We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japan Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Ranked #52 of 353 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is my 2nd time stayed into this hotel. Clean & Good Services. You will not worry about everything because Japan is a safe country unless you complain me about natural disaster like earthquake.... etc. other than that, all perfect.

Monterey Hotel, just beside JR Rail and you now need to worry about transportation. Unless you have purchase the any pass like Kansai Thru Pass which JR Rail is not connected. I do suggest you purchase JR Rail Pass and you can go to any where but some time you need to change to other railway.

Not worry if you want to asking question with their customer services because all of them are know english. However, sometime you need to guess what they are saying because the pronouce maybe not match what your country.

if room, definately small, this is Japan, Osaka, pls dont aspect there is "100000sqf" space for you. I have stay with my wife and daughter who 5 years old into standard room. ok, this is still fit.
However, we just trouble for the "shopping rewards" like handbag, shirt... from my wife... hehe

Ah, dont forget to walk around the Namba Walk, there is a lot of restuarants will meet your aspectation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivanchan_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

It is a great location to the local transit system. It is probably 5 minutes from JR Osaka station and entrance into the subway and 10 minutes from Umeda Station. The room was pretty standard size for Japan. The lobby is not on the 1st floor which I thought was a little odd, but service was quick. It was a pretty good hotel that I would stay at if I was going back to Osaka.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is located just a 5 minutes walk from the JR Osaka station and there is an airport bus terminal beside the hotel where you can purchase the tickets to get to Osaka International Airport. It's quite fuss-free but do note that you can't purchase the tickets in advance - only on the day itself.

Like what many others have reviewed, the hotel has a very renaissance-looking architecture with a beautiful chapel inside.

Definitely had a wonderful stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilianRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Monterey Osaka for 4 nights and did a little video review of the hotel grounds and the inside of a "Vienna Traditional Double" room.

If you'd like to see what the hotel and the Vienna Traditional Double look like, then check out the video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_zaiWPIQv8

This hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the Sakura-bashi exit of the JR Osaka Station, directly across the street from the train tracks. The close proximity to the train station is good, and bad. Good because it's very convienent for sightseeing, as you can go anywhere from Osaka station. Bad because the train tracks are very loud, and if you are a light sleeper, beware!

The Hotel Monterey Osaka is a very odd juxtaposition of things. Coming from the USA, it was definitely odd to be staying in a Vienna Palace themed hotel in Japan. Especially since our last vacation trip was to Vienna. That being said, this hotel does a good job of recreating that European feeling... all the way down to the "historic looking" elevators, staircases, revolving doors, and replica 14th century stone chapel. Oh that last bit, yes there is a replica 14th Century Chapel on the 8th floor of the building. And it's a perfect replica, all the way down to the steps and roof. It's the whole chapel building, except it's on the 8th floor of this hotel. Again, weird.

How was the room itself? In a word -- small. I've stayed in quite a few Japanese hotels, so I'm used to small. It wasn't tiny... but it was definitely small. The double room is OK for one person. It's too crammed in for two people though. There's really no place to open a suitcase anywhere in the room except for on top of the bed. On the plus slide, the room was clean, and had "black-out" wooden shades over the windows. So the room could get really dark, but because of the proximity to the train tracks, it could never get that quiet. With the air purifier on high, and air conditioning on high, I could drown out the sound of the trains enough to sleep, but the sound of the train rumbling was always there somewhere in the background.

If you like trains, and aren't bothered by train noise, this could be a good choice. However if you're a light sleeper like me, then pick someplace else a bit further away from the tracks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YellowProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Thnarf,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comment.
We would like to thank you for your detailed observation and comments, as well as the video you have made. Contents of your comments have been disseminated to our operation team for future service improvement.
Please accept our apologies for the noise of the train. It is voices like yours that help us constantly refine our services and facilities.
We also appreciate your video. It is a highly informative tour of our property. We thank you very much for your video expertise and your patronage.
Best regards,
Management/ Hotel Monterey Osaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very special decorating equipment in this hotel, inside of hotel has built a church ----- very special.
If you have enough capital, you can invite your guests for wedding party, after the wedding can arrange tours in Osaka.
Another Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant is also super good, professional chef, the service is excellent, and you can feel the quality was so difference. In this restaurant can be seen in the night of Osaka city. .
Osaka is a shopping paradise, it is convenient for visitor, can be reached by subway or walking.

Room Tip: Sorry, I don't visit to swimming pool & gymnasium, so don't care about my comments on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 加賀屋
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good location, near to the shuttle bus " HERBIS" station,
good environment around the Hotel, nice view to the church,
5 mins to "梅三小路" food street, and 10mins to OSAKA station....
Very convenient for shopping and eating. stay period: 31May-01Jun2014,
We will come back "Montery" again.

Room Tip: The last night during We were in Hotel, I feel an itch in my foot heel... I couldn't but scrat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monosa, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY OSAKA.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments.
We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was a very relaxing experience. We went to Osaka last week and couldn't get the chance to book a hotel prior to our arrival. Most of the hotels in the internet were already fully booked for the dates of our stay in Osaka. We wanted to stay in a decent but an affordable hotel. Good thing that we were able to get a room at this hotel. I agree with the description they claimed in their website that the rooms are combination of "elegance with modern practical amenities for a relaxing and comfortable stay"...the hotel theme is English Renaissance home.Its near OSAKA JR station.-- very accessible.Internet was very awesome- high speed and very accessible in the room. Room is always clean. Except for the last day where no one assisted us with our luggage transfer from our 13f room to the lobby (even the man who greeted us at the elevator at 8th floor did not bother to help us) I am recommending the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asleluigi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Asleluigi01,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review.
We are delighted to receive your kind compliments of our hotel concept and facilities.
Please accept our apologies for the lack of assistance with your luggage. We have shared your review with the operation team for service improvement.
Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#46 of 353 in Osaka
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Osaka

Address: 3-3-45 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 353 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £75 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel imitates the grandeur of the Schonbrunn Palace in Vienna, and captures the Austrian royal court atmosphere that flourished at its cultural peak. Entering the hotel, guests will feel as if they have entered the graceful world of an Austrian royal palace, where nobles and dignitaries relax in comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monterey Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing