We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Ranked #42 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Warm and Sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Rooms are smaller than Grasmere Hotel in Namba, but overall room quality is good! Location is good, 5mins walk to Osaka JR Station - Sakurabashi Exit, very convenient!
A bottle of red wine as compliment, very sweet and warm!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    372
    154
    32
    11
See reviews for
154
160
133
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Only advantage of this hotel is the location. Close to Osaka station and across street from the Ritz Carlton.
Rooms are very small, bed is hard and the pillows terrible. Only one towel at the bathroom. We had to ask for extra towels every day. no English at all and the TV is only Japanese, not even CNN. If you want to suffer, go to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gberger51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krabi Town, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We got a great deal on Expedia to stay at this hotel. From the moment we walked in we knew it was going to a good place to stay. The rooms are small (like all places in Japan) but it was very comfortable ie can put suitcases on floor and have room to walk around. Hotel staff were really helpful in advising us on how to get to places, etc. we are just near the main station (approx 200m) which feeds into all the main places you want to go. One of the main food/drink areas is within walking distance

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barmishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I always like a hotel that is near train stations whenever I travel in Japan. Take the Sakurabashi exit in JR Osaka station and you just need up walk through Umesan Kouji mall. Then the hotel is only a minute walk from there. So if you get out of the right exit in JR Osaka station, you should get there in around 4-5 minutes.
Entrance to the Front desk is via the car/taxi entrance and you need to take the lift to the 8th floor.

I managed to get this hotel with a 50% discount hotel deal so I don't stay here usually as it'll be too pricey for my budget. Hearton Nishi-umeda hotel is kinda next door and it's cheaper and nearer to Umesan kouji mall.
But I can't compare the size of the rooms as I stayed in double room in Hearton hotel and I got twin single room this time.
In general, the twin single room we got on 12th floor is quite a good size for Japan hotels.
Beds and pillows were a bit too hard for our liking.
I was a bit disappointed with the hotel staff before I got there. There is a brewery that I wanted to go to. Sent the hotel an email asking if they can tell me how to make a booking for the brewery tour as I can't find any other info in English on the site or Internet. And if they can make a booking for me. The reply I got was that they can't make any booking for tours not associated with the hotel. How am I supposed to know when I'm still overseas what tours you can and cannot book? Well, at least tell me how to make a booking myself? Anyway.. The end.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yu_take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, had a pleasant stay. Rooms were well maintained, water pressure, cleanliness is good. Air purifier is also provided in the room. One point on the pillows, which were not to my liking. Did not ask them for another pillow, which perhaps I should. Other than that, location is good, and price reasonable.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andreuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good location, convenient to get to all subway and railway station, also very close to several shopping malls. But service is average, only basic facilities in room, church is good but do not open to hotel guests - which is strange and can not understand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hong Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The main building has long-history, especially the chapel, which is the hot-wedding venue. Although the room is small, but very elegant and comfortable for a couple. It's located in Soho of Osaka, many A-grade offices near by, it's clean and quiet.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
#40 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Vista Premio Dojima
Hotel Vista Premio Dojima
#110 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#18 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Osaka
Address: 3-3-45 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel imitates the grandeur of the Schonbrunn Palace in Vienna, and captures the Austrian royal court atmosphere that flourished at its cultural peak. Entering the hotel, guests will feel as if they have entered the graceful world of an Austrian royal palace, where nobles and dignitaries relax in comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing