once again for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to multiple good reviews. The staff from check in to check out was fine. The hotel room is clean. The location is excellent. Unfortunately, the lady whose name starts with C....Was not as friendly and helpful. We talked to her several times and appeared quite irritable. She obviously left a negative impression on us.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ellygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation.
We sincerely regret to read that one of our concierge team members left you a negative impression while everything else you experienced at our hotel was pleasant. We took a note of your concern seriously and would like to apologize for any discomfort caused. Your feedback has been immediately shared with our management team and we will surely reinforce the trainings of our employees in order to provide our guests with a friendly, attentive and helpful service at all times. Please feel assured that corrective actions will be taken to ensure that our guests are well attended to.
We truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate the service you would expect from our concierge team and let us regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Good location within walking distance of popular shopping and nightlife areas. The lobby and lounge are a bit impersonal, but the guestrooms are clean and modern. All the staff are courteous and professional. The breakfast buffet is outstanding, with a wide variety of very good breads and pastries as well as well-made Asian and western dishes served in an attractive dining room. We tried the Tavola36 Italian restaurant based on its high rating in TripAdvisor, and it was quite good. I particularly recommend the Empress Room Chinese Restaurant, which combines excellent, innovative Chinese cuisine with Japanese attention to food presentation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting an excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed dining at several venues of our hotel. Your kind feedbacks regarding the quality and variety of our food offerings is highly appreciated and please rest assured that we will continuously make sure to provide our valuable guests with exceptional dining experience with attentive services. Once again, thank you very much for your positive highlights and sincerely we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Swissotel Nankai Osaka is the best hotel we have stayed in by far. The convenience travelling on the train from the Osaka Airport directly to the hotel which sits on top of Namba Station is one of the selling points of this accommodation. The service from every member of staff at the lobby was immaculate and it made us feel like we were coming back home again. The spaciousness of the rooms and the layout meant that for my children and I, we were able to feel comfortable and well-rested ready for the next day's activities. As mentioned, the location of the hotel is superb and having the train station within a 3 min walk meant that we could minimise travelling and maximise activity time. Furthermore, the hotel is surrounded by an enormous selection of food outlet ranging from the cheap and cheerful to the posh and pricey. Being close to Dotonburi also meant the option of some late night shopping or snacks if you fancied. Altogether, I highly recommend the Swissotel Nankai as it has certainly met and exceeded my expectations each time and lives up to the excellent reputation of being one of the best hotels in Osaka!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation and writing a superb review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to learn that many things we offer at our hotel from service, foods, rooms and the location were up to your expectation and we are very happy to read that you think our hotel is the best one. Your amazing feedback is a certainly motivation for all our colleagues to keep striving for guests' satisfaction! Your kind notes are greatly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to serving you for another exceptional stay in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel itself located at the Nankai Namba station where you can easily find once you get off from the train. When I reached the hotel, I was greeted friendly by a friendly lady and they proceed with my check in. While proceeding, she asked me whether to upgrade bigger room with wifi and coffee machine and was chargable. I refused as I have a wifi rental. It was not a cheap upgrading after all. It is not the best luxurious 5-stars I've stayed but I must said that it has the best location if you are a shopaholics and you want everything at your own convenience. Located at the train station, airport train station, Shinsaibashi, Amerikamura, Dotonbori, Den Den Town and many more places of interest. The hotel itself linked to the Takashimaya Shopping Centre. Everything in the hotel talks about money. You won't get the satisfaction you want with the money you paid unless you paid extra. If you don't mind about the price, this is the best 5-stars hotel in Osaka.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelineGAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you found our team member friendly and our hotel location was able to make your stay conveniently enjoyable. In order to continuously provide our valuable guests with a pleasant stay, please rest assured that we will keep our best efforts for guests' experience enhancement. Your valuable feedback is appreciated and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,370 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 307 in Osaka
1,894 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing