We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Superb location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Location superbly convenient, right at the Osaka Nankai station and in the midst of the busy shopping area which suits us best. Travelling to and from Kansei Airport takes about 40 minutes by Rapid train and it's easy and comfortable. We could easily manage on our own even with several pieces of luggage on our way back. Staff are highly professional and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Carrie W,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting a superb feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to learn that our hotel location as well as our team members were able to provide you with a pleasant staying experience with us. We will continuously make our best efforts for guest's satisfaction and sincerely look forward to serving you again in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Christian Schaufelbühl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,783
    1,057
    209
    74
    48
See reviews for
1,335
846
168
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Beautiful hotel that is well kept and managed with care by attentive people. Stay here for easy access from Namba Station to hotel lobby and to the Namba City Walk and Dotonbori area shopping, food and nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank shudIstayorshudIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear shudIstayorshudIgo,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and writing your excellent review on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to read that you found our team members attentive and that the hotel location enabled you to conveniently enjoy your time in Osaka.
Your valuable feedback is highly appreciated and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another exceptional stay.

Kind regards,

Christian Schaufelbühl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

2 nights in Osaka with 2 children of 10 and 12 years.

The room was at 22d floor with very nice view on Osaka.
Room recently renovated and nicely decorated. But, not very big for 4 persons ( no space to open the luggage). The sofabed was quite small, even for 2 kids of that age.
Breakfast quite expensive (3500 yens) that we did not try because only up to 10. A good alternative is the lunch buffet at the same price as breakfast at at the last floor of hotel with wonderful 360° view.

Bad surprise is to have to pay 2000 yen per person per day for the use of the swimming pool. Our children dreamed to swim after a full day of visit.
At that price, sorry, i find the politic of the hotel quite weird and damageable and not enough clear in advance. I don't know many hotels where you have to pay such a supplement for swimming pool.
We prefered to go to Spa world.

In final, mitigated. I will defintiely have a look to other hotels at Osaka for the things I mentioned.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa_fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Isa_fran,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home during your stay in Osaka.
We are pleased to learn that the décor of the room you stayed and the view from our top floor Italian restaurant left you with good impression. Please kindly be informed that the breakfast charge is cheaper when you book it together with a room reservation or request upon check in. As for the pool charge, guests who stay in Suite rooms or Executive floors have a complimentary access to our facilities of fitness and Spa. Accordingly, we would appreciate you to contact us directly for your next stay and we will make sure to recommend you a room type that fits your needs and preferences.
We will continuously make our best efforts for further guests' satisfaction and sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future once again.

Kind regards,

Christian Schaufelbühl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed for three nights with my wife and two daughters.They let me do early check in at 12.00 which is very vice for my family after long flight. The location is superb, same complex with Namba station so you can take Nankai Rapit from Kansai airport straight to the hotel and you can go anywhere from this station, the hotel is close to the major attractions in Osaka , such as Dotonburi etc. Many small restaurants and mini markets around the hotel, very convenient. The staffs is very polite and attentive, they gave us a paper with direction to go to the Universal Studio Osaka and try to explained it with basic English, which I truly appreciate. The room is clean and spacious enough for families with children. Great hotel for family in Osaka

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ytktdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear ytktdy,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation and posting a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled to learn that you found our team members very polite and attentive. For us, guests' satisfaction is always our top priority. Accordingly we greatly appreciate your kind compliment toward our team members who do their bests to provide our valuable guests with high quality service for enhancement of "quality in life."
We sincerely look forward to serving you in the near future for another pleasant staying experience.

Kind regards,

Christian Schaufelbühl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

good location, convenient transport, nice and polite staff, fast check in and out,
room cleanliness should be observed.
better to provide complimentary swimming facility and bottles of drinking water,
instruction of using electric coffee maker is prefered.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Law D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Law D,

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home. We are pleased to read that you had a good impression on our team members for their services and the guest room cleanliness.
As for the bottled water, please rest assured that we offer one complimentarily upon guests' request. We would be pleased to provide it for your next stay and will continuously make our best efforts for further guests' satisfaction. Once again, thank you very much for your valuable highlights and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Christian Schaufelbühl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Me & my friends stay I this hotel w/ our kids this is hotel near to subway ,restaurant & shopping center . We use subway going to USJ & Osaka aquarium took 20 min both place.
Good experience in this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Ruby M,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your venue of accommodation and writing your positive review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to learn that you had a good staying experience at our hotel and that our location enabled you to enjoy your time in Osaka fully.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future to provide you with another pleasant staying experience.

Kind regards,

Christian Schaufelbühl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Young In
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was travelling with two kids and mom. I was planning to use a room with my 2 kids and hotel upgrade a room for me and kids which makes our stay even more comfortable. Location cannot be better. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Hee Jeong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Hee Jeong K,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and posting a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to read that you had a great impression on our Front Office team and they were able to make your stay more comfortable. Since guests' satisfaction is always our top priority, please rest assured that we will continuously keep our best efforts to enhance guests' experience. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Christian Schaufelbühl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,367 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 307 in Osaka
1,893 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 307 in Osaka
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing