We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
£199
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
travelup.com
£241
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,693)
Filter reviews
1,693 results
Traveller rating
762
639
206
54
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
762
639
206
54
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the umeda sky building train station the executive lounge an upgrade minute walk spacious room shuttle concierge japan luggage basement bathtub shinkansen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 1,693 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Was in Osaka earlier this year for a bit of business and a bit of pleasure. Stayed at the Westin Osaka and while it fit the bill perfectly as you would expect from a Westin in terms of room and amenities, although nothing special.

In fact would rate it a 3 star due to the high charges for the gym and internet, but experienced very special service of one of the concierges that work there. Emiko helped arrange a special anniversary dinner for me and my wife and she helped research all sorts of local craft stores for my wife to visit. Really went out of her way to help us. In fact, she is the reason for the 4th star, people really make or break a hotel and while the policies and hotel infrastructure rate a 3 star, with her at the desk it rates an extra star.

Was glad that my room rate included breakfast, I would have hated to spend $110 for breakfast for the 2 of us each morning.

Another great feature of the hotel is the free shuttle to the train station. The hotel is a bit far to walk it and it is nice to have this feature.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardg6409
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, Emiko at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for your comment.
We really remember you.. How are you and your wife doing?
We are so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at The Westin Osaka,
and we could help to arrange your anniversary dinner and to find your wife's favorite craft store.
It's my pleasure that we could be a part of your memorable stay!
We just started free WiFi service in the lobby.
So next time you will stay at our hotel, you can use free WiFi in the lobby.
We look forward to welcoming you at The Westin Osaka again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The service was excellent as reviewed. Room was more spacious than what I would expect in Japan. Hotel policies are the same as others in Japan, it seems - pricey in-room wifi, gym and pool access, restaurants and coffee places, etc. The hotel provides free shuttle bus to/from Osaka station every 15min so it was very convenient. It's located a few-minute walk from Umeda building and about 10min walk from Umeda station.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vietzombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for the feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The thing with Japan is you always have sky high expectations with everything: service, food, facilities. You're speechless with the beauty, the grace and the harmony of everything you see and experience... Until you get to need wi-fi in the lobby of your hotel and you realize they don't have such thing. Or you want to use the gym and then you're told it cost you a bunch of your hardly earned yens. Or let's say you need to sit in the cafe for a couple of minutes because the seats in the lobby are taken and you need a quick rest before taking your taxi to the airport and then the staff tells you you're not allowed to sit there if you're not consuming something. Big let down.

I understand that is the hotel policy, which is sad since other Westins in the region are far more generous with those little details... But on the bright side, the people in the front desk and in the concierge are simply fabulous, always ready to help and organize your exploration of the town. They even will give you their own medicine for a headache if you don't feel like moving to the pharmacy. People from Japan are awesome. Some hotels, aren't so much.

Room tip: Get a suite with view to Umeda.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julián H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for the feedback.
In response to many guest's requests for internet enviroment,
we have now begun offering internet access service at lobby area from October.
You can access the internet for free.
We will make effort to meet your request to the extent that we can.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Despite the very friendly employees at this hotel, this was a rather disappointing stay!
The hotel is old, dated and has some very strong downsides. The breakfast was one of the worst hotel breakfasts I have ever seen. For USD 38 a very poor selection with poor taste. There is no wireless internet and they charge USD 13 for wired internet access. the air condition was set at 25C and could not be turned lower! Worst of all, hotel guests are being charged USD 52 per entry to use the gym and pool. This is truly outrageous!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you fo your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have comfortable stay with us.
As you pointed out, our guestrooms are getting old so that rooms are being refurbished.
WiFi was also implemented to lobby area.
we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed there and checked in very late and all my interactions with the staff: front desk, concierge, house keeping were very friendly, Particularly the concierge staff, Nishishita, that helped me find a late night ramen place to grab a bite to eat. The female staff during the mornings at the desk were also very friendly in helping me with the large amount of luggage I had and putting it away onto the complimentary shuttle bus to the train station. It was in all a very nice experience.

The rooms are huge too and with fantastic thick curtains so you won't know it is daylight outside at all. Which actually meant I overslept but with the beds being so comfortable, that is bound to happen.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. How was ramen taste?
Nishishita, who helped you to find the ramen place, was also happy with your comment.
We lool forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews