We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One point less for working on that invisible defect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Osaka
Ranked #21 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One point less for working on that invisible defect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I came on a business trip. From a business perspective, I didn't find anything untoward, and should say that I am quite surprised at the varied reviews on this hotel. Maybe it didn't have any romantic feel to it, but then, this is supposed to be a business hotel. And it did perform well as one.

Needless to say, the staff are eerily real in their courtesy, and this could actually unsettle those who are used to European or Asian pretense. The location is good, and this is the only problem, if I could call it one. It's not the perfect location, though in good proximity to restaurants and other visitor attractions. And I can't think of any other reason to give the Westin a four instead of a five.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praveenvelath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    473
    149
    33
    23
See reviews for
307
254
110
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed there for a business trip. It's a good business hotel but I would not recommend it for a romantic or family get away... Its location might not be perfect but they have a free shuttle that takes you to the JR station, twice per hour I believe.

Rooms a nice and big but the bed was really not up to standards for a Westin. I stayed at various Westins and always had their wonderful beds in which I usually sleep like a big baby. not this one. You can see on my pictures, the mattress is just a regular mattress and the bed in its whole does not look welcoming at all.

It might need a little upgrade soon.

Service was good though, concierge, check-in clerks. Did not try their F&B outlets as there are much much nicer restaurant options in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enelym1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Westin Osaka great location and nice hotel, but food options not great for such a well known hotel, £12 for a single shot of whiskey. Recomend going through to the sky tower, numerous restarants at very cheap prices.

Breakfast was one of the best that i have ever had, but also the most expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLichfield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seat 1C, Delta Airlines
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here recently for two nights using Westin and Osaka as a base to explore Kyoto, Nara, Kobe, Himeji and Hiroshima from here as a base. I selected this hotel despite mixed reviews, based on the desire to use my point and loyalty to SPG. Unfortunately, my experience was at best mixed, and I was kicking myself for not picking the Hilton, which looked more modern, was very convenient to the train station, and clearly in the middle of more activity and life.

I do question spg strategy in Japan, particularly Westin. None of the locations (with the exception of Hiroshima) are extremely convenient to travelers coming from overseas, and the Westins in Osaka and Ebisu (Tokyo) are difficult to get to and seem content to run off the local wedding business. Perhaps it is a case of marketing the global brand to attract local business as opposed to extending the global brand to attract global tourism. May be perfectly sane, but if I return to Japan, I am likely to stick to Hilton if I am choosing a western brand in the future.

Nonetheless, here are the highlights of the stay:

THE GOOD
- Hotel staff were across the board extremely friendly, helpful, and conversant in English.
- Rooms were extremely clean, in great condition, and richly decorated. Richly is a word chosen carefully - think 1990s Ritz Carlton glitz, flowery, high polish burl wood. Things that may seem stately in Japan, but may be viewed as outdated elsewhere. If that is important to you, may want to stay elsewhere
- Executive lounge was well staffed and generally enjoyable with exceptions outlined below. Had a happy hour 6-730 pm where all drinks were free, and gave you first drinks free after that. Breakfast was good as well.

THE BAD
- Executive lounge evening appetizer service was not self-serve. Quantities of food were extremely sparse, even by Japanese standards and service seemed deliberately slow. If you are trying to make this a dinner to save on the most expensive meal (as we often do in the states), this is not for you.
- Had to pay 200 yen per bag for in room coffee. We are not talking the Starbucks standard bag I have come to expect in most Westins, just a weak weak teabag type of coffee. This was on the CLUB LEVEL!!! A major gaffe in consistent branding and a disappointment in the service offerings.
- There is nothing (other than a subterranean simulated village of restaurants next door) of any note in the immediate area. You are on an island, and the walking gets intimidating due to the plethora of railroad tracks in the area.

THE UGLY
- No wireless. Really? In Japan? A high end hotel? in 2012? Really? Yes, they ofter room adapters if available, but this was an annoyance, an extra procedure, and they were very cautious to indicate it was conditional about whether they would even have it or not. It was some miniscule box not much bigger than an old junction box. Why are they not in every room at least in club level? Really??? When you come with 8-9 wireless devices potentially hooking up, all but one that are not big enough to have an ethernet jack, this is not acceptable. Westin - this is an i-pad, this is an i-phone, this is a mac=air. What do you notice?? I should not have been subject to even the stress of the potential of not having it.
- Seemed unduly focused on assuring that my status not apply to both rooms that I bought with my platinum points, despite me being platinum and lifetime gold on spg. (In other words, I have stayed with starwood a long time). Due to some artificially hyped constraints on number of people in the room, I had to buy two rooms on the executive level. They spent about ten minutes making sure they knew that whomever stayed in the second room was not entitled to the breakfast coupon, the free internet (really? on the executive level???). These were not upgraded rooms, they were premium point rooms, PLUS my status, without any further upgrades. They usually apologize elsewhere.
- Location. This place is NOT convenient by any standards. There was some comment buried in a previous review that this was accessible and walkable via the network of underground arcade, which is not unheard of and completely acceptable in other parts of Japan. I spent 30 minutes coming to the conclusion that it was not, and when we finally figured it out, there was about 15 minutes of walking through construction sites and constrained sidewalks, before entering a fairly poorly lit and constructed tunnel. It was not a lead-in experience that the hotel should desire, and it should be much more aggressive about touting its shuttlebus service (and make it more available - frequency and time). It did not and I look at that as a failure.

Some of this may be driven by what looks like new disruptive constructions on two blocks between the train station and the hotel - there very easily could have been access before. But that, along with the general sootiness and construction environment, just did not feel like the Westin experience I was looking for.

If you do still decide to stay here, one thing I would say about transport, particularly if you are using the Shinkansen and a JR pass. Unless you are a real glutton for punishment, take a cab from the Shin-Osaka station to the hotel. It keeps a very civilized experience throughout. You go over to the regular JR line, there is a lot of construction at the Shin-Osaka station, it is extremely crowded, dimly lit and relatively dirty for a JR train station. It is not much better in the Osaka station itself, and - maybe it is just my lack of familiarity - it seems a bit confusing relative to Shinjuku or Tokyo. It is not worth the extra leg to either try to walk (which is a dim experience), find the shuttle bus (provided you are arriving between 9a-9p otherwise it runs very seldomly) or take a taxi from there, which ends up only being about 400 yen less than taking the cab from Shinosaka. Very much not worth it.

Also - lesson learned - if you are winging it a bit on your JR Pass, get reservations for seats days in advance for Sunday travel on Shinkansen. I was told it should be a problem by the JTB guy before I left. It was. There also is very limited coin locker space in ShinOsaka and it was completely full and no one knew where the check room was. There was one sign, but it was not definitive enough to find it.

In summary, this was probably the most disappointing aspect of what was otherwise a very spectacular trip during Cherry Blossom season. I vowed not to let it bother me, but it did disappoint. if you are going for western hotel and convenience, it really looks like the Hilton would be the choice in this area. Even if Westin cured what it could control, it still is in an inconvenient area.

-
-

Room Tip: Higher, facing Umeda sky or southward for best views....north and west just sort of look out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kingofsp8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Although not as nice as the Westin Tokyo, the service was top notch and the breakfast buffet was fantastic!

We stayed two nights in two different rooms, both room layouts were a little bit awkward and did not seem to fully utilize the space that they could have. The rooms themselves were quite nice but some of the furniture and trappings starting to show a bit of age.

Service was fantastic, the concierge was able to find us a restaurant on a Friday night for dinner with quite specific demands. Although we had to switch rooms as the hotel was completely booked solid and we were not able to get a room on the third night, the hotel staff was helpful in getting our luggage from one room to the next.

Breakfast buffet is a steal at the price they charged us on top of the room.

Location was not bad, right next to a popular tourist attraction and a short walk from Osaka station but not in the heart of any particular popular Osaka districts. View from rooms is quite nice, overlooking the city.

Would return to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkn501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have spend 3 nights in Osaka on our way to Kyoto for the Cherry Blossom seasons.

The good about the hotel:
- the Westin service
- the location: 10mins from Osaka station
- size of the room and the bathroom (nearly the size of our hotel room in Kyoto)
- view from the room on Osaka. (ask for high floor rise)
- price is reasonnable
- quiet (no noise from the street)

The bad about the hotel
- bus limo was not available after 5pm. (just pick the limo bus to Osaka station)
- not the typical funky Westin furniture. It looks a bit old...
- no wireless in the room
- not the Westin bed

Might come back again if the price is OK. But I would give the Hilton a go. Location seems better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was likely spectacular when it was built, and it still has "good bones", i.e. large rooms, excellent attentive Japanese service, etc. However, as the debate on some of the postings rages, I agree that it falls just short of being Westin quality. While everything is perfectly functional, it is dated and given the price, does not provide the overall return you would expect. The breakfast buffet, while being quite varied, is very cramped and the standard of the food just does not cut it. Similarly the "state of the art gym" has old, disparate (e.g. 4 different readmills, all of which strike me as being over 10 years old) equipment and to add insult to injury charges $15 for every entry. The well intentioned staff just cannnot compensate for the "maturity" of the facility.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo2018babushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#16 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 296 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Osaka

Property: The Westin Osaka
Address: 1-1-20 Oyodonaka, Kita-ku, Osaka 531-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#13 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#16 Family Hotel in Osaka
#27 Business Hotel in Osaka
#30 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten, TravelUp and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Westin Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Osaka Hotel Osaka
Westin Osaka
Osaka Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing