We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, good location”
Review of Hotel Nikko Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Osaka
Ranked #20 of 354 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed at Nikko everytime we travel to Osaka. The room is small but have everything you need.
Clean but the smoking smell on the lobby floor is unacceptable. The hotel does not provide WIFI in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear janies77,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Nikko Osaka.

Also thank you for staying with us each time you visit Osaka!
I do apologize for the smoke smell on the lower lounge.

I also would like to infom you we do offer COMPLIMENTARY wifi in each of guest rooms.
Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Jan Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great Hotel! Great location. Easy to get to from train station and we could walk in any direction to the many interesting sites.
Choice of American or Japanese breakfast, we always when Japanese!
Concierges found us GREAT places for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear F H,

Thank you very much for recently staying with us. We sincerely appreciate your comments.
We certainly have a wonderful location with easy access to everything Osaka has to offer as you mentioned.

I believe you also tried our new Japanese breakfast buffet which we are receiving many good comments on as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Osaka.

Sincerely,

Jan W Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stay at this hotel 3 nights at March 2014, this is our last hotel before depart Osaka. Across the road is famous shopping street shinsaibashi, this hotel at the top of shinsaibashi station, suitable for family to explore Osaka tourist attraction.

Manage to book the deluxe double room at high floor, the room with super comfy bed, big bathtub, some more got the foot massager in room. After a whole day walk, back to hotel bath and ease the leg pain with foot massager, how enjoyable of this hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank eeleng911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear EElng911,

Thank you for recently staying with us and your positive comments.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed the special foot massager located in some of our rooms.
Also as you mentioned the location of the Hotel is very convenient to discover all Osaka has to offer. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jan W Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel Nikko Osaka is well situated for sightseeing and shopping. Sadly, we only had an overnight stay there. Loved the vibe of this city. The Neon signs are a must see at night to visit and photograph. As for the shopping the shops do not open til 11am on a Sunday, and we were leaving the hotel at 2pm which did not give us a lot of shopping time. The only down side was that when sharing, you are only given one key. I think that is a must these days. I was sharing with someone I did not know well.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are sharing, that they give you another key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winniew83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was our 3rd and last hotel stay in our 8 days Kansai Japan trip in mar/apr 2014. We booked quite late so the price is not that cheap (about USD207/night). However, it is coveniently located next to the shinsaibashi subway station that you don't even need to step out to the open (so no worry if raining or cold weather).

Check in was fast and smooth. Got free wifi in room and quite fast. Room was simple and basic with led tv. This is the only hotel that we stayed that have english channels (2). The rest are all japanese. My room was on 19th floor was what a great view of osaka city (facing the amerikuna area).

More importantly, there is a bathtub for me to soak my feet and body after the long long walk every single day. Breakfast was not provided and no complimentary newspaper too. Eating at the hotel obviously is not cheap (there is a Godiva chocolate shop at the lower lobby). So we ended up looking for place to have breakfast outside which we find some difficulties as most shops have not opened yet. Not too interested in having those quick breakfast meals sold at small stalls at the subway but we ended not finding much others to our likings and had McD instead haha.

Just across the main road in front of the hotel are many high end shops like LV, Daimaru shopping mall etc. Behind these row of shops is the very long Shinsaibashi-suji shopping street which is very nice to walk esp at night. Dont forget to try the famous Pablo Cheese Tart! Long queue all the time.

About 30min walk from the hotel you will reach the Dotombori area where you will find all sort of food with fancy decorations to attract you like huge puffer fish, snow crabs, noodle bowl etc. Must try is the Takoyaki (optopus ball). Just follow the crowd, wherever there is long queue, the food must be good.

Going to the kansai airport was also pretty easy. Just get to the next station after shinsaibashi station (cant remember the name) and then take the airport express all the way. Will reach the airport less than 1 hr.

We initially were overwhelmed with the many different train lines available that are managed by the Government (JR Group) and private (all others) but once we get there and tried them, we find that it is not difficult at all. In fact, it is so convenient. The most important part is get a map with detailed train lines. Mark the places you want to go and see from the map which is the easiest route to take (ie lesser need to change train). We got the ICOCA prepaid card that can be used on all train lines so no need to worry about buying tickets. Didnt want to but the kansai area pass or kansai thru pass as there are only usable on selected lines although there are discounted. You wont saved anything unless you use it to the max anyway and we do not want the discounted pass to dictate where we gonna go in order to save more. Another thing is visit Hyperdia.com to double confirm on how to get from one place to another. very useful website.

Loved Japan so much. Hope to come back again soon. Maybe Tokyo next time :)

Room Tip: Our room is facing the back. I think the front facing room would have a much better view of Osaka ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheeWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First time in Osaka with my husband, mom, two sisters and a brother-in-law. The hotel has the best location for anyone who wants to experience the vibe in Osaka. Five minutes away from shopping (from branded stuff along Shinsaibashi to cheap and cheerful on Shotengai shopping arcade) and dining at Dotonbori where you can go food-hopping for okonomiyaki and takoyaki. Dining is the most important part in Osaka. We had small rooms, but they were comfortable and clean, so no complaints really. Concierge (Mr. Frederic) was quite helpful and friendly. All in all, a reasonably priced hotel in a fantastic location. I would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Big chain hotel best suited for business travellers located within the busy shopping district of Shinsaibashi

Rooms are Japanese standard (ie small) but functional. You can clearly see that the hotel is quite aged through the bathrooms and that it is still using conventional keys (not key cards)

Hotel is connected to the subway undercovered so it is convenient but the downside is that there are only 3 bus per day that goes direct from the hotel to Kansai Airport. While the hotel is only 1 subway station away from Namba station where the direct train to the airport goes, but it can quite annoying if you have lots of luggages to carry.

Room Tip: Pick an "L" room which is renovated. Do not pick the standard rooms as it would be the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinyhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#11 of 354 in Osaka
1,497 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#47 of 354 in Osaka
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Osaka

Address: 1-3-3 Nishishinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 354 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £108 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Osaka faces the main avenue, Midosuji and is directly connected to Subway Shinsaibashi Station. The hotel stands as the landmark of Osaka's central area, Minami, where you will find popular places such as Dotonbori, shopping districts, brand-name shops,Amerika mura,Donkihote, Universal Studios Japan (R) etc. The location is also convenient for access to Kyoto,Kobe and Nara. At Hotel Nikko Osaka you will find restaurants and lounges that allow you to enjoy the changing colors of gingko trees lining Midosuji Avenue throughout the different seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Nikko Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing