We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Intercontinental Hotel Osaka
Ranked #1 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The lobby, rooms, service are so perfect, and it is for sure one of the finest hotel in Osaka.Rooms were very comfortable and fitted out to a very high standard. Staffs are happy to provide you very useful information to explore Osaka. Generally, all is great!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaYanZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear EmmaYanZi,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan.
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Osaka for your preferred hotel in Osaka.
We hope that you had an excellent time with us.

We truly appreciate your compliments.
It is such a pleasure to read this review and know that our service was up to your expectation.

We will continue to improve to welcome you again with even better experiences.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    246
    46
    14
    19
See reviews for
410
422
117
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have to agree with other reviewers, Intercontinental (IC) Osaka is among the best in the IC group. In my opinion, IC Osaka is the best IC hotel in Japan (IC Osaka gets A++ whereas the other IC hotels get A's; all still excellent)

Location: connected to JR Osaka City Station and Grand Front Osaka- both are part a huge "giga" shopping complex requiring a minimum of 3-4 days to explore! JR Osaka City Station is a huge hub that can connect you to any place in Osaka. See my review on JR Osaka City Station.

Rooms- standard of excellence recognized as part of IC brand- bedroom (modern style), bathroom, work desk, minibar, safe, etc.

Service- impeccable, they really work hard to make you feel like royalty or VIP guest. Example: When I arrived at the lobby, they asked for my name and then communicated by microphone that I have arrived and escorted me to the IC club lounge on the 28th floor (or lobby on the 20th floor depending on you IHG membership level). Just like in the movies- nice!
Note: I checked in around 7:30 pm when they were not too busy.

Restaurants-
Noka- ala carte and buffet (changes every month, sometimes focusing on holidays or countries, i.e. Christmas buffet, Thailand buffet.
Pierre- French cuisine

Other Options- for an additional touch of luxury, try the Club Lounge option when booking your reservation. You can also add the option after arrival and checking out the lounge.

Club Lounge experience- very comfortable surrounding and music.

Club Lounge breakfast- beyond my expectations: (nice 50:50 ratio of american/Japanese cuisine)- sausages, bacon, potatoes, eggs (made to order- VERY NICE), salad, tomato, bell pepper, corn, Japanese cucumber, natto (see note below), rice porridge, fried rice, miso soup, hiyayakko, (fresh cold silk tofu with crushed ginger and finely chopped onions- extremely simple yet rarely served), 4-5 different yogurts with almost a dozen toppings, milk (whole, skim, soy), juices (orange, grapefruit, apple), smoothie (changes daily), whole wheat & white bread, 10-12 different pastries, croissants, fruits (bananas, strawberries, pineapple, kiwi, papaya, grapefruit, honeydew). There are additional dishes that change on a daily basis.

Note on natto: basically fermented small soybeans - not my favorite, but since it has been shown to prevent heart disease & osteoporosis, I have come to enjoy it. Eating natto is an acquired taste, like yogurt (best analogy). This variety does not have the strong pungent smell/flavor of Pont l’Eveque cheese, but it is still as sticky and slimy. 85% of Japanese people eat this for health benefits.

Club Lounge evening cocktails (5-7 pm)- variety of Hors d'oeuvres utilizing beef, chicken, salmon, tuna, shrimp (presentation changes daily), vegetables, fresh fruits, red wines, white wines, sake, umeshu, hard liquors, juices and assortment of desserts.

Bar- only went to Adee- Live DJ. Huge chandeliers consisting of large disks of crystals hung to resemble giant UFO's floating above the center of the room - unique and beautiful, almost mesmerizing, nice views of the city, excellent bar. They have their own Intercontinental wine (Merlot or Clarendelle) and an Osaka IC cocktail of the month. The monthly cocktail is creative and makes you want to get seconds. Sometimes, the cocktail of the month sells out and you have to wait for the next day- I am told they use fresh ingredients and sometimes run out due to unexpected demand. I'm good with that. Keeps cost down and maintains freshness.

Overall, Excellence everywhere you go.
Highly recommended.

Tip- for best rates, book at least 1 month in advance, maybe up to 3 months in advance.

Tip- seat by the window at the Club Lounge or bar Adee or restaurant Pierre and see the passenger planes coming in to land at Osaka Airport. Very cool.

Room Tip: Sign up for Ambassador's club at Intercontinental Hotel website and get free upgrades in every I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Edwin Y,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan.
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at InterContinental Osaka.
We are glad to receive such compliments.

To meet your expectations again on your next visit, we will be taking another step forward to satisfy you with our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanur, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Centrally located in new modern area of Osaka. It is a very modern hotel, large room, luxury products, spacious area in every aspect including room itself, lobby, indoor swimming pool, nice jacuzi in the same area as swimming pool.

Trully genuine Japanese hospitality, InterContinental way.

Love it. Love it. Be back in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanafi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Hanafi S,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan.
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Osaka for your preferred travel destination.
Thank you also for taking your valuable time to write this review.

We are glad to hear that you had an excellent experience here with us.

We will be going further more to improve our service to welcome you back here in even better shape.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great staff!! Warm greetings are delivered from the porter, receptionist, and even the duty manager! The manager stopped her work and gave me a great smile while she noticed I was walking pass her desk. My girlfriend and I told the banquet staff that we are curious about the wedding chapel and they are so kind to arrange us to take a look RIGHT THE WAY. The concierge are enthusiastic, and the gym is great. 5stars!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Link W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Link W,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan!
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Osaka for your preferred hotel in Osaka.
We are glad to hear that your experience with us was up to your expectation and you had fantastic time with us.

Please consider us again as your preferred hotel when you will be returning to Osaka.

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are a family of 5 and we booked the 2 bedroom suite in May 2014 for 2 nights.

All staff were exemplary.

The pool area was subliminal, probably one of the best pool areas I've ever seen in a hotel. The hot tub was amazing. The gym was outstanding too. Free weights, cardio equipment, assessment room, swiss balls, soft mats, everything you could want.

Our room had a full kitchen, living area, dining area, 2 full bedrooms which were very large and 2 bathrooms. We also had a washing machine and hallway with storage. The quality of everyting in the room detailed perfectly and decorated in the highest fashion.

The buffet breakfast was a little chaotic at times, but the food was fantastic.

The Grand Front complex is attached to the hotel and offered many dining options, shopping and a walkway link to the trains.

I would have no hesitation staying here again and recommending to anyone.

You won't be disappointed with a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthajmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear samanthajmck,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan.
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Osaka for your preferred hotel in Osaka.
We would like to thank you also for your review to share your experience.

It is a great pleasure to read that your stay was up to your expectations.
We hope you had a unique and memorable time in Osaka.

Your feedback will certainly give us a direction to improve even further on our service to welcome our valued guest in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Only 1 year old this luxurious hotel is something else. Located near Osaka Central Station. Beautiful rooms with every detail carefully thought through. Restaurant for breakfast offers a good choice.
Didn't have time to use the bar but looking out from the 20th floor the views did look spectacular.
If your flying into Osaka Kansai then take the airport limo bus to New Hankyu Hotel and call the concierge en route - they'll meet you at the bus stop and bring you to the hotel by complimentary taxi (the bus doesn't run directly to the Intercon unfortunately).

Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: There is music piped through all floors but the room doors must be sound proofed as you don't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myshelbyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jposaka, Guest Relations Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Myshelbyford- san,
We sincerely would like to thank you for your precious comments about your recent experience at the InterContinental Osaka.
We are delighted that all went well and that we managed to ensure a smooth arrival also for you.
We sincerely hope you will be able to come back and use Adee this time, our famous bar on the 20th floor,
The entire team is looking forward to your next stay. Thank you again very much for your comments
Best regards,
Jerome Palacoeur,
Director of guest experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fantastic club room with lovely view, great pool and relaxation zone. We enjoyed the buffet lunch and location was fantastic. LOVED to lemongrass scent that was pumped into the atmosphere in the down stairs. Lobby. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality M, Quality Manager at Intercontinental Hotel Osaka, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Kabell14,

Greeting from Osaka, Japan.
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Osaka for your preferred hotel in Osaka.
We would like to thank you also for taking your valuable time to write this review.

It is such a pleasure to hear that your stay was excellent and memorable.

We will ensure to keep our service to be up to the expectations in order to provide a unique experience here in Osaka.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Kosuke Yoshida
Quality Manager, InterContinental Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#3 of 307 in Osaka
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 307 in Osaka
1,950 reviews
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 307 in Osaka
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intercontinental Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercontinental Hotel Osaka

Property: Intercontinental Hotel Osaka
Address: 3-60 Ofuka-Cho Kita-Ku, Osaka 530-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Intercontinental Hotel Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Rakuten, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Intercontinental Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing