We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Booking.com
£174
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Expedia.com
£173
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
£174
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,693)
Filter reviews
1,693 results
Traveller rating
762
639
206
54
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
762
639
206
54
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the umeda sky building train station the executive lounge an upgrade minute walk spacious room shuttle concierge japan luggage basement bathtub shinkansen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 1,693 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times on business and though it just about satisfies my needs it does little more. On the plus side the hotel is reasonably well located with some good restaurants within a short walk and rooms are relatively large. The negatives here are that the rooms are in need of renovation, the room service food is extremely expensive and the gym is abysmal - old, worn and small. To make matters worse there is charge for the gym which was only reluctantly refunded and I was warned "but next time you will have to pay"...needless to say there was no "next time". Others have mentioned the internet charge which is annoying but not uncommon in Japan. This is probably priced at a small discount to the Ritz Carlton but it is a much worse hotel. For one night in a bed it is fine, for any more then the RC is a better bet.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_UKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed at the Westin for 4 nights and it was ok. I had chosen the Westin expecting something better than the usual standard Sheraton, but was rather disappointed. However, based on recent stays at Westin properties worldwide although the brand as a whole appears to have dropped its standards. Check-in was relatively efficient as was the checkout on departure. The concierge were helpful and both them and the reception staff had good English.
The lobby and bar were good places to meet but I wouldn't recommend buying a drink at such outrageous prices. I know Japan is expensive but some prices are ridiculous. Wi-fi worked well in the lobby and I had no problem in the room. Charges do apply for the Internet access. I had a room on the 22nd floor overlooking the river. The room was a good size with 2 queen size beds, decent wardrobe space separate bath and walk-in shower. One annoying detail is that there is no safe box in an room which is a crazy idea and leaves guests with nowhere to keep valuables other than at the front desk.
Breakfast was in the restaurant on the ground floor and can become chaotic when busy. There is little room to pass moving about the buffet which can only be described as average at best.however, the staff do try hard to please and assist where appropriate. One evening I was late back to the hotel not having eaten and tried to order sandwiches from room service but was told they had run out and only had fruit or curry which was bizarre!

The hotel is reasonably located for the city but if attending the convention centre as I was the distance is about 35-50 minutes depending on traffic and expensive by taxi. The hotel operates a shuttle to the rail station which is useful.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Was in Osaka earlier this year for a bit of business and a bit of pleasure. Stayed at the Westin Osaka and while it fit the bill perfectly as you would expect from a Westin in terms of room and amenities, although nothing special.

In fact would rate it a 3 star due to the high charges for the gym and internet, but experienced very special service of one of the concierges that work there. Emiko helped arrange a special anniversary dinner for me and my wife and she helped research all sorts of local craft stores for my wife to visit. Really went out of her way to help us. In fact, she is the reason for the 4th star, people really make or break a hotel and while the policies and hotel infrastructure rate a 3 star, with her at the desk it rates an extra star.

Was glad that my room rate included breakfast, I would have hated to spend $110 for breakfast for the 2 of us each morning.

Another great feature of the hotel is the free shuttle to the train station. The hotel is a bit far to walk it and it is nice to have this feature.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardg6409
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, Emiko at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for your comment.
We really remember you.. How are you and your wife doing?
We are so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at The Westin Osaka,
and we could help to arrange your anniversary dinner and to find your wife's favorite craft store.
It's my pleasure that we could be a part of your memorable stay!
We just started free WiFi service in the lobby.
So next time you will stay at our hotel, you can use free WiFi in the lobby.
We look forward to welcoming you at The Westin Osaka again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The service was excellent as reviewed. Room was more spacious than what I would expect in Japan. Hotel policies are the same as others in Japan, it seems - pricey in-room wifi, gym and pool access, restaurants and coffee places, etc. The hotel provides free shuttle bus to/from Osaka station every 15min so it was very convenient. It's located a few-minute walk from Umeda building and about 10min walk from Umeda station.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vietzombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for the feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The thing with Japan is you always have sky high expectations with everything: service, food, facilities. You're speechless with the beauty, the grace and the harmony of everything you see and experience... Until you get to need wi-fi in the lobby of your hotel and you realize they don't have such thing. Or you want to use the gym and then you're told it cost you a bunch of your hardly earned yens. Or let's say you need to sit in the cafe for a couple of minutes because the seats in the lobby are taken and you need a quick rest before taking your taxi to the airport and then the staff tells you you're not allowed to sit there if you're not consuming something. Big let down.

I understand that is the hotel policy, which is sad since other Westins in the region are far more generous with those little details... But on the bright side, the people in the front desk and in the concierge are simply fabulous, always ready to help and organize your exploration of the town. They even will give you their own medicine for a headache if you don't feel like moving to the pharmacy. People from Japan are awesome. Some hotels, aren't so much.

Room tip: Get a suite with view to Umeda.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julián H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for the feedback.
In response to many guest's requests for internet enviroment,
we have now begun offering internet access service at lobby area from October.
You can access the internet for free.
We will make effort to meet your request to the extent that we can.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews