We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Nikko Osaka”
Review of Hotel Nikko Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Osaka
Ranked #21 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Was there from 29 Jan 2014 - 1 Feb 2014. 3 nights stay.

Good Stuff for this hotel:
1. Staff were all generally friendly and helpful. At the concierge, a French guy i think called Mr Purtin helped me with the maps and area i wanted to go and was detailed in his assistance.
2. Room was clean.
3. Hotel is very near to the subway station while not connected to it.
4. Hotel is near the shinbaishin area where shopping and food abounds.
5. Check out is at 12noon. (Most and quite some are 11am if i am not wrong)
6. Basic amenities provided are sufficient. Shower gel, shampoo, conditioner are in generous amounts.
7. Recept check-in area, staff standard of English is from mid to good level and hence making the check-in a breeze.
8. Check-out was a breeze too - waited for barely less than 5minutes.
9. Security level seem ok.

Not so good stuff about hotel:
1. Room is really small. So if there are 2 persons for a room, you will find walking around very squeezy and no space for your luggage. For a one person, it was still manageable though feels a bit tight and luiggage still have to use some imagination to place it properly. The luggage holder provided is only about 1feet X 1 feet, cannot hold a luggage well.

2. Sound proofing for room is way below par but not sure if this is the standard for Japan hotel as another hotel also had the same issue. Could hear people talking along the walkway most times.

3. I booked a double room for myself and they only had one bath towel, one hand towel. Usually is two each so one can rotate to use them when necessary.

For the price, think the hotel is still ok. However, on my next trip, i will probably try another cheaper hotel nearby so that location is not compromised.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenTHKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

When in Osaka, we always choose Nikko for its location just across from Daimaru and right above Shinsaibashi Station. Though adequately clean and comfortable, the rooms are very dated, with the Toto toilet its only sign of modernity. Shopaholics will be glad to find a foot massage in the room but should beware that it squeezes your feet to the bones. Fitness freaks will sigh; there isn’t a gym or a pool, surprising given the size and popularity of this hotel among businessmen. Perhaps a foot message is the only exercise you can do here.

Room Tip: The hotel offers unobstructed views of Japan’s second city so request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear PORhibido,

Thank you for recently staying with us. We sincerely appreciate it.

Also Thank you for your good comments regarding our excellent location. In regard to our facilities we do have a Spa located on our 31st floor which is quite popular with our guests. I hope you have a chance to visit it on your next stay.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Osaka.

Sincerely,

Jan Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1.5 weeks and it was a great location in Osaka right near Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi shopping areas. Hotel was reasonably priced but do expect it to be small (but clean) as is all accommodation in Japan. Roughly 20sqm including ensuite.

Note that the hotel is right above Shinsaibashi station which is NOT a JR line so do not use your JR Pass if you stay here for the local rail.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

traditional (and a bit old) hotel. big and dim lobby.
small, clean and tidy room. free wifi available in room.
very nice breakfast. lots of varieties. filled my stomach before shopping.
easy to find as it's just the opposite of daimaru.
direct access from subway station.
super close to 'american village'.
popular among locals (seems they r invited to ceremonies or weddings.) waited for 20 mins for check-in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Anne H.

Thank you for your recent stay in our hotel We sincerely appreciate it.

Also. Thank you for the positive comments on our excellent location. I will certainly pass on your good comments to our Executive Chef regarding our breakfast buffet as well.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Osaka.

Sincerely.
Jan Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It's my first time to visit Osaka and was glad to have stayed in Hotel Nikko. The location is very convenient as it sits atop a mall connected to the subway and train. Around the area are a lot of shopping malls including luxury brands, as well as places to eat.

The check in and check out processes were very fast and efficient. Their staff was nice and courteous as well.

Our room was well lit and had beds that were very comfortable. We also had a view of the nearby buildings as seen from the ceiling to floor glass window. The room had free wifi, so sharing pictures wasn't a problem at all. Our bath room had a hi-tech toilet cubicle with options to warm the seat or use a variety of water pressure for the bidet. The complimentary shampoo and body wash were very fragrant with the scent of green tea.

Room Tip: Get higher rooms to have a quieter environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giganticgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have been here on business minimum 15 times. Finally, I changed to another hotel because I really got fed up here.

Big hotel, many rooms. The rooms are mostly extremely small. You are not able to even open your suitcase in full in a standard room. Micro-small bath room containers made by plasti all around.

The rooms are very expensive. If you arrive dead tired in the morning at the hotel- you must even pay an Early-Checkin fee. That can be 30 % or mire of your room rate.

Breakfast is good but the breakfast room is also by far too small. Long waitin lines in the morning.
I will never get into the bar at night. The drinks are incredibly expensive, they even charge you a table charge. An ordinary beer can easily cost you 20 Dollars.
Food in the restauarnt also very expensive.
Internet is free - for PC with LAN cable. You can also get a room WIFI. But you must install all by yourself. Very complicated and old-fashioned.

The only good is the location. The hotel is on a high-street and the shopping area and entertainment area (Namba) is very close.

Room Tip: I think they only have standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great hotel in Osaka. Clean and nice/big room. Comfortable bed. Nice staff. Close to a subway station, which makes it easy to get around Osaka. Dotonbori is less than 10 minutes away on foot. Would visit again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank AlexanderJR1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 339 in Osaka
1,444 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#47 of 339 in Osaka
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 339 in Osaka
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Osaka

Address: 1-3-3 Nishishinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £111 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Osaka faces the main avenue, Midosuji and is directly connected to Subway Shinsaibashi Station. The hotel stands as the landmark of Osaka's central area, Minami, where you will find popular places such as Dotonbori, shopping districts, brand-name shops,Amerika mura,Donkihote, Universal Studios Japan (R) etc. The location is also convenient for access to Kyoto,Kobe and Nara. At Hotel Nikko Osaka you will find restaurants and lounges that allow you to enjoy the changing colors of gingko trees lining Midosuji Avenue throughout the different seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nikko Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing