We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was of good size in Japanese standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel
Ranked #62 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We picked this Hotel because of all the good comments and it turned out to be a good try.

A very standard Japanese business hotel in a convenient location and we got a fair price for our stay of 5 nights. It's about 5 - 7 minutes walk to Osaka Train Station and Umeda Subway Station (if you know the way) where you could connect to the Osaka subway system and rely on the Kansai Airport Bus as your means of transport to / within the city. Also a great location for shopping ! Staff service was good and helpful, no surprise. There were many restaurants in the street behind the Hotel but you won't pick up all the noise. A drug store and a 24-hour convenient store on both sides of the Hotel - really very convenient.

Explore the Osaka Unlimited 2-day pass, it's of great value if it is available for use during your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

It was the first hotel in Japan that I stayed in so it was a bit of a culture shock due to the tiny space, electronic toilet and literature.
For Japan the room was comfy, good bed but typically small.
There is no fancy stuff, just basic necessitates.
Close to train station, shops.
The restaurant was surprising a five course dinner reasonably cheap, however if you are not very familiar with Japanese language you will not know what you're eating (raw food)
All in all very good experience

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows, the pillows are not very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xoteexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Location: Good, close to Umeda station and shopping district, and can find a lot of restaurants such as ICHIRAN and Okonomiyaki there.
Room: Small, but provide free wifi in the room.
Meal: The breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The location is great – close to JR Osaka Station and nearby subway. Lots of good dining and convenience shops nearby. Room is smallish, but typical of Japanese hotels. The staff could improve their customer service when compared to the high standards in Japan. Free wifi in rooms.

Refer to jsgiguere’s (Vancouver, Canada) below – very comprehensive and accurate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiddyBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few years back on a brief stop in Osaka and have chosen to stay here again recently on a Japan vacation.

ROOM:
This is a business hotel so it's no frills and no fancy stuff. Rooms are small and if there's more than one of you, you will find space is at a premium and may need to utilize the space between the beds for luggage. Bathroom is clean and has all the necessary stuff. There's in-room wifi (a bit weak but not a big deal). They even provide a Fabreeze-type spray for you to use which is a nice touch.

NEARBY:
There's a few convenience stores (open 24hrs) and fast food eateries right around the corner. Next door is a Post Office as well (which is nice if you are looking to get some money exchanged via ATM). Right behind the hotel is a covered street full of restaurants/bars so no shortage of food/entertainment within a 5min walk.

TRANSPORTATION:
This hotel is on a main road just east of the Umeda station. It's about 10-20min walk from Umeda/Osaka stations depending on your exit. What's nice is that save for the initial 40-50m from hotel lobby to the covered street at the back, you can go all the way to the train/subway stations completely under cover so it's great in bad weather. It's a bit confusing to make your way through the underground maze though. Just remember to go east towards Whity Shopping (white letters and orange background) and the fountain and you'll be OK. One thing to note, if you're arriving in Osaka via Shinkansen you will be at SHIN-OSAKA station, which is just across the river north of Osaka/Umeda, 1 stop on the local trains.

Verdict: if you're looking for a no-frills business hotel in Umeda, this is a good candidate.

Stayed here Nov 2010 and Sep 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsgiguere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed here with my nephew for 5 nights. I had been to Tokyo twice before and know space is a premium in Japan. To be honest, I was a little discouraged by the comments here before I went but having been and stayed there, I must say I didn't have any complaints at all. Maybe we were lucky as our double room was comfortably large enough for the two of us and the bathroom, while compact, didn't cause us to knock and bump ourselves against the walls. There's free WiFi in our room and the hotel was very centrally located too in Kita area and very near to Osaka and Umeda stations. You can get to the stations by using the underground route from Whity Shopping Town. There is a covered bazaar and a lot of convenience stores nearby and even a ¥100 shop just two doors away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adektuty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed three nights, the location was convenient and close to the station.

However the room was extremely small even by Japanese standards. We had twin beds, and are two normal sized people, with two 20Kg suitcases.There was only just room for us. To access our cloths we had to place the suitcases on our beds then repack and stand them vertically. Having first packed a heater under the desk.There was no more space in the room. There was only hanging space for one person with an overnight bag. The bathroom was the smallest we encountered in Japan.

It was warm weather and we turned the air conditioning on only to have the room smell of tobacco smoke pumped into the room from a central system.

Otherwise the room was clean, the reception staff pleasant and helpful.

We had breakfast one morning which was a unremarkable hotel buffet but to our great surprise their scrambled eggs were lovely unlike the average breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: See if they have a non smoking floor and if the air conditioning is confined to the one floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exuberant_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
Hotel Hokke Club Osaka
#67 of 333 in Osaka
230 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
#84 of 333 in Osaka
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Umeda OS Hotel
Umeda OS Hotel
#132 of 333 in Osaka
239 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#42 of 333 in Osaka
740 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel

Address: 2-1 Doyama-cho, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0027, Osaka Prefecture (Formerly Osaka Tokyu Inn)
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £51 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Osaka Tokyu REI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Tokyu Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing