We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, non-smokers to note...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Namba Oriental Hotel
Ranked #30 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, non-smokers to note...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very reasonably priced hotel within 5 min. walking distance from Namba Nankai station and Subway. Surrounded with street-style shopping and abundance of food with some operating thru' the night. Check out the Big Camera store nearby!!

The Standard Double room is spacious by Jap standard. Queen sized bed, central airconditioning with local temp control, mini fridge, writing table, 2-seater sofa with coffee table, kettle....complete amenities. Toilet was clean, bath tub, and all bath needs. Our room faced east into the morn sun, but black-out curtain did the works. Despite facing the crowded street, our room on the 5th floor was quite insulated from the noise with the window closed.

The room has wired-internet connection. If you need wifi, you could get a wifi router from the front desk, FOC.

Points to note for non-smokers:
We stayed in a "non-smoking" room. The room was equipped with a portable air-cleaner. Despite these, we could still faintly smell cigarettes in the room throughout our stays.
The two lifts serving the hotel had a permanent strong cigarette smell, perhaps leaking from a public smokers' shed just next to the hotel!!

Directions from Kansai International Airport : Take the Nankai Limited Express, about 40 min journey time ending at Namba station. You could take other sem-express or local trains costing less, but longer journey time due to more stops. Then take the north exit to ground level. On exiting the station, look right for Starbucks across the road. Take the sheltered alley next to it. About 100m down at the cross-junction of Jumbo Pachinko, turn left, should be able to see the Hotel on the right side 50m down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying and sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

We're grateful to learn that our service meet your expectation and more than thankful for that you provided the detailed description about room, amenity and service and the legible direction to our hotel from KIX on your review. It will surely be very helpful for our future guests.

Regarding the smoking smell in the lifts, please allow us to inform that we're currently corresponding to solve the issue.

Thank you very much once again and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with further better service.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    342
    90
    15
    5
See reviews for
179
185
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Except for the occasional splurge, I usually choose midrange hotels with convenient location and decent rooms. The reviews and pictures from tripadvisor made me choose to stay at Namba Oriental, and I must say I didn't regret it at all!

Location: Fairly decent as it is very near to the Nankai Namba station, with the nearest exit being opposite Takashimaya mall. The hotel website provides very detailed directions to the hotel so you won't go lost. (Link from hotel website: http://www.nambaorientalhotel.co.jp/access/access_rw06_en01.html). Entrance to the hotel is under a covered walkway with lots of food stores, shops and pachinko parlours. There is also an awesome takoyaki stall (from the hotel, just turn left and then right).

Room: Like all the others commented, rooms are fairly large for Japanese standards. There is an outdoor area with a fountain and cherry trees. We were there in April so the outdoor area was so beautiful as the cherry blossoms were in full bloom!

Just a note, the staff can speak basic English so its not a problem if you're asking for directions.

My only complaint was the lift stank of cigarette smoke, especially the lobby area. If that is fine with you, then you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahari8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and the valuable review.

Your detailed review on our location and room is greatly appreciated and we literally can't thank you enough for that you refer the URL for our access information page. It will certainly be very helpful for our future guests.

In regard to smoking odor in the lift and lobby, we are currently working on to solve the problem and hopefully you can see the improvement when you visit us next time.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is reasonably priced and located in arguably the most 'happening' area of Osaka. If you only have a night or two to spend in Osaka then I would highly recommend staying here as you are right in the middle of the dotonbori/shinsaibashi area. The area is a mecca for shopping and eating. Plus the public transport is so efficient that it is easy getting anywhere in osaka from nanba station or the subway stations.
The hotel room was very quiet and comfortable, decent size as well. Will stay here again next time I'm in osaka!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jrapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

We're pleased to know that you were able to take advantage of our location as well as our service and had a wonderful trip in Osaka.

Thank you once again for your valuable review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights in March at the end of our ski trip.
I chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations and location.
Our room was quite large by Japanese standards, and being on the top floor we had no noise either externally or internally.
The location was around a 10 minute walk from the Sumo tournament which was perfect, and located on a crazy noisy street. Every city in Japan has it's own feel and in Osaka it's just a general vibe of hip, cool and crazy, and this hotel is right in the middle of it.
As some other reviewers have pointed out it may be a little confusing to find, the direction I was given were for above street level, but the best way to get here from Jr Namba station is stay below the the street. Take the Namba walk and exit at B21 on the right, when you come up the escalator the hotel is about 50 metres straight ahead.
From JR Namba you can catch a train directly to Nara, and we also headed to Hiroshima one day, we just needed to get back to Shin Osaka Station and catch a train from there, then it's around 90 minutes.
We didn't bother with the breakfast in house as there are an astonishing number of restaurants and shops nearby, even just walking the streets and people watching is an adventure here. If you head out the door of the hotel turn left and then turn left again you'll come across a the best local Okinomiyaki shop.
I will be recommending this hotel to all of my friends and family and will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Osaka

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for staying and sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page.

It is our absolute pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful trip in Osaka and that we became a part of your memory. We are also glad to know that you were able to take advantage of our location. The direction given on your review will definitely be helpful for our future guests and we truly appreciate.

Thank you once again for your laudatory review and we're very looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Manager,
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked with this hotel for 7 nights. From location and convenience to room comfort and cleanliness, and the hi-speed internet, everything is superb! After exploring all the main attractions of Osaka and likewise the side-trips to Kobe, Kyoto, Nara, and Nagoya, we find the courtyard and fountain on the 4th floor, perfect for relaxation. We are among those satisfied guests who booked with this hotel. It was really worth it. We would surely recommend to all our friends, relatives and acquaintances to book with Namba Oriental Hotel when they are going to Osaka, Japan.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and it was very fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing us as your home away from home and sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page.

We are very grateful to know that you had a wonderful trip in Osaka and had a satisfied stay with us as well. Your laudatory comment has been shared with our staff and sure it will help us continually strive to upkeep our service.

Thank you very much once again and we're truly looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in this hotel as part of our Japan adventure. The hotel although in the middle of all the action; shops, pinball parlours, etc was relatively quiet considering the amount going once you step outside it! Comfortable room, not small, great shower, free wifi (gave us a router). Breakfast buffet was okay, very Japanese orientated with not many western food options. Only gripe about the hotel would be the cigarette smells in and around the lifts which some other reviews mentioned. Think this is coming from the pinball parlours on the lowest level. Overall though we enjoyed our stay here the location was super easy to find within walking distance from the station and a great base to explore Namba/Osaka. Highly recommend trying some of the typical street food; Tako-Yaki (battered octopus pieces) and Okonomiyaki (Japanese savory pancake) really delicious.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fleur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page.

We're delighted to read that you were able to take advantage of our location and service and to know that you seemed to have a wonderful trip in Osaka. The smell in the lift, we're trying to get rid of it and making some progress now. Thank you for your valuable review which is certainly helpful for our future guests.

Thank you once again and we're sincerely looking forward to welcoming you again when you travel to Osaka in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Manager
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is easy to find once you understand that you are arriving at an underground station in the middle of an underground shopping centre.... You have to look at the colour coded references on the walls and ceilings to work out where you are and where you should exit. You need to exit at B21 to be right at the entrance to the covered walkway to the hotel, near to McDonalds.
The hotel is in a Blackpool-like area with lots of Pachenko parlours which can be very loud, but we didn't hear any noise in the hotel room.
The twin room was a decent size for 2 adults and cases.
It's easy to walk around and find places to eat, and to get to the river where you can walk around the quieter streets and sit and have a drink at a riverside cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing us as your home away from home.

The clear direction from the underground to our hotel that you mentioned on your review is truly appreciated and will be very helpful for our future guests. Also, we're grateful to know that our room size meets your needs as well as that you had a good time in Osaka.

Thank you for your valuable review. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Manager
Namba Oriental Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Dotonbori Hotel
Dotonbori Hotel
#15 of 298 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#53 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namba Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namba Oriental Hotel

Property: Namba Oriental Hotel
Address: 2-8-17 Sennichi-mae, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0074 , Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Osaka
#24 Business Hotel in Osaka
#29 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Namba Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well known as an 'oasis of the city', Namba Oriental Hotel offers you a quiet and relaxed time after you step into the building from the exciting city of Namba. Feel the most comfort from our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Namba Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namba Oriental Osaka
Hotel Namba Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing