We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
90
333
137
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
333
137
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarbucks downstairsround buildingbreakfast was buffet styleumeda stationamenities providedunderground walkwayrestaurants and shopsitami airportbed was comfortablefree wifihotel is centrally locatedsmoking roomthe air conditioningmain stationbudget hotelthe hotel staffhotel room
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is in the landmark building, Maru-biru (the round tower) so I always knew about it. After staying here, this will be my go-to hotel in Osaka. It's very close to Osaka/Umeda train stations, three or four department stores, a big post office (which is also a good place for ATM, if you have a debit card from US), and many restaurants and shops. The tower itself has many restaurants downstairs, including the Tako-yaki/Okonomiyaki place that appeared in Anthony Bourdain's Osaka show. There was a good Wi-Fi connection in the room, as well as by the LAN cable. My room was a single room, but it was a well-designed compact room and instead of feeling crammed in everything felt like within an easy reach. Despite the location, the hotel was surprisingly quiet. As others mention, the front desk staff were truly professional, yet appeared relaxed and friendly, clad in Aloha shirts (appropriate for the season). I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cranapple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The building is dated; however the interior of the hotel is pretty new.

The room is, of course small, but clean and newly-fashioned. House-keeping is excellent. (The house keepings in most of the Japanese hotels are among the best around the world.)
Staffs are friendly, helpful and efficient.

The location is great. One minute walk from the southern gate of the Osaka Station, if you are not lost in the huge station.

Some drawbacks with this hotel are (1) the room window could not be opened. This might cause discomfort of some guests. (2) Lower floors of the tower contain offices, clinics, and restraints. For safety concern, an elevator access control system is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liucy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It may be a bit hard to find if you can not read Japanese but you can access without getting out on the streets directly from Osaka station underground. For first timers, it may be wise to walk the streets targeting the round shape building(It is right behind Hilton). For the price, location is fantastic. You will have a good deal making reservation directly with their website as it is in English as well. There are direct bus service(5 buses within an hour) from and to Itami airport straight to this hotel building if you are using air for domestic transport.

Breakfast is nothing you can right home about so if you are good with Starbucks on the first floor don't bother during reservation. Also, there is a Tully's coffee shop across the street as well. You will have a lot of breakfast options if you are adventurous. Restaurants and shops are non issue since it is so close to the station. There are quite a few restaurants on the underground level as well if you want to stay close.

I did not like the ventilation and did some homework afterwards and found the hotel was build in 1976. No wonder. They are renovating the rooms to keep it fresh though. Check in and out seems to be busy no matter when for some reason. Hallway noise was somewhat noticeable but ventilation was a bigger issue for me.

Room Tip: Of course higher and pricier the rooms, the better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepless_In_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

5-min brisk/ 500-m walk from Osaka Station/ Umeda Station. However, hotel was not clearly marked on the map at the station. It was shown as part of another building. This is a tall cylinder building (30 storeys) with a clock and temperature stamp at the top. We arrived at Osaka Station late at night at 11 pm. Look for signs to Hotel Granvia and walk past Hotel Granvia. You should come to this wide main road with Hilton across the road. Cross the road and just walk straight on. You should see the tall cylinder building behind Hilton. Room looked refurbished. Toilet looked new. However, no lifts to take you from lobby to underground station, only escalators. So if you have big and heavy suitcases, good luck. Supermarket, restaurants and shops underground.

Reception has info on train schedules so that is handy if you want to catch a direct train to the airport or universal studio, for example.

Very basic no-frill hotel (no spoons even). Basic toiletries and sleeping robe available for your use. Free umbrellas on rainy days. We had the twin room for our family of three. Size was 22-25 sqm.

On the first night, I rang the front desk to ask about the aircon and the chap on the other line could only manage "Errmm.... Ermmmm".. However, I did receive better service face-to-face over the next few days.

Osaka Station is a convenient location to catch direct JR trains to Kobe, Kyoto, universal studio, Airport.









  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FineCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I have stayed a couple of times at this hotel when on business travel. The accomodations are spartan at the best japanese minimalistic style, but are clean like new. And the staff makes you feel lika a VIP, the Japanese courtesy is superb. Quite honestly after a full business day you just need to rest and there is no compromise at this hotel for you to wake up fresh in the morning. Internet is offered wired only, and a wifi modem can be ordered just in case you are mobile. The hotel location is Umeda, Osaka's northern downtown, and full of options and connections by subway, train or shuttle. The breakfast is ok and served by a business partner at the ground floor but you'll get tired of it after a couple of days but do not worry the location is fully served with other nice options.

Room Tip: The hotel is a round shape and I could not notice noise as it seems there is a strong acoustic insulation.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews