We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious ramen!!”
Review of Ichiran Dotonbori

Ichiran Dotonbori
Ranked #5 of 28,413 Restaurants in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious ramen!!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went there at 3pm after landing and there is no queue, fun experience buying food from vending machine and sitting in individual booth. The partition between individual booth can be removed so you can actually sit together.

Staff there is also friendly. Menu came in many languages. Must try in Osaka.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minion326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    463
    193
    42
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the better ramens in Osaka”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We tried quite a few ramens in Osaka, and this has to be one of my favorites.

You get to choose the firmness of your ramen, and how spicy you want your soup to be. There are other toppings that you can add, e.g. egg, onion etc

For those who are not familiar with ramen joints in Japan, you will have to select your ramen and purchase "coupons" even before you get to sit down. We were scratching our heads trying to figure what to do, luckily the waitress came to our rescue, but not before being overtaken by people at the back of the queue.

The seating arrangement is quite unique too, everyone gets your own cubicle (the wooden partition between cubicles can be removed easily). There is a little wooden blind that separates you and the kitchen, where you get your yummy ramen.

A truly unique ramen experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Satisfying ramen on a cold day in March”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I followed trip advisors reviews and tried this ramen and it was a pleasant experience. It's great to have double chili strength on a cold day! My friend and I were at the restaurant on a night that was 13 degrees and there was a queue outside the restaurant but we didn't have to wait long due to their systematic way of having customers purchase their orders in vending machines and having only one flavor of ramen where u can choose the flavor strength. It was delicious as we could choose our preference of firmness of noodles, etc. Definitely recommend to try!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy3joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice ramen.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

True eating with solitude in the privacy of your own cubicle. Of course it's not as awesome as Tokyo's ramen, but it's the best I could find in Osaka.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_passion_Kae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy ramen”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Ichiran ramen is one of the best ramen restaurants in town.
Soup was so tasty. There is only one type of ramen served. But you can select the variation urself ec. How spicy and oily for the soup , thick or thin green onion for the topping
Worth to try out. :))

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Goft652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ichiran Dotonbori also viewed

 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Ichiran Dotonbori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing