We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, service and ambiance”

French Bistro Rue D'or
Ranked #103 of 28,209 Restaurants in Osaka
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
748 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Four of us stopped in for dinner . The dinner menu was very comprehensive, offering varieties of asian and French foods. We each had an appetizer or soup, wine or beer, a main course and dessert and coffee. I felt the prices were good considering how expensive it is to eat in Japan! Service was prompt and friendly. One disappointment was the onion soup...coming from a French restaurant, it just didn't get our vote. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere with excellent food selections, this is a great place to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryomin, 広報担当マネージャー at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear larkenRidgefield_CT,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are very grateful that you chose our restaurant Rue D'or for a dinner. Also, thank you for your comments regarding the soup.
Your comments is highly appreciated. We will share with our team members and make sure to bring it up when we discuss our new menu.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The atmosphere is classy but not over the top. I think I expected this hotel restaurant to be decent, but was really surprised by how wonderfully prepared and tasty the offerings were.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryomin, 広報担当マネージャー at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Benjamin D,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor, following your last visit at French Bistro Rue D'or.

We are pleased that you had an good time with us.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback and do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to The St. Regis Osaka the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec
Level Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Charming and good, been there for dinner and breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The french bistro decor is simply perfect and inviting: a less appreciative note for the chairs that I did not find confortable.

For dinner, we took the "flower " menu. The plates were beautifully dressed, the seasoning had to be adjusted here and there, the soup was burning hot. For the main plates, my chicken was perfect but my husband's steak was cool. Even with these important mistakes from an upper class restaurant, we very much liked our experience. Add salt, wait for your soup to cool down and ask your waiter that your main dish be hot....once that was done, it tasted great.

Wine list is rather expensive given the limited choice in the reasonable price category. We settle for a bottle at 7000 yens, one of the least expensive white wine.

Price for both our dinner: 12800 yens including taxes excluding wine.

As we were client of the St-Regis Hotel, we went back for breakfast and it was great. Choice of western or japenese type buffet plus eggs the way you want them served at your table, plenty of fruits, yogourt, cold cuts, breads etc and sweets to please everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryomin, Food & Beverage at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear pourvous,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor.

We are extremely sorry for the unfortunate experience that you and your husband encountered at Rue D’or.
As soon as we received the comment, I called up a meeting with kitchen staff and shared your comment.
We can only improve and learn by responding to constructive critique such as yours.
So, please be assured that we take all feedbacks very seriously to ensure and prevent our mistake in the future.


We do hope that this last experience will not deter from visiting us again, thus providing us with an opportunity to demonstrate what The St. Regis Osaka is known for.
Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss any concerns that you may have in the future.
We look forward to continuing our relationship with you and hope that we can serve you once again.


Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Director of Food & Beverage
Shigeki Nakagawa
shigeki.nakagawa@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaune, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Bistrot style, precise, you have to book in advance... tasty food. I would rather go to this one than the Italian upstairs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christophe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.RegisOsaka, お客様担当マネージャー at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Christophe t,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor, following your last visit at French Bistro Rue D'or.

We are pleased that you had an good time with us.
Again we thank you for your valuable feedback and do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon to The St. Regis Osaka the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous French”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great decor, great atmosphere, good food, and service
Will return on next visit . We will try breakfast there

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.RegisOsaka, お客様担当マネージャー at French Bistro Rue D'or, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Tan E,

We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant. Thank you very much for your comment.
Please come back again to try other dishes. We are all lloking foward to welcomig you again.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Bistro Rue D'or also viewed

 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to French Bistro Rue D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing