We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the finest hotels in Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Osaka
Ranked #7 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the finest hotels in Osaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Spacious room with nice view of the park. Offers excellent range of good quality amenities. The hotel has connecting rooms (useful if you are travelling as a family). Staff at the Reception are friendly and able to converse in English well. If guests opt for breakfast - you will have a choice of Continental or Japanese. Both offer yummy food.The hotel also operates free shuttle services to Osaka Station throughout the day. The journey between the hotel and station is about 10 min. There are also plenty of taxis available at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurhudaaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    284
    65
    13
    9
See reviews for
256
195
107
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great hotel if stayed during cherry blossoon season especially if you are on the river view. You will be able to see the whole stretch of cherry tree along the river by your window which is just unbelievable gorgeous. Room is spacious and nicely furnished with sofa by the window. Do note that they have 2 restaurants to choose from for morning buffet (western style) as not indicated in the voucher. Overally a nice hotel to stay in for leisure.

Room Tip: Asked for Non-smoking room unless you do not mind on the left over smell on the carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumtravellerasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very clean hotel with courteous, friendly staff. Our room on the 17th floor was large and had a beautiful view of the city, especially after dark. The bathroom was stocked with every ammenity you might need (and have forgotten), i.e. razor, shaving cream, toothbrushes, etc. The room also had robes and slippers. We thought the TV was all in Japanese, but our guide told us there was probably a button on the TV remote that could change the Japanese to English, which it did (at least for the news channels). The room had a remote by the bed that allowed you to open/close the drapes and turn off the TV/lights. The hotel has several restaurants, but you have other choices without going outside. The hotel is connected to the office building next door which has several restaurants, a MacDonalds, a place you can buy ice cream and a convenience store. They also have clothing stores. This hotel costs a little more than some other hotels, but we felt we got our monies worth, which is not something you can always say. Cannot claim a negative for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lots of positives about the facility and rooms, as well as good services, but with hotels like this , expectations are high, and you have to get everything right.

Positives
+ The room was a nice river view, spacious and clean. Bathroom was cozy and comfortable.
+ Staff were welcoming and courteous. Went into detail when explaining the room facilities, never had that much care taken into explaining how to use the bathroom, or switching the lights, etc. On the whole, staff were very nice, the way they greeted, or escorted you out of the building to get a cab for me which was totally unexpected.
+ Variety of buffet breakfast downstairs.
+ Japanese breakfast on the top floor.

Negatives
- Biggest let down was at the time of booking - I found the different plans on the Internet very very complicating to understand (as they usually expect guests stay for one night, most of the plans are planned for one night, but I stayed for three nights), I called the hotel and every time I called, they quoted different prices and confused me further. Even during a single call, they quoted three different prices in a 30-minute conversation. I was extremely frustrated.
- Shoe polish - I asked for my shoes to be polished asked for it to be returned by the next morning. Even though they confirmed this, I did not get it back on time.
- Had to wait for 15 minutes for breakfast. The hotel was fully booked this day and they well knew it, so could have setup the breakfast on the ground floor as well, but they let people wait before they setup and allowed extra people in. Morning time is precious and I do not know why they did not anticipate it and prepare well in time.

Room Tip: Riverside. Some standard rooms seem to be slightly bigger than the superior room, so even on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carioca500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights of April 21/22 on the 12th floor with a lovely view over the river. The foyer area is basic and does not create a feel worthy of a high rated hotel.The room is large with all the necessary facilities. The only negatives were that there is no TV channel with english speaking and similarliy no tea other than green tea and coffee. Both may be factors for business or tourists clients from english speaking countries. In fact a 4.5 star hotel should have these. Breakfast is not included in the tariff. There are meal options in the adjoining OAP building that cater for a range of prices. Wifi worked well. The air conditioning was noisey enough to notice. Like many hotels they provide a courtesy coach to Osaka Station (30 minute walk) which was appreciated. Some may say it is a bit out of the way but its location is quiet, beside the river and within walking distance of the popular tourist attraction Osaka Castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the double room (king bed) with a river view on the 18th floor was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Venture out for dining rather than dining in the hotel restaurants-there are much less expensive options close by. The hotel also has complimentary shuttle to the Osaka station and is also a very short walk to the Sakuranomiya station.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank tjw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I've been told that hotel rooms in Japan are small, but fortunately, it was not the case in imperial Hotel.

We stayed in the imperial floor with view over the canal.
The room & the view was amazing.
We tried the room service for a diner, and it was very nice : not expensive, excellent quality and with good service.

The shuttle toward Osaka rail station is very convenient.

Finally, hotel his located a little far from subway stations.
Considering the great position of imperial hotel you can walk along the river to go to osaka castle.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend Imperial floor with view over the river, rooms are larger and with a very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico_Glt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Hotel New Otani Osaka
#15 of 298 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Osaka

Property: Imperial Hotel Osaka
Address: 1-8-50 Temmabashi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0042, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#8 Family Hotel in Osaka
#10 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#14 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Hotel Osaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing