We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location clean hotel with free ice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Ranked #45 of 314 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“good location clean hotel with free ice”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

good location with good room service
higher floor is better
free ice provided
breakfast at the 1/F is good with adequate choice
twin room is too small l-shaped bed
bath tub is a litte bit short ....cannot extend the legs fully.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc35f123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    311
    124
    12
    4
See reviews for
86
68
121
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you are a holiday traveler and wants to go to burn your JR passes for one day return trip this could be right hotel for you. I stayed here in 2012 but never had time to give a feedback.
Room is generally clean, free wifi at ground floor. Starbucks next to the hotel. Short walk to JR Osaka. For me it is good enough, only thing as per usual is the room just a tat small.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YBBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Overall the hotel was nice. We stayed there during spring break. Breakfast was included in our stay & the breakfast buffet was stocked with a wide variety of Asian foods. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance to shops, restaurants and train stations. There is a Krispy Kreme across the street in the train station as well as a Citibank ATM (w/an English button) next to the hotel. The rooms are small and we were required to have 2 rooms since one of our kiddos is 13 & considered an adult. There were no connecting rooms available but we were on the same floor a couple door apart. The biggest drawback to the hotel rooms was the constant smell of smoke, even in our non smoking rooms. The hotel staff was very helpful and tried to accommodate our requests. It's a good stay for a long weekend in Osaka.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamrobinsonjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is near umeda station and osaka station, which means you can access every corner of osaka very easily. Service is good, some staff speaks good english. Breakfast is a buffet of a nice combination of western and Japanese food. Lots of restaurants nearby. The downside is room is really small, but since it is central osaka i cannot complain too much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistaradox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

To find the hotel from the station, go out the South Central Gate and walk straight across the road. The Hilton Plaza is on your right hand side. The Dai Ichi is just behind it but you can't see it from the station. Once you do see the building it is unmistakeable. We arrived here just after 2pm and were able to check in immediately. Our room was on the 18th floor. The Standard Semi-Double room was pretty small but it had everything we needed and was of a good standard and very clean. The bed was against the window on one side as usual but there was a little bit of room to walk around to get in the window side. Not much room to open two suitcases and a teeny wardrobe. Free WiFi. The TV does have BBC World News in English but you will need to follow the instructions provided to change the language from Japanese to English, otherwise you will be watching the BBC in Japanese. The bathroom is capsule style and probably the smallest bathroom we came across during our trip. I think if you are tall or a large person you would find it very cramped. It is only a half sized bath but very deep. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel plus toothbrushes etc all supplied.
We ate breakfast at the Starbucks downstairs. The hotel does have a restaurant but it wasn't all that clear how much the breakfast buffet might be and we probably wouldn't have eaten there anyway.

The hotel is fairly well located with at least 3-4 large department stores in the vicinity. We bought bento boxes from Hanshin and ate in our room one night and it was excellent. (The basement food halls are to die for!)

If you can find your way into the rabbit warren of arcades under the station, there are dozens (hundreds?) of restaurants there to choose from.

If you get slightly lost in the vicinity of the hotel just keep looking up and you will eventually see it, you can't miss the round, brown brick façade.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms higher up would be quieter from street noise? Our room was 1824 and we had no street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

When you joined the tour, you could not have a freedom to choose your own hotel but we were happy with this hotel. Location wise was good, it was close to Osaka Station, hence it was centrally located, close to every where. Hilton was behind adjacent to this hotel. The great thing was the Starbuck in the lobby.

The shape of this building was distinctive. It is round shape, with vertical plant/garden start to crawl this building up. I found this hotel was just nearly refurbished.

The breakfast areas was big but the food was average.

Since the we brought big and many luggage and plant back to Tokyo to extend the trip using Nozomi Shinkansen and found it would be hassle to carry 3 super size luggage with family traveling together. Hence, I requested our tour leader, whether we can use the Takuhaibin Delivery Services that I google that can help us with 1 day delivery services. And the concierge in fact, can help us on Takuhaibin Delivery Services to my next hotel in Tokyo and charge us only around Y2000 per luggage. Amazing convenience that I could not imagine before.

Lovely stay.

Room Tip: Upper room will give you better city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NGHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It's my second time to stay in Osaka Daiichi Hotel since my last stay 14 years ago. The room is very clean, and of good size as compared to Granvia Hotel. The service is good. There is always a staff standing at the lobby to answer our questions. There is a starbuck at the ground floor (always full of people!) and the welcome drink from starbuck offered by the hotel is really a surprise to me!! The location of the hotel is unbeatable!! It's directly connected with the underground mall. Inside the huge underground mall, you can find convenience stores, fast food shops etc. I also like the buffet breakfast, although it's not comparable to those five star hotels, the variaty of food is good enough. You can find scramble egg, boiled egg, sausage, ham, salad, corn soup, miso soup, congee, pancake, fruit, and even curry rice!!

I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#50 of 314 in Osaka
1,420 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#39 of 314 in Osaka
731 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 314 in Osaka
1,978 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Umeda OS Hotel
Umeda OS Hotel
#117 of 314 in Osaka
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osaka Daiichi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osaka Daiichi Hotel

Property: Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Address: 1-9-20 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#21 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#26 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Osaka Daiichi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 447
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Rakuten, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Osaka Daiichi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai Ichi Osaka Hotel
Dai Ichi Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing