We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£276
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Westin.com
£277
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
travelup.com
£254
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,696 results
Traveller rating
763
640
207
54
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
763
640
207
54
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the umeda sky building train station the executive lounge an upgrade minute walk spacious room shuttle concierge japan luggage basement bathtub shinkansen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 1,696 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The thing with Japan is you always have sky high expectations with everything: service, food, facilities. You're speechless with the beauty, the grace and the harmony of everything you see and experience... Until you get to need wi-fi in the lobby of your hotel and you realize they don't have such thing. Or you want to use the gym and then you're told it cost you a bunch of your hardly earned yens. Or let's say you need to sit in the cafe for a couple of minutes because the seats in the lobby are taken and you need a quick rest before taking your taxi to the airport and then the staff tells you you're not allowed to sit there if you're not consuming something. Big let down.

I understand that is the hotel policy, which is sad since other Westins in the region are far more generous with those little details... But on the bright side, the people in the front desk and in the concierge are simply fabulous, always ready to help and organize your exploration of the town. They even will give you their own medicine for a headache if you don't feel like moving to the pharmacy. People from Japan are awesome. Some hotels, aren't so much.

Room tip: Get a suite with view to Umeda.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julián H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for the feedback.
In response to many guest's requests for internet enviroment,
we have now begun offering internet access service at lobby area from October.
You can access the internet for free.
We will make effort to meet your request to the extent that we can.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Despite the very friendly employees at this hotel, this was a rather disappointing stay!
The hotel is old, dated and has some very strong downsides. The breakfast was one of the worst hotel breakfasts I have ever seen. For USD 38 a very poor selection with poor taste. There is no wireless internet and they charge USD 13 for wired internet access. the air condition was set at 25C and could not be turned lower! Worst of all, hotel guests are being charged USD 52 per entry to use the gym and pool. This is truly outrageous!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you fo your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have comfortable stay with us.
As you pointed out, our guestrooms are getting old so that rooms are being refurbished.
WiFi was also implemented to lobby area.
we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed there and checked in very late and all my interactions with the staff: front desk, concierge, house keeping were very friendly, Particularly the concierge staff, Nishishita, that helped me find a late night ramen place to grab a bite to eat. The female staff during the mornings at the desk were also very friendly in helping me with the large amount of luggage I had and putting it away onto the complimentary shuttle bus to the train station. It was in all a very nice experience.

The rooms are huge too and with fantastic thick curtains so you won't know it is daylight outside at all. Which actually meant I overslept but with the beds being so comfortable, that is bound to happen.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. How was ramen taste?
Nishishita, who helped you to find the ramen place, was also happy with your comment.
We lool forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed at the Westin in September of 2012 for business and was very disappointed with my room. My biggest complaint about the rooms was the AC. I know that Japan gets hot but it is unreasonable that the rooms don't get below 24C and that you need to keep the blinds closed for the AC to work The wireless internet signal was very weak and my room needed a booster which the hotel tried to charge for. I would recommend that business travelers look elsewhere to avoid these hassles.

On the plus side, the hotel offers a shuttle to the Osaka station which is very convenient. If you are looking to go to Namba, the cab is about 2,500 JPY. Also, the lobby of the hotel is beautiful and a nice place to meet for a drink.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for the feedback.
We would like to say how sorry we were that you were not satisfied with our service.
As you pointed out, summer sunshine is so strong that it takes timeto cool guestrooms by air conditioner.
In regard to internet environment, WiFi will be implemented by near future.
We will continue trying to do our best todeliver better sevice.
We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Staying in this hotel for one night on my way home to Hong Kong. The hotel was situated close to Osaka Station. Hotel run frequent shuttle bus service to and from Osaka Station, very convenient. Hotel decor is okay with a bit old. Room assigned on 8/fl, quite spacious with store shower. Big size consider in Japan. which most of the hotel is having very tiny room. i booked through Booking.com at US$200.00 for one night which breakfast is not included. Breakfast cost me US$90 for two person. not much variety compared to the price they charged. Generally, staff is very courteous and very helpful. One little hic up is I asked for a late check out to 1pm at the Front Desk and was arranged. But, when i returned from shopping at 12:30pm. The room was being lock-out by Housekeeping already. Obviously, communication was broke down between departments. All in all, pretty nice hotel to stay in Osaka.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hongkongmuimui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for the feedback.
We are glad to receive the compliment from you. However, we are very sorry to find out that your room was already locked out when you returned to the room. We take necessary measures to insure scuh things do not happen in the future.
We look forward to assisting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews