We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service from a great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Ranked #4 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Brought my 10-year-old son on a business trip. First time in Osaka and I needed help to balance my work goals with the safety and entertainment of my son. The concierge staff at the Ritz-Carlton Osaka stepped in and did such a great job that I cannot praise them enough. Three different professionals combined to plan a great tour guide, capable day care and made us feel like we were the only guests staying at the hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet (slow-closing doors prevent slamming and the sound-proofing is very effective). Every question we had for the concierge staff was answered with respect and beyond our expectations. They recommended the right shopping area for us; best restaurants and even got tickets to a concert. They helped us with the subway and train to Kyoto and they were always asking what else they can do to help. Even for a Ritz-Carlton, the service at this hotel stands out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear David L,

I believe we briefly greeted each other, as I saw you at our Concierge desk with your son. I am so pleased to read this wonderful feedback, which I immediately shared with our talented Concierge team.
As we continously see our international guest percentage on the rise, we understand the importance of our team's ability to deliver beyond simple expectations. Your comment means a lot to us. Thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Remus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our first visit to the Ritz Carlton Osaka. Well connected to both the rail and subway lines, which are about a 10-15 walk away. Beautiful, classic decor coupled with excellent customer service! The staff are genuinely helpful and super friendly. This is truly the famed Ritz Carlton experience! One could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLoh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear JLoh22,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We have shared this with our Ladies and Gentlemen.
We hope to see you back soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated my 60th birthday at the Ritz Carlton Osaka. What a great choice!! From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel special. Special desserts, a small gift, and everyone in the entire hotel seemed to wish me happy birthday!! This Ritz-Carlton is a very special place and is tied with Kuala Lumpur as my favorite! The staff is almost all Japanese, but their English is darn near perfect. If there is any drawback at all, it was that the t.v. only had Japanese channels. I was told however, that this will soon change. It didn't really matter to us though, as we spent our time in the club (AWESOME STAFF!!) or out in Osaka. Five stars for this hotel!!

Room Tip: A suite at this hotel is less than a room at other Ritz-Carltons' and is definetly worth the ex...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear TheBusboy,

Thank you for your kind and thorough feedback of your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka. We have shared this with our Ladies and Gentlemen. The TV channels selection will be addressed in an upcoming technology upgrade of the hotel. Youf feedback is valuable to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Osaka anytime!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Ritz-Carlton Osaka for 5 nights from the 20th May 2014. Our room was a Skyview Superior and was on Level 35, one from the top floor. We had a fantastic view across to Osaka Station and the Umeda Sky Building. The view at night was wonderful. Room was very large with a great bathroom (twin vanities) and separate toilet. Big TV and free Wi-Fi and a very comfortable king-size bed. Location is very good, 5-10 minutes walk to Osaka Train Station. Osaka Train Station is not where the Shinkansen (bullet train) arrives – we came from Hiroshima. We were a bit lost when we got off at SHIN-Osaka Station and couldn’t find the hotel. My map app showed it was a taxi trip away. It’s not feasible to walk from Shin-Osaka Station to The Ritz-Carlton. Behind the hotel are restaurants galore. For those homesick for a big thick juicy steak (which we were after 3 weeks in Japan), there is an Outback Steakhouse just around the corner. Hotel is very swish with very well dressed clientele and is popular with well-off Osakians for high-tea. The staff were always friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. Overall it is a lovely hotel in a great location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank slyboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear slyboy54,

Your thorough review means a lot to us. We are delighted to hear the positive feedback, and look very much forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was my third and last visit to this hotel and each time it has become more disappointing.

Firstly, when you stay in this hotel it doesn't seem like you're in Japan. The décor is more English than England. Opulent yes, Japanese - definitely not.

Secondly, many of the staff don't appear to be Japanese - especially management. They lack the fine Japanese helpful manner.

Thirdly is the absence of the lovely Japanese hospitality.

Yes, the rooms are spacious and well appointed but there's an air of arrogance about the staff which I've never encountered anywhere in Japan. And then there was the amply manned concierge desk - none of whom knew where a famous national art gallery was. Not all the concierges are like that, some are very competent. The hotel is very popular with American tourist groups and they seem to cater for them. Breakfast was a feeding frenzy - so many people demanding attention - the atmosphere was frantic. It was nice food but we left agitated.

So whilst this once was a sedate 5 star hotel albeit English style, it is now a nondescript place catering for tourist groups in a hurry.

Not for the visitor looking for authentic Japanese hospitality (the Hyatt and Imperial brand supplies this), or an enjoyable stay.

Not recommended unless you're in a hurry or in a tour group.

Room Tip: Get the highest room you can. The views are good but don't expect Japanese hospitality
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCOsaka, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ms. Canberra_Traveller,

Thank you very much for returning to The Ritz-Carlton Osaka and for taking the time to share your comments.
I am sorry for the negative impressions and experience you had.
For sure, we will use your comments to rectify and improve our services and trainings.
In particular for the knowledge of local attractions and in regards to the breakfast operation.
Although the majority of our guests are Japanese, we do have a few foreign managers, as expected in an international luxury hotel.
Over the years, our hotel has held its standing as one of the top luxury hotels in Osaka, and its classic European design and intimate atmosphere is one of the contributors.
I am also happy to recommend our latest hotels in Japan, The Ritz-Carlton Kyoto and The Ritz-Carlton Okinawa, both have Japanese designs, atmosphere and feel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Ritz-Carlton hotels in Japan.
Yours sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Delicious breakfast, very comfortable beds, excellent service. Highly recommended!!! I wish I could stayed longer! The service at the restaurant for breakfast was impecable. I adored their pijamas. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiamendoza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remus P, Executive Assistant Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Claudia Mendoza,

We are delighted to hear your feedback in regards to the delicious breakfast and our excellent service. We have shared your feedback with our Ladies and Gentlemen. The pajamas are always well received by our guests, and they are actually also available for purchase in our Retail Boutique.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka soon!
Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When you step into the hotel, you will be amazed by the historical and artistic furnitures, amenities, interior design and decoration. It's just like an art gallery with beatiful oil-paintings under soft light along the corridor.

The room key is not digital nor electronic key. They are still using the giant house key like the one using in castle! Elusive staircase linking all three executive floors with the club lounge is warm and touching. You can feel the detailed mind and hearty design for guest staying in the hotel.

Excellent view from room, exquisite Japanese sweets and bites made the stay joyful and pleasant. It's artistics. It's luxurious. It's elegant. It made you fall in love with it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remus P, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear DamienHo,

Your detailed description of our hotel environment and feel is wonderful and much appreciated. We also shared your feedback with our Pastry Team who are the creators of the Japanese sweets you enjoyed.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#3 of 322 in Osaka
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 322 in Osaka
2,023 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#52 of 322 in Osaka
1,437 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka

Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: £223 - £660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pass through the Gateway of Western Japan and marvel at ancient traditions that punctuate the ultra-modern landscape that includes one of the city’s most elegant five star hotels in Osaka, Japan. The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is a downtown hotel situated in the heart of the prestigious Nishi-Umeda business and shopping district and close to its treasured cultural heart. A wide range of amenities and services contribute to a memorable experience, including: •291 guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 63 Club rooms, 2 Japanese Suites and 2 Ritz-Carlton Suites •The Club Level, featuring additional bespoke services and locally-inspired amenities in the Club Lounge •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space •Six fine dining restaurants & bar •Luxury Spa & Fitness •Personalized Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing