We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Ranked #29 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent hotel with free shuttle bus to JR Osaka Station every six minutes!! Very friendly staff and very good service. We stayed for four days. We like the Seafood Pilaf Rice from the restaurant. Taste good!
.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mardiana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    805
    256
    58
    20
See reviews for
385
299
259
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waikato
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Pros:
Excellent service
Spacious room
Beautiful bathroom
Close to one of the best hospitals in Osaka
Quiet
Good breakfast (a nice selection of Japanese/Western)
Affordable

Cons:
Windows remain shut
Accessibility is not great (but fine)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ht51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Well located and with a free shuttle bus to and from Osaka Station. The staff are very efficient and helpful, service is excellent. The rooms are somewhat small but comfortable. There are plenty of excellent restaurants in the hotel and two basement floors of shops and The tea lounge is an amazing place just to relax after a day seeing Osaka.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We only had a 2 night short stay here but the great service began before we even arrived. I had a parcel due to be delivered here as it was my first night in Japan, and the front desk staff were very helpful through email assuring me they would keep it secure for my arrival. My arrival was fairly late in the evening, not arriving at the hotel until just gone 10pm.

The concierge directed me to the next available front desk staff member after a matter of moments, and the check in process was very polite and swift, and after filling in a short form and collecting my room key and my parcel, I was directed to the elevators where we proceeded up to our room. On first impressions the room seemed quite small - but then we remembered we had booked a Semi-Double so I suppose we had received what we had paid for! The room was clean, however was fairly warm. It seemed through our 2 night stay that even with the air conditioning on full it didn't seem to cool down very much.

What I wasn't hugely impressed with was the room service. We had arrived quite late and unfortunately most local eateries were closed, so we decided to order a pizza to share to the room. Unfortunately the pizza was so small it could barely feed one person let alone two, and it cost the best part of 1700 Yen. The drinks were also expensive at 800 Yen for a small soft drink compared to a vending machine just outside the hotel which I later discovered charged only 120 Yen for a 500ml bottle of the same soft drink.

Other than this, it was a pleasant stay. The pre-arrival service was fantastic and both check in and check out was a breeze. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First time i've ever stayed in a hotel room with 2 bathrooms. It was great since we didn't have to wait for each other's turn to use the bathroom. The rooms were huge too and closet space wasn't a problem either. They have vendo machines in the hallway incase you're craving for coffee or whatever drinks in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This type of hotel wouldn't be our usual choice of hotel being as it is a fairly flashy looking place and being more like a city within itself. Our usual preferences are the smaller, local and mid price range affairs preferably central and also with good transport links close by...basically we don't look to spend any time in the hotel itself. So the fact that they had their own subway station was a major selling point as was the ludicrously cheap room rate.

Arriving in Osaka Central station off the train we found that they also had their own shuttle bus service as well which was also a major plus. This we found a easier than using their subway station, and it saved us some cash in just getting into central Osaka. The subway system doesn't seem particularly well connected in Osaka, certainly the RIGHA hotel is on the last stop on an isolated private line hence why the bus was quite handy. The overall location is also a bit deceptive. It looks nicely central but in reality you are quite a way away from the main sights.

Anyway, the hotel itself is actually quite a fascinating place. It is basically like a massive enclosed town with numerous restaurants and bars, an entire shopping complex, leisure facilities, the aforementioned subway station and if you want to buy a new car you can do that as well. The restaurant area on the ground floor is amazing with its feature waterfall and stream running through it. We indulged in a spot of crazy expensive afternoon tea there...you just have too really.

We also opted to purchase breakfast each morning as it was too difficult to trek into town given the distance to travel. It was buffet style all you can eat and was really very good with beautiful views of the grounds, but again very pricey. The massage services on offer in the other hotel tower are also recommended, but expensive.

The room itself, well, it was pretty average. Quite small, clean with a modern facade. My biggest gripe was noise, you could hear everything going on in the hallway and I swear there was music getting piped in throughout the day. I suppose you get what you pay for.

If you have money to burn and don't really fancy leaving your hotel then this is the place for you. And although it is a novel experience to stay here, for the budget conscious traveler I would look elsewhere as everything within the hotel is extremely pricey.

When we visit Osaka again (which will definitely happen due to their Craft beer scene alone) we would be more likely to visit the hotel just to wander around, have another massage or relax in the waterfall lounge. Would only stay if we could afford a deluxe room!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachwelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAPAN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very tasty break fast.
Staffs serve us handmade omelet made in front of us.
Location is not so convenient, but very quiet area.
You can get on the shuttle bus between Hotel and Osaka station by free.
If you have no luggage, you can walk from JR Fukushima station.
There is a station of Keihan railway company.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suits_caser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 307 in Osaka
909 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 307 in Osaka
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Osaka Baytower
Hotel Osaka Baytower
#35 of 307 in Osaka
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Address: 5-3-68 Nakanoshima, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0005, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#12 Business Hotel in Osaka
#18 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#19 Family Hotel in Osaka
#31 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the waterways of Nakanoshima, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka (our group flagship) offers the finest in traditional Japanese services, luxurious rooms, banquet halls and restaurants, plus delightful surroundings: the perfect combination for a relaxing stay in Osaka. During its history of over half a century as Osaka's premier hotel, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka has played host to innumerable guests from Japan and overseas and has kept pace with the emergence of Osaka as one of the world's most prominent commercial cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing