We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the heart of Namba”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #15 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Namba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed in Dotonbori for 3 nights at 11,000 yen/night (twin room with pillar). It was really worth the money, considering Japan's high cost of living. Dotonbori hotel is located right in the heart of Namba, with approx 3-min easy stroll to Namba station & approx 5 mins to the famous Glico guy at Dotonbori street. The room is commonly compact but very clean & comfortable. The mini-size bathroom surprisingly contains a bath tub for a nice hot soak after a long day. Hearty amentities are provided upon check in and free internet is available at lobby. Staff are friendly, helpful and English proficient. I highly recommend this hotel for a nice trip in Osaka.

Room Tip: the twin with pilar is a bit cheaper than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    232
    56
    4
    1
See reviews for
112
193
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. the location is excellent. so close to the subway, and train stations. they also offered a special offer for the osaka aquarium which was handy. free wifi was available in our room. you can also "rent " a laptop for free if you let hem see you r passport at the front desk. the bathroom was tiny, but overall is manageable - my husband 6 foot 4 and we survived perfectly fine. i did not try any food at the hotel so cant comment on it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zpmBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

First of all, i wouldnt expect too much from a budget hotel (considering cheap since its in Japan), paid 22K Yen for 3 nights in total, theres a promo price if u book more than 3 consecutive nights i think.

It totally exceed my expectation.

The room, although small have everything essential and more.

1. Phone chargers - with multiple ports, able to charge diff models, including iPhone
2. LAN cable with high speed internet.
3. Basic bathroom amentities - toothbrush, shower caps, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, auto mated toilet bowl.
4. Bed is comfy! they say they use SERTA mattress, which my boyfriend loves. Comfy mattress & pillow.

And the hotel is so sweet to provide:

1. Free INTERNATIONAL CALL! totally helpful for budget travellers like me who need to report to mommy to make sure i am safe every single night.
2. Free flow green tea and coffee making machine at the lounge while u make ur call
3. Laundry area
4. A self made guide with manager recommended places around the area and even advise u of rainy day plans. awesome.

Hotel is 5 mins walk to Namba station and Dotonburi area where all the shops are! A good 15 - 20 mins walk will get you to Amerika-mura, American Town in Osaka.

Will definitely stay there again the next time!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eneres1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We picked to stay at the Dotonbori hotel because of its location and cheap rates. When we got there, we were surprised by how small the rooms are - but this is Japan in the center of Dotonbori so what else can you expect. The rooms were clean, my girlfriend got a welcome gift bag full of girly lotions etc, the location was excellent - we hardly took the train anywhere because most of the places we wanted to go were in walking distance.

Free internet in the rooms via cable, and free wifi in the lobby. Free tea and coffee, computers for guests to use, and there are phones which the guests can make free international calls in the lobby also. Was really useful to call family to say we arrived.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Wanted to review earlier but have been on the road just returned. This was the first of my stays and the accom and service really does make the difference. I stayed 3 nights .. location is excellent little street very near the action of Namba and shopping. The hotel room was small but no problem to me as the general feel is to make the stay pleasing so free water, very clean, beauty pack, tea, steamer, ice etc and if you needed anything they would assist. I had a massage and the staff person bought the lady up checked all was ok and translated. Nothing was too much trouble. I thought breakfast was great. Lots of variety and there was a different hot dish or 2 each day both japanese and western and you could keep going back for me. Just lots on offer i found the staff very professional and helpful and the fact there were so many services at no cost really made me the stay welcoming. I wish i had taken them up on the offer (to all) free photo at front with statues as i wiped my memory card accidentally. Thank you great hotel and the staff make it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

This hotel is a gem. I booked it as it was closed to the train to go up to Mt Koya, as we had to leave early in the morning and it was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast is not great but the surrounding is magnificent. It's very close to metro station and closed by there's a street with a rich nightlife. Plenty of restaurants, clubs, shops and so on.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barby_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

I stayed at the Dotonbori 4 nights and was very satisfied.
Namba is a terrific area, Dotonbori Street is the centre of Namba and it’s right outside the hotel door.The location is convenient for travel too - I arrived via JR Namba station and left for KIX by Nankai Namba. There are one or two subway lines nearby as well but I didn’t use them. The train to Koyasan leaves from Nankai Namba station
My room was typical for Japanese hotels: small, clean and functional. The hotel offers a lot of small freebies such as beverages in the lobby 24x7, internet PCs in the lobby, bottled water in the room fridge, lollies at reception. At check in I was given an English language information folder that had recommendations on where to eat etc, a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_SydNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Property: Dotonbori Hotel
Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing